We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrong side of highway - need car - free parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Ranked #58 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Vestal New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wrong side of highway - need car - free parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is a little isolated - averaged Doubletree, no complaints. But minimal restaurant on site, so you need to go elsewhere for lunch or dinner. Nothing in walking distance.
Be very careful with cab from airport - although I mentioned Doubletree University, they took me to the downtime hotel. That concierge was very helpful, and their shuttle took me to the correct hotel. {there is also a 3rd Doubletree both of the University.
If you are walking choose the other Doubletree on 15th - nearing everything, but expensive parking.
If you are driving, this is the better choice. Plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the freeway, as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve moving forward. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University and we look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    297
    174
    97
    47
See reviews for
216
162
60
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Clean, with friendly and helpful staff I didn't have any issue with my stay.

Rooms are pretty average (nothing special), it was a bit noisy (being right next to the interstate), but clean.

This is basically a roadside hotel with ok location if you have a car, but seemed too far to walk anywhere conveniently. Car parking however was free which was a plus. It was only a few minutes drive to the Uni or downtown Austin. The hotel does back onto a cemetery, which is a little creapy late a night when parking.

All up, its a reasonable roadside hotel to stay in when visiting Austin (as long as you're driving).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve moving forward. While we are not in the heart of downtown we are about the only hotel in the downtown area that offers complimentary parking. As well we are next to the historic state cemetary which we like to think of as the quiet side of the hotel. We have many guests who prefer this side of the hotel due to the silence. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree By Hilton Austin University and we look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was a great place to stay as we were there because of an event at the UT swim center. It is in walking distance to the swim center. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. We ate 1 meal in the hotel and the food was good. There is also a Denny's next to the hotel which was also good. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and nice. It would have been better if they had a refrigerator in the room though they did have a coffee maker. There is a historic cemetary behind the hotel and we enjoyed driving, walking and reading about the people there. There are also several historical markers there. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: some people who stayed in a room that faced the freeway said they could hear the traffic. We were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return when in Austin for either a swimming event or any event in the Austin area.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Location is great , you are near downtown and have good freeway access. Rooms are large, not fancy but functional. Bedding is excellent. Breakfast is below par, but there is a great Denny's next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangetiger10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had booked to stay at this hotel but it was located further away than we had thought. Upon arriving we asked to switch to another Doubletree which the front desk clerk accomadated. I was impressed with his service. I wish we had just stayed at this hotel becuase the other hotel was under construction and not near as friendly, not to mention all the added expenses that this hotel offered for free.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
415 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is pushing OK. The check-in went smoothly, and they do hand out yummy cookies upon check-in, so that was a plus, but I never had any experience with the staff. My mother, on the other hand, was treated indifferently by the bartender, and the windows in the bar were dirty, so she couldn't see out.

The room was OK. It was comfortable, the beds were alright, and the shower worked well. The big issue is that you WILL hear traffic noise from I-35 if you get a room facing the freeway. That did not bother me as much as the "ding, ding" from the elevators which we were so conveniently close to our room. The paper thin walls means you can hear anything going on in the hallway. Oh, and the AC in our room didn't work.

I never tried the restaurant, but it is a sucker bet with a very nice Classic Denny's in THE SAME PARKING LOT as the hotel. Plus, the Denny's is open 24 hours. The hotel restaurant is not.

Speaking of parking lots, this hotel must have been built on the adjacent cemetery, as it is surrounded on 3 sides by it. If you have any business in the cemetery, this hotel is for you.

The location is very close to UT, but I did not find it to be within walking distance. More like driving distance. You will need a car if you wish to go somewhere else.

The building was renovated, but it still has some wear and tear in places. It's just old.

This is a barely OK hotel. I did not hate the place, but I did not like it either. It has quite a few flaws. The big issue is the location and the thin walls. The bottom line is there are much better choices in the Austin area, so skip this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the cemetery and away from the freeway if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameygamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is convenient to downtown Austin, the Texas State Capitol and the University of Texas campus. The room was nice and parking is free! I found the front desk personnel to be friendly and helpful. I will stay there again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides a homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area
DoubleTree By Hilton Austin - University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing