We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this DoubleTree!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #54 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Appalling bathroom lighting! Damp room, Loud A/C, even louder highway noise, phones didn't work, unhelpful staff to secure travel to airport, dining server who was disinterested. Just Skip this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We always try to do everything that we can to ensure a positive stay, and I apologize that your expectations were not met. Thank you again for your review, as it will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in town so that we can show you that improvement.

Best regards,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is obviously an old hotel that has been redone. The location is poor for everything but going to the drum. or DKR. Despite the recent remodel, our room was banged up pretty badly. Beds were confortable. Staff was very friendly Bartender was good. I did not have the noise problems others have had, so I must have been on the correct side of the hallway. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice place. It just seems overpriced for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dady8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The check-in staff was really nice and professional and we each got a hot cookie when we arrived, a very nice touch. The room was big and cool, which was very nice since it was around 90 degrees outside. To get downtown it's a cheap and fast cab ride from the hotel. Breakfast wasn't included but there is a really nice Denny's just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for a conference this past week (10/2013). Staff is very friendly & accommodating, outdoor pool is great for laps but the bathrooms could stand some towel racks and remember to bring your earplugs as you cannot turn off the constant IH-35 traffic buzz since the half panel drapes cannot block out any of the noise.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south side (odd room numbers) away from the highway (pool) side
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just checking out of this hotel. Its likely the noisiest place that I have ever stayed. It started by getting in to my first room and the air conditioning was not working. I was quickly moved to a new room with a functioning AC although that it only worked on the highest fan setting. I took my chances, turned it off and opened the window. Big mistake. My second floor window overlooked the back of the hotel right next to the dumpster. At 12 midnight an employee decided to throw away empty bottles. The garbage truck showed up at 530 am to take away the trash, even noisier. Employees smoking beneath my window. Chicken wings at the bar showed up cold inside. Disaster.

Room Tip: No restaurants other than Dennys within walking distance. Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

First of all, thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. I understand that the noise was a major issue for you during your stay and for that I apologize. We do everything that we can to ensure a calm and quiet experience for our gusts. We will address these issues moving forward as we always strive to better our hotel.

Best regards,

Wim Puttemans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Arrived at noon and was allowed to check-in early . Very clean room. Staff was very friendly. Location was close to downtown and university. Great service - Will stay again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Double Tree University Area is conveniently located near the University of Texas and downtown Austin. Property is situated just east of I-35 with easy access to interstate.
There is ample free (shaded) parking with restaurant near parking lot: CVS nearby.
Lobby area is open and inviting with direct connection to lounge, in house restaurant and outdoor seating. Also in lobby area are the business center and refreshments; to include the famous Double Cookies.
Hotel staff is friendly and proactive but may not be able to help you with other Double Tree bookings.
Guest rooms are nicely appointed with modern conveniences and comfortable beds but guest room doors tend to slam loudly.
West facing rooms on upper floors offer the best views of downtown, UT campus, and awesome sunsets. Unfortunately these west facing rooms also face the busy I-35 and may be noisy.
For the price and convenience this Double Tree is a real bargain.

Room Tip: Best views from west facing upper floor rooms. Quietest rooms face east.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Address: 1617 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £108 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing