We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hotel -- NOISE from I-35 is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #58 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a very expensive hotel, but the noise and light from the traffic make good sleep impossible. Putting up heavier curtains (rather than sheers) would help, but the hotel has not done this. At night, noise from traffic is only overcome by the noise from the A/C window unit coming on (which is not pleasant). Go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim1617, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We truly value the information our guests bring to light. We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. We are located off of Highway 35 though all of our rooms do not face that direction. We will use your comments to better train our staff on informing arriving guests of this option. Thank you again for your feedback.

Wim Puttemans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel was nice except the TV never worked even after they came up to fix or replace it. I missed all of the NCAA games on Sunday. I was, othersise, very satidfied with the hotel. The service was average.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Clayton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Enjoyed the hotel staff and their quick ability to satisfy our every whim. Very nice and professional staff that really know how to please. Quick response to any questions or needs that my family and I had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Trina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We found the hotel really comfortable and well appointed. It is really handy for the university, which is why we chose the place, but it is a fair distance from Downtown. This didn't bother us as we are always happy to walk when on holiday, but it is well over a mile to 6th Street, some of it along fairly quiet streets.

I thought it would be good to pay a bit more for a "city view" and there was a great view over Downtown from our room. However, given the proximity to the busy Interstate, which lies between the hotel and the city centre, our room was very noisy - and this did disturb us a bit. In retrospect it might have been better to have been in a standard room.

We were room only, but there is an excellent diner right next to the hotel, which serves great breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you have a city view, take ear plugs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is one of the host hotels for SXSW. It was a bit north to be convenient especially since you could not get cab service nor shuttle at the hotel. They were very nice, but attention to detail not so much. The clock was still in CST. No room service menu and you had to move the coffee maker to find a plug. Simple stuff that you shouldn't have to even think of

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for a 2 day event at the Erwin Center, so this hotel was very convenient. Staff was friendly, entryways were secure. Room was spotless and very spacious with an area for work and good quality toiletries. Disappointed that there was no refrigerator, microwave, or in-room safe - basics in rooms costing a lot less than this one. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charcoll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ordered a room through hotels.com for 5 people, check in was fast and easy. The room was quite large and easily big enough for the 5 of us. I would say good value for money and good location if you are on a weekend trip wishing to party and sightsee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pzrafdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Address: 1617 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £109 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing