We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bargain Priced”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was in town for a wedding and stayed here for a night. The self parking outside is a pleasant surprise, as I am tired of mandatory valet where they get you for $30 a day.

Inside the hotel was clean, and the people at the front desk got us checked in quickly. The room was clean, and modern. It looked like it had been updated recently. The showers are somewhat weird for a hotel. They are square and have sliding doors. On the upside, they have great water pressure and the water gets nice and hot. I tried to make a cup of coffee, but my coffee maker just belched steam and did not end up working.

At one point I called the front desk and asked them to call me a cab. They declined and told me to download a cab calling app. I was a little stunned, as this was the first time I have not been called a cab by a hotel. I know I could call one, but I thought hotels usually had a go-to cab company. Plus at $240 per night if I want one phone call I feel like they should be accommodating.

This is a clean, modern hotel. If I am in Austin again and the price is right, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    323
    186
    102
    50
See reviews for
241
168
63
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was dirty, no hot water for 2-4 days, the waiters over charged me in restaurant. Had to cut my visit short. Manager Bruce did help me find another hotel that had hot water. However they charged me full 8 days stay, then charged me for the actual stay without removing the hold they previously had. Then after that was cleared, they charged me again. Talking to them to have the second hold remove. This was without a doubt the most horrible experience ever, I really feel we should not have had to pay anything, much less have to pay 3 times for a stay, even thou they are fixing the problem it kept me from having access to MY money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Belkis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NolafanWimberly, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.

Wim Puttemans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I want to preface this by saying the desk and maintenace staff was friendly, informative, and professional. We booked our hotel through the Hilton Honors program, and were informed by the hotel an hour before arrival that the hot water boiler was not working. However, they did not offer to find us alternative lodging at other Hilton properties in the area, which I thought was unusual. Typically Hilton is very accommodating, and we stay with them frequently (I am a Diamond Honors member). As it was late, and not wanting to search for hotel on our own, we decided to take a chance and hope that it would be repaired quickly by hotel owners. However, that did not happen. In 3 days we had 1 hot shower! I can even begin to understand the hot water issue, things happen. But I think it is too coincidental that our air conditioning failed on the second night of our stay and we had to move rooms at 1 AM. This reflects on the poor maintenance and needed updating of the hotel by the owners! The carpets, common areas, elevators, and lobby had a dated and overall worn out look. This is definitely more of a 2.5 star hotel. The fitness room was nice, never dared chance the food in the restaurant, but why would you in Austin, so many better choices. I just feel like I wasted my Hilton points on a sub standard property. And as a Hilton Honors member, I felt like I received no support in relocating. I was also not offered any discounts, points, or compensation in any way for our problematic stay. The multiple issues with the hotel reflect very poorly on the owners, Hilton, and the upper management staff. I would recommend looking elsewhere, there are so many nice properties in the Austin area, why chance it here?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NolafanWimberly, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. Comments from our guests are very important to our staff. I wanted to personally apologize for your experience that you had while staying with us. I have forwarded this review to all the managers regarding all of the issues you mentioned. I would like you to come back so we can show you that we can make it right. If you have any further comments or questions please do not hesitate on contacting me via e-mail or by phone.

Wim Puttemans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

NO hot water for 2 days, the AC did not work properly, they offered no apology or discount. No just in my room either , it was for most people that I talked to, none had hot water. I did not see any plumbers there working to fix the problem , nor did I see any maintenance people working on the AC or water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NolafanWimberly, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Kind Regards,

Wim Puttemans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I enjoyed my recent stay at the DoubleTree, especially considering the price. The staff is stellar. There had just been a big storm when we checked in, so we really got a chance to see these folks in emergency mode, and they handled it so professionally. All of the TVs were out, they were understaffed, the grounds had been damaged, and yet things ran completely smoothly, and they always had those fresh cookies at the ready! The front desk folks knew Austin in and out, which made our experience all that much better. We got so many fantastic insider recommendations! The maintenance crew worked tirelessly to get all of the electronics working again, and the groundskeepers had the outside replanted and looking sharp in two days. I just can't give enough kudos to the employees here.

Other than the staff, the hotel was just average. It was kept impeccably clean and everything looked new, but the decor was pretty basic. The beds were firm and comfortable, which is always my biggest concern as I have a back injury. The breakfast buffet was alright, your average hot bar with scrambled eggs, a waffle iron, and a couple of breakfast meats, but for only an additional $10 a room, it was definitely worth it. The location was pretty good, a quick drive into downtown, but a little too far to walk, and the view was nice. The price was definitely what drew me to this particular hotel, as it was significantly cheaper than many other options, but it is still in great condition.

Overall: It isn't glamorous or historic, but it is an updated, clean, and comfortable, solid mid-range option located very close to downtown. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittSprink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was decorated nicely and clean. Although, the lighting is horrible. We removed the lamp shades to try to get better lighting. It helped somewhat. The elevators were very slow. The cleaning staff did not get around to cleaning our room. Not sure why and we didn't ask. The Denny's restaurant located next to the hotel is a big plus, in our opinion. Additionally, the employees were very pleasant. All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DACGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I did not enjoy my recent stay. The entire building, except for the room, was extremely hot. An elevator was not working. Parking was very limited, and parking spaces were very narrow. The worst part of it was the rude behavior exhibited by the front desk employees. They seemed to have little or no interest in being helpful or courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing