We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the Idols”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Ranked #59 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I recently stayed at the Doubletree Austin - University Area on the same night the city was filled with auditioners for American Idol. It was fun to hear people break out in song in the lobby and I know they had a impromptu concert at the pool that evening as well. However, when I got into my room I never heard a thing - not even the expressway which was right outside the hotel. My room was clean, cool and comfortable and I had an excellent two night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTUTMGR, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

Thank you for your kind review. We were happy to hear that you were provided free entertainment while American Idol auditions were taking place in the area. It was also very pleasing to know that you were able to enjoy quiet in the comfort & cleanliness of your room with no noise distractions. We're glad you had a pleasant stay & look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

As parents of a UT Austin student, we always stay at he Doubletree on I-35! Not only is it close to the campus, but the rooms are always clean and quiet, the staff is extremely friendly and attentive, and you get a warm and scrumptuous cookie upon arrival! Best value for the buck whether you're a UT parent or not! We love the Doubletree!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTUTMGR, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

Hook 'em Horns! We love hosting parents of our beloved UT & are so happy you enjoy staying with us too. It was so wonderful to hear of your love of the signature Doubletree cookie as well as the compliments of cleanliness & service. Many thanks! We look forward to your next visit...and football season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We really liked this hotel. The room was beautiful, more like home than a hotel, the staff was very friendly, the hot breakfast was very good. Easy self parking. This will be our choice for future visits to Austin.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I really appreciate the free parking compared to other Downtown Austin hotels. We parked a very short distance from the front door without the hassle of parking garage elevators, etc. The free hot cookie is a nice touch! The room was clean, quite, and very comfortable. Location is wonderful, being close to Downtown and the University, but with easy on/off access to I 35 and major streets. Can't think of anything to improve on!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bankerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTUTMGR, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the location & comfort of our hotel. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel over a dozen times when visiting Austin. It is the perfect location for enjoying downtown Austin or attending a UT sporting event. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. I love the fact that you don't have to contend with valet parking. It is next to a cemetery, but that adds to the "Keep Austin Weird" appeal, and the security guard is always patrolling the grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biscuitbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTUTMGR, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Austin. We couldn't agree more that our location is the perfect place to stay when visiting the University of Texas. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. They will be so pleased to hear it. Looking forward to seeing you again soon & Hook 'Em Horns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I travel to Austin several times per year, each time staying at the Doubletree in Austin -- perfect location with easy access to downtown. The new management has completely turned this hotel around based upon prior reviews and what I experienced -- well done! From the food quality to the cozy bar, quality and service are #1. And the staff, they are so kind and attentive to every detail. Plus the hand you a warm cookie upon check-in!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNET2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

If you enjoy staying next to a cemetery where everything is broken and the staff tells you that there is nothing that they can do about it, this is the place for you. The hotel is nicely appointed with modern lamps etc., but because there is so much that is broken or damaged, it merely has the effect of cheap takeout on a nice plate. My room was "clean" upon arrival. This means the room was ready, but the shower was filthy with mud and grime, there was hair all over the place (that didn't belong to me in both the bathroom and my sheets), the faucets were reversed (hot in the cold tap/ cold in the hot tap), the toilet was dirty, the phone was falling apart, the pool just cracked a couple of days prior and would not be fixed during my stay. Although there were ice machines on every floor, 6 total, only two of them worked (floors 2 and 6). There were 3 soda machines. One was sold out, and the other two were broken, one didn't take money and the other had been broken into. You could get drinks from the "pantry" downstairs, but you have to pay more for them. The door of my room had been broken into at some point as evidenced by the bent frame and missing pieces of wood. The bartender was arrogant and shortchanged customers, and the front desk staff was inept. On the plus side, the hotel did offer a business center, and did have a gym that was accessible 24 hours a day. Some items were not functioning in the gym, but it is a nice feature. I would not recommend staying here. Another positive about the place is the proximity to downtown and the UT campus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenturtle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTUTMGR, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Thank you for your review of your most recent visit with us. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not up to the standards we demand. Your candor & feedback is taken very seriously as we make improvments to our hotel. Please also rest assured that all of your comments have been addressed with the appropriate staff in order to make sure they don't happen again. We hope you consider a visit with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area

Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £81 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing