We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central
Ranked #128 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Worst hotel experience ever! Read review here before going but since my company was paying for it, I didn't have a choice. Upon checking in on a Sunday evening, they claimed they couldn't find my company's credit card info and asked me to use mine to hold the room for one night until they could confirm payment with my company the next day. Monday evening I stopped by the desk and asked if everything was okay and was told yes, and reassured my card was no longer in file and all would be billed to my company. Tuesday, I checked my bank accnt to find that not only had 1 night been authorized on my accnt, but an additional authorization was pending for another 5 nights. I was only staying 5 nights. I went round and round with the desk manager and the so called revenue manager and it didn't get resolved until after I checked out on Friday, 4 days of having almost $1,000 frozen in my accnt. And all I got for their error was an unempathetic apology and was told by the revenue manager that it was my fault for using a debit card and that now I'll know better next time to use a credit card. They did finally admit that it was the employee who initially took the reservation that filed my company pmnt info in the wrong file and that the employee who checked me in also was in the wrong and, according to their policies, he shouldn't have even taken my card to hold it since it was shown on my profile that it was a corporate reservation. A fellow traveling for the same event as me, was also double billed and had to get them to issue a refund to his card. On top of the money issues they caused me, our key cards were deactivated one night and several people had to go back down to the front desk to stand in line to have their cards reactivated; the floors in the room felt damp and my socks were gray after walking around the room in them; and finally, the toilet in my room just stopped working the morning of my check out. Oh, and still nothing in the way of a true apology or an attempt to make it up to me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslett, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Michelle,

I am sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. After investigating this matter further, we never charged your card for over a $1000.00, we only authorized your Visa card for $588.75 and the final bill came out to $339.25, so that was the only amount charged to your Visa card. I do apologize for the toilet not working properly on the day of your check out, but after looking at the maintenance records, there was no complaint issued by yourself to have it fixed by our maintanance department. We would have been more that happy to get the issue resolved quickly. If you would like to discuss this matter more in detail, please feel free to call me at 512-821-0707. Thank you, Lesley Easley, DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

I had a great time at this hotel once Kirsten the front desk clerk came in. She is wonderful and i wished she worked for me. There was a very rude guy there but Kirsten made everything better.!!! She helped me with a great place to take a cleint out to eat. Got me a shuttle van to pick us up and drop us off. The hotel is very clean , the beds so so soft. I loved it!!! I will be back...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslett, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

We are happy you had a great stay. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Very disappointed in the stay and the follow up from management. We left our luggage in the office area (behind a locked door) and my sons sunglasses were stolen. Also, there was a shortage of towels and we had to use bath mats to dry off. This happened all 5 days we stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love2teach43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslett, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Sorry for any inconvience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, it was super clean, friendly staff, perfect location as my work is only 1 mile away. The rooms are spacious, clean, and feel new. I would definitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tech007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we take all reviews to heart and as a team work together to better service our guest. We are elated your stay was great. We do try and treat our guest like family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The staff was excellent, it was clean and up to date the food was good and the pool is a dream.... I would go back in a heart beat. And there is free shuttle service to and from the airport, with a very nice fast prompt driver...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlema2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This Holiday Inn Express is not equal to the others I have stayed at. It's on the wrong side of Austin from the fun stuff do, and the beds are seriously uncomfortable.

The staff did not recognize my program memberships or give me "perks" they claim members get. Actually other than handing me a key and saying a room number I wasn't acknowledged at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessieDAwsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I stayed here for one night (Tues check-in and Wed check-out.) I arrived around 4 p.m. and found both people working the front desk to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I was grateful to see the bathroom was spotless. The mattress was firm and comfortable with soft blankets and several pillows, both soft and firm. My experience started off great and then went downhill. The ice machine on my floor was broken, so I had to go to the floor above or below. Not too big a deal. Then I went out with friends and stayed out rather late. When I arrived back at the hotel there were hardly any spaces left and the only accessible entrance was quite a distance from my car. Before I went to sleep, I put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. I was awakened by housekeepers talking loudly right outside my door. Their loud conversations started around 9 a.m. so I had no choice but to get up, even though I wanted another hour of sleep. Around 9:30, one of the housekeepers knocked on my door several times. She did this even though it clearly said, "Do Not Disturb." Then, about 15 minutes later, she knocked AGAIN and even tried to open the door. Thank Goodness it was latched because I wasn't even dressed! To me, that was very unnecessary and inconsiderate. It's not as if I was staying past check-out time. The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable and the location is great. I just found it difficult to rest and relax. Don't know if I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizKitty_417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin-North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Northwest Austin
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central

Address: 8500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753-5646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the North Austin area is the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel conveniently located off of the IH 35 and Hwy 183. This gorgeous hotel with 101 over sized guest rooms is within 10 minutes of downtown Austin where guests can enjoy the famed 6th Street, the Texas State Capitol, the Austin Convention Center, and the UT campus. The Holiday Inn Express is 20 minutes from Austin-Bergstrom Airport. In addition, we are less than 15 miles from Lake Travis, the Bob Bullock Museum/IMAX Theater, the Austin Children s Museum, and the Frank Erwin Center. Finally, there are several shopping malls within a ten mile radius. A few of the many companies located near us include MCI, Dell Computers, Applied Materials, Apple Computers, and Samsung. The Holiday Inn Express in North Austin is perfect for the business traveler. We offer complimentary high-speed Internet (both wired and wireless) access in all of the guest rooms. All of our guest rooms have spacious working desks with ergonomic chairs, and desk phones with speaker capabilities, data port, and voice mail. Each morning guests can enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, which includes fresh, warm cinnamon rolls, Smart Roast Coffee, and many more items that will more than satisfy any guest's hunger. Above all, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel s professional staff awaits the opportunity to attend to your every need. Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing