We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the free breakfast buffet!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville)
Ranked #113 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the free breakfast buffet!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stayed here this past Thursday and Friday night with a girlfriend. The hotel is north of downtown, but it's a straight shot on I-35, which has traffic mostly all the time, but it moves steadily, even during morning rush hour. Check-in was quick and easy. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. We were given a king suite even though my friend's son booked a double room. Both the bedroom and the living area were nice size rooms. One plus about the bathroom was that the tub and toilet was separate from the sink and vanity. I like that setup because it allows more than one guest to get ready at the same time. The shower head was nice, and hot water was plentiful - no issues there. My friend slept in the bed and I slept on the sofa bed, which was comfortable. Plenty of extra pillows were available in the closet, plus a blanket that I used on the sofa sleeper. The choice between "firm" and "soft" pillows was also a plus! There was a sink, frig, and microwave in the living area, and also a desk and chair. We ate breakfast both Friday and Saturday mornings. The breakfast area is very nice and very clean. There is plenty of seating available, even on that Friday morning when it was kinda crowded, you could still manage to find a seat. There was an excellent selection of items. There were these cute little "taco" eggs - it was an scrambled egg that was cooked in a round circle then folded in a half moon with cheese in the center. The cinnamon rolls were the best ever! My favorite of all - served warm! There was also a pancake machine where you just press a button and the pancake comes out of one side of the machine (kinda like an Easy Bake oven) and falls right onto your plate. I didn't have one of those, so I can't comment on the taste, but the machine was really kinda neat. And there was bacon, sausage, biscuits, english muffins, bagels, danish, cereal, yogurt, fruit, milk, juices, and coffee. Enjoyed my stay here, but next time, I may try to stay closer to downtown Austin.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bayou babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    44
    26
    19
    15
See reviews for
62
24
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panhandle, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed two nights to attend a funeral. Great rate for a great room. The check-in was quick. The room was clean and perfectly stocked ( towels, coffee, blankets, toiletries). We booked a king suite and the room was distinctly two different rooms with a microwave, two TVs, and small fridge. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't eat breakfast but we did help ourselves to coffee in the morning and evenings. We were on the second floor and there were times when we could hear people upstairs, but it wasn't so loud that it kept us from getting a good night's sleep. At checkout, the clerk added my priority club account to the bill and gave me extra points because of a small issue we had with the thermostat. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmwife68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Went through priceline and got this hotel for 5 days at 35$ a night. It was a steal. The service was great, housekeeping divine. The only couple of things we noticed, was there seems to be a lot of loud car stereos in the parking lot, the deep thumping kind. We were a little worried that the noise from the highway would be a factor, but it couldn't be heard at all in the room, and we had a room closest to the road. The room was in good condition with just needing a few minor repairs needed. We would definately stay there again. The hotel offered all the amenities advertised, and the internet worked great. Though the bed..... Ick. Was uncomfortable for me and my boyfriend. Woke up many times throughout the night with sore shoulders, and backs. We can't pinpoint what it was (too soft/hard?) but it served the purpose of allowing us some rest. The hotel is located in far north Austin (Actually on the pflugerville/round rock border practically) which was a small inconvenience since our friends we were visiting were in South Austin.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siervua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Nice large room (1 bedroom suite). Just outside of Austin. If you are looking to for something close to downtown, this is not the place for you. Didn't try the breakfast. No real complaints. I don't think the bed was a true King but it was OK. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

After searching thru several pages of reviews for Austin hotels, we chose this Holiday Inn Express because the rooms seemed nice, the price was OK and they offered smoking rooms. Upon arrival they said "we put you on the first floor so it would be more convenient for you to go outside and smoke". I told them their own website gave me the choice of a smoking or non-smoking room. All they said was "Sorry". So what we have here is a hotel with totally false room descriptions and one who discriminates against certain people. We will check out tomorrow and go down the road to the Super 8 where we have stayed before and where they welcome everyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We spent 1 night at this hotel. Everything was great, very spacious accommodation - we had a sitting room with fridge, microwavem TV, Sofa, Desk + bedroom with another TV, 2 Queen size beds,etc. I thought it was a new hotel, but was told it was totally renovated when HI took it over...
The rate was good, a lot of great restaurants nearby. The only frustrating thing weas to find the hotel; probably Mapquest map & directions was a bit confusing...As you head North from Austin, the numbers show 19000 block; so we thought we missed it. Actually, it is under the bridge, then going South again; in other words: on the other side..
The desk clerk was extremely helpful, gave us a lot of good information & maps of Austin as we were to do all the sightseeing the following day. The seafood restaurant Fish Daddy was also excellent. The rate included breakfast of pastries, cereals, eggs, coffee, yogurt & juice. We enjoyed our stay...

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

I stay at this hotel about once per month when in Austin staying on the north side for business.

Upon driving up to the hotel it does not look quite like a typical Holiday Inn Express, probably because it was a Comfort Suites in a prior branding. The inside of the hotel clean and nice looking with a nice enough lobby. They had a typical small but clean exercise room as well as the typical lobby / breakfast area.

My room was a nice King room with microwave and fridge. I believe all rooms at this hotel have a two room suite format. (I have had 2 Queen bedded rooms also) Very comfortable bed, curtains a bit weak at block ing out ambient light and do not quite close well enough.

The breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express fare with cold hard boilde eggs, pastries, toaster french toast, muffins, cereals, juice, milk. Unlike most other Holiday Inn Expresses, they usually offer a hot egg dish and hot biscuts.

They have nice sized business center downstairs with two computers, a printer fax. High Speed Internet connection was nice. Pool was typical for a Holiday Inn Express.

There are plenty of dining options in nearby driving distance. (Walking distance is a not so great BBQ joint and a Sonic drive in.)

I will continue to stay here when the need arises in the area.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Comfort Suites North
#1 of 3 in Pflugerville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites
#62 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville)
Address: 14620 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78728-7005 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin North (Pflugerville))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville) 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville),is located on I-35 North at exit 247.The hotel is just 15 minutes from Downtown Austin Home of the University of Texas Longhorns, State Capitol and the infamous 6th street. In addition, the hotel is surrounded by major corporations like Dell, Pearson, Hewlett Packard, General Motors, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Samsung, Sears, and Hart Hankes, just to name a few. With Austin Bergstrom International Airport located only 25 minutes away, this hotel is a perfect fit for both corporate and leisure travelers. Our hotel offers over-sized suites with a separate bedroom and living area in each guest room, with a flat screen TV in each area. We provide all the standard amenities PLUS complimentary High speed internet, a work desk area, and microwave and mini-refrigerators. For those who are always on the go we offer a fitness center and a refreshing outdoor pool. We invite you to join us in our beautifully decorated lobby area each morning to enjoy our complimentary Be Our Guest breakfast or to sample our fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Be sure to be here mid-week each week too, for our complimentary Be Our Guest Manager's reception. If you are in need of meeting space, you'll find ours is designed to cater to both social and corporate meetings. Visit Austin, TX and Be Our Guest at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin North (Pflugerville) Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing