We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best front desk ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
Ranked #108 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, DE
Level Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best front desk ever”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I've stayed here in the past with great results, and specifically with a talented front desk staff of Russell and Jennifer. This week's attempted stay explains why I'll continue to patronize this hotel when I visit Austin. After attempting to check in late in the evening we found out our travel agency booked us erroneously into another Fairfield 10 miles away. Russell stepped in quickly. He offered to call the other Fairfield to explain the error and ensure we weren't charged for the visit. He then mentioned that although he had no rooms available, he would gladly call next door to Springhill Suites. We agreed and in a matter of minutes what could have been a big inconvenience was resolved and we were set up for 2 nights in the hotel next door (very nice) at the same rate as the Fairfield. What a deal! Russell is a real asset to his employer. Nice job and thanks for your help!

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Darryl A.

Thank you so much for your kind works about our team we truly appreciate your feedback. Our goal is for every guest to leave the Fairfield Inn & Suites happy and we are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    78
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
46
43
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I was there in the midst of renovation efforts, which infused the property with the smell of industrial chemicals and the refuse associated with any construction site. This rendered the pool grime-ridden, the exercise room spartan, and the breakfast meager and wanting. Despite these deplorable conditions, we were offered use of the nearby Marriott amenities. Hopefully, this face lift of sorts will do something about the constant drone of nearby highway.
Regardless of the apparent inadequacies of the hotel proper, what compels me most of all to write this review is the incomparable staff in attendance. One in particular, a young gentleman by the name of Russell, proved invaluable when assisting with my business duties while providing insight into local dining establishments, rendering technical support when the lobby computers were malfunctioning, and facilitating the use of amenities belonging to nearby properties. His service was offered with uncommon warmth and alacrity, which is a waning characteristic in current impersonal climate that abounds in most hotels. His attentiveness and professionalism allowed me to suffer through the otherwise grim surroundings of this particular Marriott.

Room Tip: Avoid the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Rommie4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and acknowledging the professional and personable team that we have.
You will be happy to know that the room renovation has been completely finished and we now have completely new rooms with new beds, linens and flatscreen HD TV's.
We look forward to showing you the completed rooms on your return to Austin.

Sincerely,
Nicola D'Entremont, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

First off, easy to find and good location to get around, right off I35,
The room was clean, nice smell and awesome staff.
Unexpected courtesy shuttle to downtown ATX, stops running at 11pm on the weekends.
Good price for the location and really liked the extras. Shuttle driver was really informative and cool guy. Friendly and right to the point, thank you, and will be staying there if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ice machine and snacks all on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stircrazy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Stircrazy13,

Thank you, for sharing your experience and choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South.
We are so happy to hear that we met your expectations.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will be looking to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,
Nicola D'Entremont, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Front desk very helpful at checkin, and advised us on which car service to use in Austin for our late night party return time. Room was clean and comfy. Bathroom needs maintenance- shower head leaking, old grout, etc. Elevator needs cleaning and maintenance, seemed very used.

Room Tip: high floor on a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieDulcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
OllieDulcie

Thank you for your feedback and kind works about our team. We have now completed our multi-million dollar renovation and welcome you back to experience the 'new' Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South.

Warm Regards,
Nicola D'Entremont, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alton, il
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

So comfortable after 10 hours on the road! The staff was wonderful & gave us a free upgrade when I mentioned we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Very comfy beds & very clean. Great location right off Interstate 35. Nice indoor pool & even though the exercise room was limited we had access to the larger facilities at the other Marriott properties right on the same lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv02shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
lv02shop,

We can't thank you enough for posting such a great review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our your anniversary and we could offer you an upgrade into our of our spacious suites. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest on your next trip to Austin.

Sincerely,
Nicola D'Entremont, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked our reservation for 3 nights over two months ago and showed up for our stay and were told that our reservation was taken away for the first night because of overbooking. Told us to come back tomorrow and they would have a room for the next two nights. What kind of a way is that to treat a Marriot rewards member or anyone for that matter. The hotel told us tough and that was that. Will never stay here or any Marriott again if something is not done about this.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Travelingman1948-

I am extremely concerned about your comments in regards to your comments about your recent reservation. I would like to personally speak to you about this further to get some additional information and do everythingn I can to make this right. Please contact me at 512-707-8899 or at michael.galligan@whitelodging.com. I look forward to speaking to you about this. Thank you.


Sincerely,
Michael Galligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We frequently stay at Fairfield Inn when traveling. The Fairfield in Austin is conveniently located and worth the price. The room are always fresh and clean. Their no smirking policy insures that the room won't have lingering stale smoke. The check in personal at the Fairfield South is wonderful. This last visit we must have look quite weary because He even put in a fresh batch of cookies for my two friends and I and caledl us when they we ready. We were very appreciative. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Cyndi-

I wanted to thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on the Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South. I am happy to hear that the hotel fit your needs and was affordable. We take pride in the service we provide and I am glad you got to experience that and that you were able to enjoy the cookies! Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Galligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#93 of 203 in Austin
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#41 of 203 in Austin
406 reviews
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
Address: 4525 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South is ideally located off I-35 between Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown. Business travelers appreciate this convenient location nearby the corporate offices of AMD, Farmers Insurance, and Motorola. Meanwhile leisure travelers love the free shuttle service to downtown for SoCo shopping, the 6th Street music scene, and the University of Texas. This South Austin hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast, an indoor pool, and 24-hour fitness center, and full service business center with free WiFi. These brand new guest rooms were renovated with modern décor and feature 32” flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, an iHome media dock, and available room service. The remodeled Fairfield Inn & Suites is the perfect place to stay when enjoying the great food, live music, and vibrant nightlife of Austin, TX. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin South Hotel Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Austin South
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing