We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but be prepared”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“OK but be prepared”
Reviewed 18 November 2005

We stayed at this hotel after we stayed at the Drury Inn on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. This hotel was Ok but not as clean. The rooms were shop worn.The single elevator was extremely slow and should have been reinspected by Oct. 26, 2005. There were about 5 copies of USA in the morning to be shared by 200 people- very insufficient. The breakfast offerings were good, and the offerings at the manager's reception were better than those in San Antonio- fresh chips, salsa, and cheese dip. Again the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Proviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    105
    37
    19
    2
See reviews for
88
89
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 September 2005

I stayed here for business, since it was near the Doubletree Inn, which was where the conference I was attending was hosted at. I decided to stay here instead of the Doubletree because it was less expensive and the reviews on the hotel were better.
When I called the hotel, I asked how close the Doubletree was to the Drury since I would have to walk to the Doubletree and was told that they 'shared a parking lot'. When I arrived at the Drury Inn, I discovered that the Doubletree is down the street about half a mile and they do not share a parking lot. To walk to the Doubletree, I had to walk down a sidewalk that was on the edge of the freeway's frontage road.
The hotel itself is clean and taken care of. However when I stayed there were several families with noisy children running all over the hotel. My room was quiet, away from the families, so when I did return from my conference each evening, I was able to have a quiet, relaxing stay.
The room was clean and large. The only problem I had with the room was that the bathtub drain did not work, even after they had hotel maintenance come up to fix it. The hotel refunded me one night's stay because of the inconvience, but because I had to walk back and forth further than I was prepared for, I wasn't able to use the tub which I needed.
The housekeeper was very polite and did a very good job.
The breakfast buffet and the 'snack' (really a full dinner) buffet were very good, but as another reviewer said, the waffles were a big problem with the guests who wanted them. Both of the days I stayed there, guests had problems making waffles because there was no no-stick spray for the waffle iron.

Overall, my stay was fine, but it was definitely marred by the problem with the bathtub drain. If I had another event at the Doubletree, I would elect to stay there next time. However, if I were staying in Austin for leisure, I'd probably stay at the Drury again, provided the tub drain worked.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
537 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

This hotel seems to be trying very hard, with an extensive happy hour spread, lots of breakfast choices, and free long distance phone service. Our room was clean and comfortable. A couple of minor complaints: The Internet service was spotty. Also, for some reason the staff seemed to be hoarding the nonstick spray for the waffle iron. They would come by and spray it periodically and then remove the spray, so that guests' waffles were often a stuck-on mess. Overall, though, this is a nice motel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2005

We have stayed at several Drurys and have come to enjoy the perks that come with it. The North Austin Drury is well situated for easy on/off highway. Close to all the attractions we chose to go to (the bat viewing, the capital and museums). We have two children (age 4 and 8) that always check out the pool and were pleased. Our biggest compliments are in regards to the free breakfast (waffles, sausage, biscuits....the list is endless) and to the complimentary evening "snack" hours of 5:30pm to 7:00pm. The first evening they served meatballs, chicken strips, popcorn and nachos and the second evening was hotdogs /chips/ popcorn. We were amazed at the variety of the snacks and noticed that many people even seemed to treat it like a meal......hmmmm .....maybe a way to save a little money for a family? Anyway, the rooms (we were in a king suite) were nice, well taken care of. Parking was good, Service from everyone we encountered was good. We recommend this hotel for all families.

Helpful?
7 Thank Fullogratitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2003

We've stayed here numerous times. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We've never had a problem. The continental breakfast is good, and includes great waffles. They accept small dogs, and have a small but well kept grassy area in the back that our dog knows well.

Helpful?
11 Thank SandwichFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin-North Central
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Austin
Crowne Plaza Austin
#29 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
0.3 mi away
Habitat Suites Hotel
Habitat Suites Hotel
#52 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Austin North

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Address: 6711 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#25 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Austin North 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn & Suites Austin North is centrally located off I-35 near the University of Texas at Austin. It's a quick, 15-minute commute from the hotel to the Austin Convention Center and downtown attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with free cold beverages and hot food at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Austin North
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Drury Inn
Drury Inn Austin Texas
Drury Austin
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing