We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Austin South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Austin South
Ranked #112 of 197 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was great. Starbucks coffee at their bistro!! Great value for the cost if the stay. Close to downtown and great restraunts. Would definately stay here again. Only negative is no fridge in the room but they do have the extended stay hotel right next door.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our Bistro and I do apologize about the inconveniences you may have experienced while staying with us. Although not all of our rooms have fridges and microwaves in the room, we do have them available upon request. We hope you will give us another try, if rooms are available and we do understand sensitivity to noise, we would be happy to move you to the backside of the hotel. We hope to see you on your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    44
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
24
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The staff members were great--very attentive, friendly and professional. The hotel has been renovated. However, the walls are very thin and the beds need replacing. Good location, although you can hear the highway noise from inside the rooms on the front side of the hotel. Overall good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Courtyard is an older hotel with an updated lobby and a well-intended freshen up of the rooms. It seems like they stopped halfway, however as the old yellowing fixtures are still being used - such as the light switches and the phones. It leaves the renovation feeling incomplete and lacking. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the lobby was nice. I would stay there again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Truthfully, the best thing about this hotel was the outstanding staff. The assistant general manager was truly exceptional - friendly, helpful, and highly visible. The front desk staff always greeted us, gave us directions, and treated us like friends throughout the duration of our stay.

The lobby is the new Courtyard style, and they always had fresh cookies and lemonade out in the afternoon.

The rooms are a little dated, and I don't think these are the new Marriott beds, but the rooms were large, the bathroom was plenty large enough for 2 of us (though admittedly, I wish the vanity was a bit larger), and I can't really complain. Parking and internet were both free.

Housekeeping was always completed by the time we arrived back in the early afternoon, and we didn't hear any road noise. We also didn't have any problems with crickets, though I did see the letter from the hotel in the room that it was cricket season. The room was dark enough in the afternoons for naps to recover from the Austin heat.

The location was easy to get everywhere we needed to go, and we were all over the Austin area during our stay. Most places were 10-15 minutes away. Easy freeway access.

Bottom line - this isn't a new Courtyard, and the rooms do show evidence of wear, but the friendly staff really did more than make up for the dated property. (And I'm a bit of a hotel snob.) We did visit family at the Hampton Inn on the North side of town, and our room at the CY was definitely larger and the staff was definitely friendlier.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellarina126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

What is worse than a delayed flight that ultimately gets cancelled at 10:30pm... Than getting a voucher to a Marriott hotel that doesn't have any rooms.. To find out the airlines desk that booked the room doesn't reopen till 4am.... To then be shuttled across town to another Marriott that wouldn't take the voucher and finally did (with a little coaxing of how to process a direct bill via 45min later -- and I wasn't even a Marriott employee) to then put a sleeping child in bed without turning on the lights (which I know better than to crawl into a hotel bed without checking) to wake up 1.5 hours later covered in ants!
.... Let's just say I jumped up swiping ants off my daughter and pulling her out of bed to put her in the shower to step on a carpet full of crickets! Then when I complained to the night manager, I get a "your waisting my time sorry" response -- like it was an imposition for him to even listen to me. My daughter and I have ant bites from head to toe and itch all over.

I have been a Marriott brand lover for over 10 years and I have never been so disappointed and disgusted in my life! If this is how the night managers are trained by Marriott to treat all their "weary" travelers, then I will never stay in another Marriott again. In fact, I will never stay at this one again.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book a room with Marriott, you check all your bed linens and around the bed to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmyWife007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are sorry for the inconvenience experiences you had during your stay with us. We do not frequently have passengers that stay at our location when a flight has been cancelled, so I do apologize that the checkin process took a little longer than it usually does but please know that we've been working hard on ensuring that our guest is satisfied and training our staff accordingly. It seems that the crickets, the little "buggers" have decided to vacation in Austin and enjoy the warmth. We've had a specialist come weekly to control our cricket friends, but it seems they walk through the welcoming doors and try everything in their power to spend time with us. Fortunately, the Chinese have said for centuries that the cricket is a sign of good luck and prosperity! We hope you will give us another try as we do try do everything in our power to make your stay with more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

After a year of visiting Marriott and Hilton properties in the Austin and San Antonio markets I have finally found a hotel that works! Super clean, easy parking and quick to respond to customer requests (I requested a room away from the block of rooms occupied by the high school track teams and the accompanying noise issues with HS students on the road). HD channels that actually work and internet access that did not crash every 30 minutes. A large desk to get some work done at night and the best bed I have encountered in years. It's walking distance to the Marriott and their restaurant or only 5 min. from lots of local choices. I will be back often!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hankinsontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We appreciate the kind words and will be passing this along to our staff. We take pride in our newly renovated hotel but love the opportunity to be of service when we can! We look forward to your return to the Courtyard by Marriott Austin South!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The building is very close to IH-35 and the front rooms have very poor soundproofing. Even the running air conditioner did not drown out the noise from the road. As noted in another review, the floors are also incredibly thin, and it sounded like the person in the room above me was having a flamenco dance competition in the room. The staff ranged from marginally helpful to disinterested. The room itself was in good condition, but the noise coming from the freeway and the room above me, as well as the apathetic staff must be noted. The hotel certainly cannot pick up and move back a few hundred yards, but it can update the structure and provide a more helpful staff. On a one to ten scale, it's a five.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the hotel and ask for pair of ear plugs. If not--be prepared to feel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Director of Sales at Courtyard Austin South, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Please know we are working very hard to ensure our staff is trained in properly responding in offering you options & making sure our guests are satisfied during their stay. We hope you will give us another try on your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin South
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austin Marriott South
Austin Marriott South
#46 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Austin South
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin South

Property: Courtyard Austin South
Address: 4533 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Austin
#59 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Austin-Bergstrom Airport, Downtown and Circuit of the Americas, we're one of the most convenient South Austin hotels with all-new state-of-the-art features. The renovated lobby provides media pod work spaces, free WiFi, boarding pass printing station and easy access to news, traffic and weather via an interactive GoBoard(R). Jump-start your morning at our onsite Bistro, offering healthy breakfast items and your favorite Starbucks beverages. Then after a busy day in Austin, come back for dinner and cocktails. Relax in our modern hotel rooms with flat-screen TVs, plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and ergonomic workspaces. Guests love our free downtown shuttle service (6pm-12pm) for easy access to the convention center, 6th Street entertainment district and UT Austin. Our hotel features an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and outdoor patio. With high-tech amenities at a convenient location, Courtyard Austin South is perfect for business trips and weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard
Courtyard Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing