We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Clarion gets new management and a new lease on life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #24 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Old Clarion gets new management and a new lease on life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This used to be The Clarion. Now under the new management of Best Western and the addition of Blue Moon blues bar, it has a classier vibe. Definitely improved, and not what I expected from a Best Western Plus. Bravo! I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura7131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for noticing the changes we have made! It always makes us feel great when someone notices how hard we try. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    324
    93
    29
    19
See reviews for
300
242
61
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stay here for business regulary and I tried a lot of hotels before I decided on this one. The breakfast is the BEST! The rooms are comfortable and in good shape, nice hot shower, wonderful pool and hospitable service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate each and every guest and try and make each guest feel special. It is heartwarming to know it is working! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maud, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is consistently the best hotel in Austin for business travel. The staff is great and the rooms, beds & breakfast are awesome. I have stayed at hotels in Austin that cost 3 times as much that don't measure up to this hotel. It was recently updated and the new decor is very nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It really is nice to know that our guests see how hard we work to make sure your visit is the best possible stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Love the staff, the new everything and the comfortable beds!! The breakfast was lovely. I would stay here on every trip to Austin. The ease of check in and check out was superb. The pool area was beautiful and clean. Extra towels offered at pool!! The decor very retro!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank lesberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willis, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Needed a place for a night or two. Referral through AAA. It's just off I-35 so it's an easy in and out of Austin. Room was comfortable. The free breakfast was served in what is now a bar and grill. (Really not sure if this is a great idea for someplace that might have children along with the guests.) Standard breakfast fare, but the one meal I had there was strictly bar and grill quality which means if you're not drinking, you're not going to enjoy it that much. Couldn't believe that they didn't serve lunch, so I found it a bit annoying. All in all, if you needed a short stay, it's ok.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room facing outside. Rain made it uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit overall. I apologize that you did not enjoy your meal at the Blue Moon. I have passed your comments onto the Blue Moon owners and they have assured me that they are updating their menus with some mouth watering options in the near future. Unfortunately, due to space confines and the way the hotel was built, we do not have other options of where to place our daily hot breakfast buffet. Most parents do not mind that alcohol is served in the restaurant at night, but I take it to heart that you wish we had other space. While our restaurant is not busy enough to keep open for lunch, we are within walking distance of the Starbucks, Denny's, and Luby's. Perhaps if lunch trends change in the future, we will be able to stay open for lunch as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The hotel had a very modern, clean look, the lobby was colorful and looked well kept and appealing. Check-in was fast and problem-free, and the room (3rd floor pool view) was great with a red/white theme, and no problems with any facilities, everything was there and worked fine - air conditioner, flatscreen, fridge, microwave, wifi etc.
The hotel is very secure, we actually had to swipe the keycard three times each time we returned to out room - an outside door, then an inner door by the elevator, then the room itself.
Only tried the breakfast once, the usual bacon, eggs, toast, cereals, muffins etc. The breakfast is in the bar & grill area and has a pleasant atmosphere. The food was fine - wanted to try other local places on the other days though!
Location wise, if you don't have a car you will probably need to get a cab or bus to get downtown as it is a few miles outside of the main hot spots. Overall this was a good experience and I'd stay again and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard/pool view room if you don't want to face the highway or a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil7101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you so much for the detailed review! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to 'wowing' you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The whole hotel appeared to have been recently remodeled. The lobby was very large and comfortable. There is a Bar and Grill on site and, true to the Austin music culture, they had a very good blues band playing on Saturday night. The food was not unique but it was good. There is no food room service but the food is available "to go" and it was a good after the football game meal. My only recommendation would be that they up-size their beds from double to queen size.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PV260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for the great review! The Blue Moon Bar & Grill is actually operated separately from the hotel but I will pass your suggestion on to the management. I will also pass on your suggestion about bed types to our ownership. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#58 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Address: 2200 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing