We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location a1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked this hotel for our trip to the lone star roundup and this hotel was just great for that purpose with the South Congress area a short taxi away $9.
The hotel is clean modern and well situated.The staff were helpfull and friendly.The rooms were large enough for two adults and a lot of baggage with a very comfy bed and plenty of coffee.The breakfast was great with plenty to please even the fussiest of eaters.(me).
The Blue moon bar attached is one of the most welcoming and well managed We have been to on our visit .The bar maids made you feel that you were a regular.Check out Birdlip the blues singer well worth a look.Overall an a1 stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view it is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review! We appreciate you sharing your opinions with us and Tripadvisor readers. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

During a recent trip to Austin, Texas, my wife and I stayed at the Best Western Austin City hotel. South of town, the hotel was a $12 cab ride into the downtown area (we took advantage of the taxis in order to be able to relax with a few margaritas). The hotel was clean; the staff was very friendly and professional; the pool clean and usable and the breakfast is free and plentiful.
However, what we found to be the best feature of the Best Western was the surprise music venue in the hotel, the Blue Moon Bar and Grill. There was excellent live music every night except Monday, most of it based around blues and rock (with a great funk band on Saturday night) and it was mostly open-session and it had a nice, relaxed feel. The bar staff was great and attentive, the drinks reasonably priced, and we found we were leaving the drunken brawl of 6th St earlier than we planned so we could get back to the hotel for the Blue Moon. We were very happy with our choice because we saved a lot of cash staying here and had a lot of extra fun thanks to the Blue Moon. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have less traffic noise than those facing I-35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peepff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for posting such a great review! We will share it with the management of the Blue Moon Bar & Grill as they love hearing about happy guests as much as we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is very nice. The pool is fabulous and the free breakfast buffet is really good. People that work at the front desk are all very pleasant. The beds are very comfortable. I do not recommend getting one of the outer hotel room on the back side of the hotel. The only complaint we have is the area is not the greatest and the bar/grill connected to it gets some shady people there at night.

Room Tip: Get an inside room that is not on the outer corrider
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Austin is a strange town-millionaires wear torn jeans and the homeless wear Izod. Our hotel is actually located in one of the most expensive neighborhoods in the city-but if you aren't from here you might not guess how pricey these retro bungalows are! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Everything in our room was working and very clean, the bed was comfortable. The A/C worked very well, as we love to sleep in a cold room at night, the A/C did a wonderful job, most A/C in hotels can hardly keep the room cool, let alone cold.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great review of the Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel. It is very gratifying to hear such positive feedback! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Although the hotel is next to IH-35 and we were in a room next to the elevator, the room was quiet, comfortable, and sparkling clean. Desk staff was helpful with requests. The hotel was a convenient location both for activities in the city centre and for the climbing areas in the greenbelt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent room that are above expectation - love the beds!!!, excellent extended breakfast - different items each day, excellent service, best stay in quite awhile...They have extra security measures - they called my room before allowing dinner delivery to just go up.. very nice when traveling alone,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and in room dining experience! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights during the Moto GP race. The staff were very friendly and nice the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The attached bar and restaurant was a plus, although I only ate breakfast there, it was excellent every morning, and the food looked good in the evening. The bar appeared to be well stocked with beer on tap and plenty of TVs as well. Convenient travel to and from the COTA track, and to the downtown area and other restaurants south of the river. Nice to have refrigerator and microwave in the room, and the TV had plenty of channels available.

Room Tip: Try to get room on other side of I-35 if you are a light sleeper. Otherwise, had nice larger size r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for the detailed and positive review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let people know what they can expect when they stay at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel. We share every review with our management team and this one will be a pleasure to share. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to being 'your home away from home' for the next big race!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#50 of 201 in Austin
1,578 reviews
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 201 in Austin
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £87 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing