We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #23 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel has thought of everything. The rooms are great and the service is definitely a plus. The breakfasts are hot cooked with eggs, bacon, and waffles! The rooms are clean and towels in the bathroom are fluffy and not made of sandpaper! Location is great for seeing all of Austin .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level. I have found that it always seems to be better as far as noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate it and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    341
    102
    29
    22
See reviews for
322
263
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was a clean hotel with comfortable beds, good water pressure, nice towels and free breakfast. Five minute drive to the South Congress area which has fun restaurants and food trucks. Also near to the Barton Creek area where we rented water bikes and peddled down the beautiful river. The down side is that the hotel sits on the freeway and is in an unattractive area. Although pleasant, the people working in this hotel had more tattoos than I am comfortable with. I would probably pay more next time and stay in a better neighborhood. But, it served our purpose and we really enjoyed that Barton Creek was so close.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank IslandloverCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that, for the most part, you enjoyed your stay.
Austin is a different kind of place. The neighborhood we are in (78704), is actually quite in demand and expensive to purchase in. Austinites tend to try and keep the 'neighborhood feel' by not replacing older homes with McMansions but to renovate and elevate the original style of the home. If you are not familiar with this-it might come off as a strange neighborhood.
I am very sorry that you were offended by the visible tattoos on a staff member here. We have one team member who has a hand tattoo that he is in the process of getting removed. He will be counseled on covering these marks better. He is the only employee that has visible tattoos, so this issue will be completely resolved in a matter of weeks.
Thank you again for letting us know your compliments and issues with your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My first time ever in Texas to visit family and explore Austin. I decided to stay at the Best Western PLUS not really knowing what to expect. I checked in 5/6/14 and checked out 5/9/14 I loved the lobby and the boutique look of the hotel, wasn't your typical Best Western. Because of my flight schedule I was early but the woman at the front desk accommodated me and got me into my room right away! The room was spacious and had a twist that I really enjoyed. The location was very convenient! A short drive to S. Congress street and Downtown Austin. I enjoyed the pool, fitness center and complimentary breakfast. Fast Wi-fi and extremely friendly staff. My room keys kept deactivating, not sure if it was my fault or the hotels, but either way the front desk was always more than happy to replace them for me. (pretty sure I went through at least 10 keys) For the cheap rate I got online, I didn't except much but Best Western PLUS exceeded my expectations and more and I'd definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate hearing from our guests. We share each one with our management team and everyone here takes pride in the many great reviews we get. Make sure you stay with us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The location is great, but had problem with check-in. Arrived at 3:45 p.m. and after traveling since 2 a.m. just wanted to take a nap. Although check-in is 3 p.m., my room and another guests were not ready. I didn't want to leave and come back as I was exhausted so I said I would wait in lobby. I was given extra points for my Best Western card without asking which was nice. I saw them approach the other guests that their room was ready so I waited for someone to come to me as well. After 40 minutes I went up to the desk and was told my room was ready and had been for quite some time. I wish someone would have told me as well.

I didn't get to use the pool area as it was raining during my stay. I got the king suite which I would highly recommend for the extra space. The breakfast area was nice as was the fitness room.

If I returned I would choose the location again as it was close to many things as well as the airport. I just wish my check-in would have been smoother after a long travel day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank binkieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I wholeheartedly apologize for the delay in check in and the additional oversight in alerting you that your room was ready. I have been the exhausted traveler before and this type of mishap is very frustrating. We will discuss this at our manager's meeting and do some retraining at our desk so that no one else runs into this issue. With the drought in Texas we were glad to see the rare sight of rain, but I am saddened that you weren't able to enjoy the pool area as it is truly wonderful. Hopefully on your next visit, it will be clear skies and sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently stayed here and Rudy the manager was very helpful; he made sure I was taken care of. the hotel rooms were great, new, modern and clean. The beds were very comfortable, nice screen TV and roomy. My double bed room was right on the second floor facing the pool and it was great having a bar, pool, Laundromat, gym and computer center and lounging area all under one roof. No need to go anywhere if it was raining or cold. It is very close to downtown, airport and major highways. I plan on staying again but it's hard to get a reservation as it is always booked. Try to book early.

Room Tip: facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasSAgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you made about our hotel. We take pride in offering guests everything they want and need when coming to Austin. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Wonderful outdoor pool - close to everything - ! Easy to find - Cozy beds ! We had a 'suite' which was a very nice touch since there were 3 of us. The extra room with a sofa made everything feel very spacious. My only feedback for future stays - get rid of the powder creamers and the pink packets of sweet and low - There are far superior products available. There is a great coffee machine in the lobby where you can make your own latte/cappucino! Thank you Best Western Plus - would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank reagangirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We are quite proud of our pool area for its beauty and fun. We will take your suggestions on creams and sugars under advisement-but keep in mind some of our guests who have been coming here for years demand the Sweet & Low. We look forward to your next visit-check the coffee machine when you come in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Justin at the front desk was amazing. He volunteered to help me move my luggage to a new room. He was extremely accommodating. This hotel is in a great location and has a nice breakfast and even a bar with live music. It's kept clean and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 655jacqueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was especially gratifying to hear that Justin helped make your visit wonderful. He was thrilled to hear your comments. Please make sure you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#51 of 203 in Austin
1,523 reviews
Crowne Plaza Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing