We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a good solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #24 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
447 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This is a good solid choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I don't normally stay in Best Western for business or pleasure. We were asked to stay here while attending a soccer tournament. My wife and I were not thrilled, but turned out we were very pleased with this hotel's accommodations and staff. The only trouble we had was a smoke alarm beeping with a low battery and we did not have pillows for the fold out bed. We reported these and within 5 minutes they were both resolved. Every staff member was friendly, helpful, and seemed genuinely important to them we had a nice stay. We really did not understand the maze comments or the complaints about needing a key everywhere. It was easy to navigate and I would rather need a key occasionally than get robbed. Location is excellent and we would stay here again. After this experience I will add Best Westerns to my business travel options.

Room Tip: Just keep a key on you at all times. You will need it, but it is for your safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. It is an absolute pleasure to hear that your visit was enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    329
    97
    29
    22
See reviews for
303
251
63
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

It's clear that the hotel had been updated, but some of the details are lacking. Really nice lobby with free coffee machine. Adjacent restaurant and bar are convenient for breakfast or drinks. Getting to our rooms from the lobby involved walking down steps, going back outside to an elevator to go up to the upper floors. There was a gap near the bottom of the entry door between the door and frame that allowed you to look out into the hall (or vice versa). Between the loud wall AC unit and the refrigerator constantly kicking on I was getting woke up every 20 minutes. There was a dead bug in the bathroom light. The paint at the bottom of the bathroom door and door frame was flaking off. The bed sheets had black scuff marks on them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize that your visit was an unhappy one. Many of the things you describe should not have happened. Please call me at 512-444-0561 so that I may gather more information about your visit. We value you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Exhausted from moving my daughter into her studio for Fall Semester at UT, I was pleased with the comfort of my room. However, I was disappointed at being placed in the back, exterior of the hotel, and cars were loud, and children were running up and down the exterior hall way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your stay in Austin. The majority of our rooms have inside entrances or overlook our pool area but require key card access into the hotel building. You were in a room with an exterior entrance and therefore not so insulated, I am so sorry you were disturbed by the noise. For future stays be sure to request a room with two doubles or one king and an interior entrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited Austin for the first time and this hotel was perfect for us. Everything was within 10 minutes by car and S. Congress Av. was within walking distance. There was a good choice of things to eat for breakfast and it tasted well. The service were excellent with helpful employees.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fredrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We review each comment with our management team. Reviews like yours make our day! I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Mississippi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Having booked at this hotel we found it to be very clean inside with updated and seemingly a crisp upscale 'better homes and garden' feeling decor, don't let the outside fool you. Staff was pleasant and helpful . If you want to stay in and still have a fun time this hotel has a full scale bar attached. We would have no problem coming back here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redcurls875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate any and all feedback. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place does a very good job presenting itself as boutique. Overall it was a fine hotel for the price. The pool was very nice. However staying on a 1st floor room overlooking pool was noisy and smelled like chlorine. The Faucets on the shower and sink were leaky. The Door wouldn't shut without slamming. There was a free breakfast but it was insipid, I wish they would upgrade their coffee to K-cups from weak Maxwell House. The property itself was maze-like and I was frustrated having to use my key-card every time I turned a corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We go over each review with our management team-so it is very helpful to have feedback like yours. I apologize for any unpleasant odors you experienced. We will look into it and find a solution. I am also sorry that the poolside was noisy. August, being so hot, tends toward a very busy pool area. For those who don't want the regular coffee that is complimentary in every room-we do have a K-cup coffee/cappuccino/mocha-cino/etc. machine in our lobby for all guests to use. We try and keep our breakfast fresh and updated but also make sure we offer options that are popular enough that most people can enjoy them. I am sorry you didn't find anything to your liking. With our guest security in the uppermost of our minds, room keys are required to enter any area where guests sleep. It is our standard. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

When our family goes to Austin, we love the Best Western Plus. It is conveniently located to everywhere we want to go! I recommend this hotel. The pool and hot tub are a plus! Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#52 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Address: 2200 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing