We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pet friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Austin South
Ranked #126 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel itself was a little rundown: hallways smelled strongly of cigarettes, carpets were stained, room wasn't as clean as it could be. That being said, we were extremely satisfied given the price we paid and the fact that it was pet friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheC716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

TheC716,

We are so glad we were able to accommodate you and your furry little family member! Would like you to know that we thankfully will be receiving new carpet throughout the hotel soon. Thank you again for the positive review and we hope to see you again!

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Was it it high end luxury? No. It was a functional, comfortable place to lay our heads at night. We stayed in room 142. The room has a queen bed in a separate bedroom. The bedroom has a nice sized closet, dresser, two end tables and a vanity type area. The bed was pretty comfy. The living room area has a recliner, a coffee table and a sleeper sofa. I had a teenage with me who found that the floor was far more comfy than the couch. Also, there is a TV in both the bedroom and the living room. The bedroom & living room are both equipped with alarm clocks that have soothing sounds for slumber/relaxation and you can also hook up your phone or mp3 player to it to play your music :)

This room also had a full kitchen. Full size fridge and freezer, small sink (garbage disposal included), a two burner stove and includes plates, cups and utensils. 5 cup coffee pot. Housekeeping only visits once a week, unless you have a special need or request. They are available. The bathroom is spacious, but pretty typical.

The hotel has a workout room and a snack pantry. Free coffee and tea is available there for your room when you need to replenish your supply.

The front desk staff was helpful and extremely nice :) Got us checked in and out very quickly and helped us find fireworks for July 4th...even provided a map to get us there! The hotel was at capacity but we never had any issues with noise, parties, etc. There is a Walmart very close by for incidentals you might need and it's only about a 5 minute drive to the Convention Center. Lots of dining choices close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsblp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

mrsbip,

Wow, what an awesome and detailed review! Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to do that, it means so much to us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here and glad you had a memorable forth of July. We hope to see you again in the future!

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived at 2:00. I am a Platinum member. Let me preface that we requested early checkin 2 weeks prior to our stay. We were told to call closer to our stay...which we did. We called the night before to request and were told to call after 9 am on our arrival day...which we did. We were told that no early checkin would be available. So...we arrive at 2 and surprise...for a hotel with a 11:00 checkout time, there was no room available. What made the situation worse is that they allowed all of the folks in the rooms to have 2:00 checkouts knowing that we had requested an early checkin. Same status?

This is where it gets frustrating. Like others, the first thing out of the front desk is that nothing is available. Did he call housekeeping? No. Did he walk up to greet us? No. He stayed behind a wall in the middle of the office. When I asked him to call housekeeping, he looked put out, but he did. No non-smoking rooms were available for 30 minutes to an hour. He stayed behind the wall until I mentioned that he was hiding.

Question....why is the turnaround time for just your hotel and the management of room changes the only one in the world that has no rooms 3 hours after checkout? I stay at hotels globally and domestically. I understand that this isn't a Grand Hyatt or the Four Seasons, but even the La Quinta can accommodate a checkin one hour early with 2 weeks notice.

Being Platinum clearly has no advantages as all guests seem to be treated the same. Management needs a much bigger lobby to accommodate all of the waiting guests.

Just to make it all better, my room key didn't work 4 times. Classic.

I stayed here in April, and thought when this checkin issue happened it must have been due to some major booking, but it seems to be the norm.

So, if you are traveling, be ready for a nice room with truly crummy service and treatment of its guests from behind the safety of a 2 walls.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamKat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

IamKat5,

Let me start by saying that we completely let you down and we truly are sorry. We hate that at the very start of your arrival to our hotel it began with a negative experience and we did not find a way to take care of it right away. We also take pride in our customer service but it sounds like during your stay we did not step up to give you the best service you deserve. There were many things that you encountered that no one should have to and we want to let you know that we are disheartened that we let you down. Lastly, you taking time out of your day to review our hotel does mean a lot to us. Negative or positive, we really appreciate the review!

We do wish that we can serve you in the future! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked a stay at this hotel through a 3rd party website. When we arrived at 1:30am on a Saturday night (Sunday morning) I pulled the up the reservation info on my phone and realized that somehow we had booked the hotel on the wrong weekend!! We walked in and the hotel told us that they were booked and had no rooms for us. They told us to call the third party website to see if they would do anything because they said their hands were tied.

We called the website, who had a no cancellation policy. They in turn called the hotel to get permission to refund us our money. Thankfully the hotel understood our situation and refunded every penny. We are very grateful for this. They obviously did not have to and could of kept our money knowing we would not even be returning that weekend. Thank you to the nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Lisa L.

We are so glad we were able to accommodate you! We welcome you back at any time and we truly appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review and say such kind words.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed there for a conference. When we first arrived, the first thing out of the receptionist's mouth was, "you're too early to check in"...not even a welcome first. We had to get to the conference so we left our bags with the front desk. We came in late that night checked in and were pleased with the room. No view, just I-35, but the room was very clean and comfortable. If you are staying a long time it would be nice because of a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave, and dished and pans. You can borrow a toaster/oven from the front desk. Room service is only once a week, so be prepared to clean up after yourself. No complimentary breakfast. Our problem arose after we left. I had used my debit card when I booked the room, but my husband used his at the front desk when we checked in. The took $20 extra out of my husband's card for "incidentals," they did not warn us about, then two transactions out of my debit card ($20 and $23). That's $63 extra when we only stayed 2 nights. It took several days for my husbands to be refunded, and another day for mine. The hotel blamed our two different banks, and said they only had a "hold" on the money and had not actually removed it from our account. We could use the money no matter what you call it. Had it not been for that, we would have rated them higher. The only room complaint I had was the flat pillows. So stay there if you want to do your own cooking and cleaning, use a credit card. not a debit, and ask for a room away from I-35.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from I-35 to avoid noise. Don't use a debit card for your reservation or roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear edra45,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to note that you liked our room accommodations and the included amenities. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to front office services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Candlewood suites south of Austin were was a great stay and a great deal. Even though it was right next the highway, I didn’t have any trouble sleeping. I had a queen suite and it was great. The full sized kitchen came handy and the huge office desk was nice. It was great to have a big flat screen TV and very comfortable bed. Staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel was close to both I-35 and Hwy 71, convenient to downtown Austin and I had no trouble cutting through the neighborhood to avoid the congestion. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasSAgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSACandlewood A, Front Desk Associate at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

TexasSAgirl2013, Thank you! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again. Please call anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here for a week and it is okay, staff is friendly. Rooms have kitchen, room service is done once a week , location is good.Check in check out is easy. Check out by 12. Does not have complimentary breakfast but you can buy stuff from the pantry.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himanshu_Shruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodMGR, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Himanshu_Shruti

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We would love to invite you back in chance to raise that score to a 5. You are always welcome here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Signature Austin South Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Austin South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Austin South
Courtyard Austin South
#63 of 201 in Austin
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Austin South

Address: 4320 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78745-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Austin South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel with Studio and One Bedroom Suites located just minutes from Downtown Austin and the Austin Airport. We provide complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms and free parkingas well. We are pet friendly and have a 24 hr fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Austin South Hotel Austin
Candlewood Austin
Austin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites - Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing