We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Capital building”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.04*
and up
Capitol of Texas Segway Tour
More Info
US$37.89*
and up
Best of Austin Small-Group Guided Tour
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Ride The Segway Austin Tour
Ranked #1 of 326 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If it's in Texas, it must be bigger and better. That is the motto that architects followed with the Capitol Building in Austin. At one time, it was the tallest capitol building in the nation. Others might be taller now, but this is still a beautiful building that shows off many of the natural resources which are so prevalent in Texas, such as limestone and the landscapes.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“Beautiful Capital building”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The guided tour was wonderful, very informative; the security, a necessary evil in todays world was efficient, and non intrusive. They were glad to have visitors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,569
    1,751
    304
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another must do in Austin”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I took my kids to the (free) tour around the Capitol, not sure if they would be interested at ages 11 and 13. However our guide was superb and really brought the history to life in a humourous and informed way. The kids enjoyed the stories and the education and the echo trick! I enjoyed seeing my kids enjoying something that was not a waterpark! Definitely one to get out of the sun for an hour and really very interesting (especially if you have visited the Alamo first, as we had).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank effingpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can't go too many times”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

So much history comes alive in each visit. The tours are informative, but there is much to see on your own if you are so inclined. Do consider the tour as there are many fascinating facts to learn about the building itself. You may want to ask about sitting in to hear the legislative process if they are in session.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank darladenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool Site”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

There were plenty of cool things to look at, but it would have been better if we had gotten there early enough to get a tour. My favorite part was counting how many objects we could find that had stars on them. Make sure to look at the door hinges!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Amazing building. Great place to take pictures. Learn some Texas history. Get to see the rooms were some real decisions are made. And Free!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing