We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Austin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Austin Motel
Ranked #81 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Austin Motel. The pool was great but cold. The room was basic but that's what you are paying for. The room was clean, bathroom small, and the floor sloped... a lot. But it adds character to the place. The motel was conveniently located on the South Congress strip - so lots of choices for food. There was a great coffee shop right beside the motel for easy breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lievefamketoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    155
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
49
147
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed at Ausin Motel several time and it is always good to be back. This hotel has a perfect location right across the street from Continental club. The rooms are quite small, but clean and with a comfortable bed. Our room was renovated and in good condition. The staff is friendly and helpful. Thevpool area is nice and with towels for the guest. If you go to Austin, stay there, but book long in advance, because there is never a vacancy there if you just pass by.

Room Tip: At their internett homepage they have pictures of every room in the hotel. Go there and pick your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morten310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed from 4/11 thru 4/16. We researched the place but it was better than we expected. One of a kind place in the best possible location for what we wanted. All staff were great, especially Drew at the front desk who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. (Enjoy your VT maple syrup!) Located on South Congress Street near the Continental Club, Guero's Tacos, Mrs. P's Chicken, and lots of food trucks and music. We felt like we were part of the neighborhood and our room was super comfortable. Can't fathom how you could say anything bad about the Austin Motel unless all you were looking for was a generic Holiday Inn type experience. We loved being able to park the car and walk all over while we were there. Downtown and 6th Street within comfortable walking distance. Walking over the bridge, coming and going, was a beautiful experience. Close to miles of walking / biking paths that circle Lady Bird Lake. Can't wait to return to the Austin Motel again.

Room Tip: Unique rooms, ours was very roomy. Comfortable, clean and fairly quiet. The reservation system is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlycarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humboldt County, USA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Easy to drive to, easy to walk anywhere from, rent a bike, have a good, strong cup of coffee in the morning...Yes the rooms are spartan, dated/retro, and ... Not plush, but who cares?! We loved it. Clean, a good bed, tv, wifi, that coffee in the lobby, semi-feral cats loitering about. Plus, you are smack in the middle of thw SoCo whirlwind. Why stay at a chain when you can stay at the Austin Motel?

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wishfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Definitely a dated/retro feel, but that's the look they are going for, and surprisingly it doesn't look run down. Stayed in a king room, everything was very clean. A little nosier on the bottom floor but other than that no complaints. I can't remember the last time I stayed somewhere you could park your car right out front, but it was very convenient!

Avoided downtown hotels to get a better feel of Austin, this hotel is in a perfect location in SoCo. Close to many restaurants, a great coffee shop and places to catch some shows.

Staff were great during reservations, check-in, and during our stay. Wifi was speedy enough with good reception, faster than many big name hotels I've stayed at lately. Pool and onsite restaurant looked good but didn't get a chance to try either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the time I checked their website to the time I called to make a reservation to my 3 night stay, my experience with the Austin Motel has been really great. It's really conveniently located - with across the street from the Continental Club with loads of great restaurants around. The rooms were spacious, clean and a little funky - as advertised. I would definitely stay here again. The only disappointment was that I wanted to buy one of their t-shirts but they didn't have it in my size.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

If the object of going to Austin is to enjoy the city's unique. music and nightlife scene, this place is the perfect match. Across the street from the Continental Club and other venues are nearby in Soco. A short trip to 6th Street and Warehouse districts. The staff couldn'nt be more friendly. The buildings show their age with some quirks (our main room light only worked after dark because it was tied into the photoelectric sensor for the outdoor lights)but it was clean and comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank atbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.3 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#27 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
SoCo BnB
#20 of 35 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Property: Austin Motel
Address: 1220 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#57 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Motel opened its doors in 1938, and its landmark neon sign has been brightening South Congress Avenue ever since. This recently remodeled 41-room motel, with classic motor court exterior, is centrally located in the heart of Austin’s most interesting cultural district and is close to downtown, the Congress bat bridge and other area attractions. The iconic motel’s amenities include a swimming pool with pool bar, communal hangout spaces, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs, and complimentary parking. The 24-hour reception desk and retail store caters to guest needs, offering snacks, drinks and interesting mementos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Motel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing