We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Austin at South Park
Ranked #35 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
finz2right
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great alternative to downtown”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

A welcome change to staying downtown at about $100/night less than my last stay at a really lousy downtown hotel.

This is an older property but is well kept/updated and my room had all amenities and comforts I expect from an Omni . Austin is booming. Prices are ridiculous. This property is a great place to stay for under $200/night within view of downtown.
*I also noticed in a previous review that someone was concerned with people "living under the bridges nearby"....welcome to Austin. Don't stay downtown, I had a guy set up camp next to my car in the hotel parking garage a few trips ago. The Omni at least has good security from what I saw.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finz2right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Omni Austin at South Park, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We have 24 hours security and (fortunately) only rarely have to call upon them. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    360
    197
    68
    36
See reviews for
317
237
56
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel used to be wonderful. It's unfortunate, but those days are gone. Sewage backed up in the bathtub of one of our two rooms. They offered to move us to another room. We chose to check out early. Management offered 25% off of our room. The location is sketchy - one block away groups of transients sit under a bridge, and there is little shopping or anything else. The Omni seems to be at a different level from other Omnis -- everything is sort of run down and the hotel needs a remodel. The full sized beds are in very poor condition. We did like this hotel but cannot recommend due to possible health hazards.

Room Tip: None to offer.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
181 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This Omni is really nice and convenient for those folks who do not want to pay the crazy high prices for hotel in downtown Austin. Rooms are larger than normal and amazingly quiet being next to the interstate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTIN, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great stay for the kids. We spent two days in the pool. Rooms were great and so was the food. Get a room with a balcony. Omni staff took care of everything. This was one of the best weekend trips we have taken in recent memory. I recommend trying this location for a special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Omni Austin at South Park, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Our pool is wonderful, glad you enjoyed your time here. We love special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very pleasant stay. Would like to have access to refrigerator without a lock just to store my own items. A little noisy at the pool because of the freeway traffic. Otherwise, very nice hotel, good location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank eliztexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is 5-10 minutes south of the downtown area making it easily accessible yet quiet for a good night sleep. The general area is set in a business park so walking to eat is not an option. The service was great and the staff were friendly. Lobby bar is nice and inviting, pool is very large and well maintained. Family friendly or romantic weekend are both available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SoonerTraveler619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very Good hotel! This is a very nice hotel. The staff is extremely friendly. The pool is one of the best hotel pools ever. Nice room with plenty of size. The bathroom was adequate. The shower was great... plenty of hot water and water pressure. Really, an outstanding hotel to stay at... except... the beds are terrible! Full size beds that are like sleeping on a trampoline. My neck and back may never recover. It's a shame that a hotel that does everything so well, fails with a budget motel bed. Yes, the highway noise can be heard, but it didn't bother us. We liked the location. Yes, there are homeless people living under the interchange... but that's just an opportunity to be a good human-being and give to someone in need. I give this hotel an A- because of the poor beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbydb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Omni Austin at South Park, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry you did not like our beds. Every room in the hotel has a brand new bed as of earlier this year. Please e-mail me directly so I can find out your room number and investigate (ccoleman@omnihotels.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#54 of 203 in Austin
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin at South Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin at South Park

Property: Omni Austin at South Park
Address: 4140 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744-1048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Austin
#14 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#24 Business Hotel in Austin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin at South Park 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Austin at South Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin At South Park Hotel Austin
Omni Hotel Austin
Austin Omni
Omni Austin At South Park Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing