We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Coronado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We just got back from the hilton after a girls weekend. Aundre McCullen at the front desk made our visit perfect! He gave us fabulous recommendations for things to do and restaurants to dine at. He also made our stay so enjoyable with special personal touches he provided for us. Our room was beautiful and very clean. Great views and very close to everything that Austin has to offer. Thank you Aundre and the Hilton for a perfect weekend!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CoronadoSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear CoronadoSha,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    397
    247
    104
    58
See reviews for
130
236
79
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is at a great location if your destination is 6th street. I arrived at lunch time and asked where was a good spot for lunch. I was directed to 6th street...not really a good recommendation for a woman on her own. 6th street is full of bars, most not even open at lunch. It would have been nice to know the hotel had a restaurant on the top floor before I headed out and walked up and down 6th street. It was also a bit of a hike to get to Congress street (to see the bats on the bridge at dusk), and to attend customer meetings downtown. The main part of the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is the part that needs updating - wallpaper was curling and the ceiling had some patches that looked in the midst of half-done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Susan C,

Tthank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. We're so glad that you found our location to be desirable. We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected. Our restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, therefore, you were directed to 6th Street for lunch; I apologize that our recommendation made you feel uncomforatable as a woman traveling on her own. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Firstly, I have to say that any disappointment I feel with my stay here is not in any way staff-related. To a person, everybody I dealt with at the hotel was very helpful, friendly etc..

Check in was smooth enough, it's valet parking only so out of the car, luggage on a trolly and straight into reception. I had a little wait, but the hotel was busy and so, well, that's the way it is sometimes.

.. and, whist I remember, as it gets busy at times, it's best to factor this in when (for instance) you need your car retrieved by the valet..

The room was, well, I'd say it was OK. My rate wasn't cheap and the room I was allocated seemed a little dated and in need of a good freshen up. I got the impression that, being in a conference area, the rooms get used a lot and so it's important to keep on top of things. Everything worked, but it seemed a little tired and jaded.

I was by an elevator and, I have to say, they was some associated noise impact from that. My normal preference to be away from elevators is normally passed through with the booking but I guess that, this time, that accommodation wasn't possible.

I could not get on with the adjustable bed that was in the room (AFAIK some GI's have moved away from this?) and whatever setting I set it at seemed to mean I was stuck on one side, unable to roll on to the other side as the side I was on had set to me. If I put my side on soft, rolling over to the other felt like rolling up a hill..!!

Breakfast was pretty good and tasty and, again, good staff (not sure what value $$, though, because I get it free as Diamond Honours). The high floor location of the dining room is nice and you can look out over the city.

Location was OK. Right next to the main highway, easy enough to find, and within walking distance to all I needed. Desk staff helpful with recommendations.

Overall, the staff are great, but I would't really be tempted to stay here again unless it was fully refurbished or I got a really cheap rate…

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juninho_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Juninho_pp,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. We're so glad that you found our location to be desirable! We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected, and I apologize that we fell short of our normally high standards. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is in a quiet location and has comfortable beds. Nice resturaunt with a beautiful view and a buffet breakfast. Room could use a real bureau and bathroom could use a fan/vent for the steam. Helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Betty L. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Betty L.N,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.
Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The beds are fantastic, though I'm not sure there's anything totally different about this hotel as opposed to others in the area that are slightly cheaper. It's very nice, very comfy, free Wi-Fi (which was great!), nice view, and it's on 6th Street. But you're probably paying more for the name than the amenities. Would've been nice if they had food available longer in the day and if the pool could fit more than 3 people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Danny M,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.
Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac,MD
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable with a amazingly friendly and halpful staff. Only glitch was that parking was not free as originally stated which was Expedia problem. The hotel was wiling to waive the fee had I booked through them. And not expedia. Breakfasts great, clean hotel and super friendly. Staff

Room Tip: Don't take one overlooking the interior courtyard. I like to see if it is sunny or cloudy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psdunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear psdunner,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I was hoping this hotel was going to be near 6th street and it's right outside the door. Meaning you can easily eat and drink anything/everything you can imagine and never need to get in a car. The trip from the airport to the hotel was only about 15 minutes. The room was a great size, and the staff was nice. With the hotel being so close to all of the bars, I expected it to be loud as the nights went on, but it was never a problem at all. The only bad thing I found about the hotel was the breakfast buffet. The view from the restaurant is amazing, but the breakfast food was definitely a letdown. I would definitely stay here again. I would just eat elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear MLNC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We take tremendous pride in the service and quality of our hotel. However, I am disappointed to learn that our breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations. Reviews like yours are the ones that help us improve in areas where we have fallen short. Again, thank you for your review. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please don't hestitate to call me directly.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing