We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #45 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Two Hilton's to consider. I was at this one for a conference. Everything was above average and the conference and business facilities were excellent. Thanks to the very helpful staff. A comfortable stay at a great rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Losrobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Losrobos,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please feel free to call me directly.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family came down to Austin for the Thanksgiving game between Texas/Texas Tech. This is our (now) annual custom. For many years we would spend Thanksgiving in the State Parking Garage just every other year. I was totally satisfied with the Hilton Garden. It's location to the school, downtown dining and easy access to freeway - all excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Darla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Darla W,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please feel free to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I wanted to be walking distance from the Convention Center, and the convention hotels were full and this was just a few short blocks away; close enough to dump stuff off and go back quickly. I got a discount by paying Hilton in advance via their web site. A few minor quibbles, like not being able to set the time correctly on the room CD clock. Staff was very friendly and advice on walking routes was good, which helped keep my mood up. I loved their fruit waters in lobby; e.g. they slice up watermelon or citrus and pour cold water over it, for a refreshing infusion. High marks for that and the memory foam mattresses. The 18th floor restaurant, besides a great view, was a great value with waffles, omelets and fresh fruit part of the $12.95 breakfast buffet. Not a bad choice for convention center nearness, and I found the room rate very competitive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Joel G,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please feel free to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

During a 3 day event, Hilton raised the rate to $500.00 per night, plus $75.00 per night in taxes. Realistically, it's a $200.00 night accommodation. This is a bare-bones hotel (it's really a motel), in a sketchy area, directly across the street from a drug paraphernalia shop, and adjacent to the freeway, with strange characters loitering on the block. Hilton should remember pigs get fat, hogs get slaughtered. Stay away from this rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Lester R,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a positive stay. We always try to do everything we can to ensure that our guests receive enhanced amenities and services while we keep our prices low. We appreciate your comments and will use them in an effort to better our hotel for the future. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again the next time you're in town.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel location is Awesome and we had a great stay except one issue with the room but the Assistant Manager addressed it quickly, openly and humbly and satisfied our concerns and left a great impression for this hotel and for the Hilton Group of hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank TKMWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear TKMWorldTraveler,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The property offers everything you expect from a Hilton Garden. The room was very comfortable, the hotel was conveniently located near the convention center and the 6th Avenue district, and there was coffee and/or refreshments available in the lobby at all times. What made my stay even better was the friendly staff. They had great suggestions for local restaurants, helped arrange transportation, and were readily available if needed. I would definitely choose this site again if in Austin.

My only suggestion for improvement would be to have HBO available on the TV.

Room Tip: My room was above the beer garden from an adjacent restaurant, and was a little noisy in the late ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Dan M,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went to the FFF Fest which was at Auditorium Shores. The hotel was in a great location compared to the fest and the after parties. (also very close to the convention center if traveling for work)

6th street is very close. The upscale downtown is close too.

Cons: no safe and the bar next door was very loud at night

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WWPaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear WWPaci,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 202 in Austin
2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £70 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing