We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGI Austin 5th St. - Always good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
TX
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“HGI Austin 5th St. - Always good”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had another stay at the HGI Austin Convention Center. Always a good time.
- Staff is friendly and helpful
- Excellent morning coffee/tea bar in lobby
- Beer Garden out back with 20+ beers on tap and 3 ping-pong tables
- Walk to Rainey St., new upscale bar/restaurant area
- Park in Convention Center garage for $10 overnight weekend rate (must be out by 10AM)
- HH Gold breakfast on 18th floor is great plus 3 sided city view.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Park in Austin Convention Center lot. Do not valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactus_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Cactus_pete!

Thank you for your amazing review and highlighted all the great amenities and services we provide as well as Austin. We are a very unique Hilton Garden Inn and take tremendous pride in providing superior service to you and every guest that stays with us. Thank you for your Hilton loyalty and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    397
    247
    104
    59
See reviews for
130
236
79
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We were treated like royalty from the time we checked in until the moment we left. Thanks for offering a safe, clean and friendly environment for our business trip! The front check in staff were also very professional!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Good Morning Ms. Sharon R!

Thank you for your outstanding review from your most recent stay and conference that you attended at our hotel. We truly appreicate your positive comments and our team is always at your service. We look forward to seeing you back very soon and have a great week!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and thought the downtown area would be livelier in the day time and much more going on, but it seemed to be on the quiet side. Although, it is a great location for downtown nightlife. We also traveled outside of the downtown area seeking food trucks and scenic views. The hotel is right off the highway which is very convenient. The rooms are standard, comfortable, clean, and has a Keurig! Their breakfast buffet was delicious. The parking, valet only, was very expensive, around $26 a night (website now says $30)! Whoa! We opted to park on the street right outside the hotel. There is actually ample parking right outside of the hotel. It made us a little nervous to not know if we would find parking, but we did every time, getting back around 5-7 pm. There are parking meters that are in effect during the day though, so just had to keep in mind to wake up early and pay those meters. This hotel was a great stay overall, really enjoyed Austin!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Schen8,

We appreciate your review and are pleased to hear that you had a great time in Austin. We look forward to being at your service on your next trip to Austin and if there is ever anything we can to to be of assistance, please let us know.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I really liked Austin a lot, very cool, friendly people, in my top three favorite US cities.
This facility has constant noise from the interstate that it overlooks, I was on the side and still got a lot of noise.
On my second night, some kind of ska/reggae club blasted music until almost 3am just below my room.
On the third night there was some kind of accident on the interstate and emergency vehicles swarmed from miles, also at 3am
I barely slept my whole stay.
The sad thing is, I had a rental car, I could and should have commuted in each morning, especially since the mandatory valet parking is $28 per day.
The rooms are a bit stale, the remote control for my TV was nastily sticky
My room was adjoined to another room and there was a large gap at the bottom of the door with light shining in. Not very private.
I remember noticing that the light switches were filthy, especially in the bathroom. Years of grime build up.
I stopped for fuel across the street on my last night, which seemed to bring out the panhandlers, two different people asked me for money.
Will avoid the hotel and the section of town altogether in future.

Room Tip: West facing rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear MCLimey -

We apologize for the poor level of services and amenities that you were expecting during your stay. We are addressing the issues you mentioned with our staff. The next time you're in the area we hope you would consider staying with us again.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WNY
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Recently had a meeting at this hotel in downtown Austin near the convention center. The staff are friendly and helpful. It was a good hotel, not great, but good. What would make it better would be the restaurant being improved. Has a fantastic view of the city and I love the breakfast buffet! The dinner is ok, but could be much improved. Service was great everywhere there. Our meeting room was good and the staff very helpful. My room overlooked some construction which started early and ended late. Nothing the hotel could do about that! I do recommend it for being near the music on 6th Avenue, within walking distance!

Room Tip: Anywhere high and away from the construction across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainewny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear elainewny!

Thank you for your review and outstanding comments from your most recent stay with us. We appreicate your business and look forward to seeing you back soon!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here for around 10 days for both business and a bit of down time. The location of the hotel is perfect, there are plenty of places to eat and or drink (Easy Tiger next to the hotel) and some nice sites to see around the city such as Congress. The rooms are standard specification to be honest, but were always clean and well serviced. The bed was also extremely comfortable.
Staff were exceptionally helpful as well as efficient both at the front of house and at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1sUnderPressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear 1sUnderPressure,

We truly appreicate your excellent review from your most recent stay with us and thank you for your loyalty! Our team takes tremendous pride in providing superior hospitality and we look forward to your return. Have a wonderful day!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stopped 6 nights on a business trip; location in downtown Austin excellent for restaurants and bars; staff really helpful and friendly and the food was great. Rooms clean and comfortable although looking just a little tired in places - nonetheless would recommend to others and will stop here again next time I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Andy W,

Thank you for your outstanding review and we look forward to seeing you return very soon! If there is ever anything that I can do to be of service, please let me know. Have a wonderful day!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing