We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Driskill(Austin)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Habitat Suites Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Austin Motel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
477
431
259
108
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
431
259
108
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseasy tigertop floorvalet parkingwithin walking distanceper nightsixth streetnice hotelaustin downtownnight lifebreakfast buffettwo blocksvalet servicebars and restaurantslocation is greatbusiness tripwould definitely stay here againcapitol building
Filter
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and I would say overall it was a good place to stay. My son's band, Welcome to Wednesday, was there to record at Orb studios so we weren't really there for all of the action on 6th
street. Our room was loud with traffic and sirens till about 2am but that was to be expected due to the location. The beds were very comfortable! Also the only parking was a $29 a night valet which is pretty expensive. The location of the breakfast buffet, on the 18th floor, was an awesome view of downtown Austin. Overall this hotel is a good place to stay if you're wanting to take advantage of being within walking distance of all of the things the Austin music scene has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Riverrush!

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review from your most recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments as this allows us to improve our products and services for you and all future guest. We continue to work with the City of Austin in regards to the noise from the live music to reduce the decimals that carry throughout downtown. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had another stay at the HGI Austin Convention Center. Always a good time.
- Staff is friendly and helpful
- Excellent morning coffee/tea bar in lobby
- Beer Garden out back with 20+ beers on tap and 3 ping-pong tables
- Walk to Rainey St., new upscale bar/restaurant area
- Park in Convention Center garage for $10 overnight weekend rate (must be out by 10AM)
- HH Gold breakfast on 18th floor is great plus 3 sided city view.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Park in Austin Convention Center lot. Do not valet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactus_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Cactus_pete!

Thank you for your amazing review and highlighted all the great amenities and services we provide as well as Austin. We are a very unique Hilton Garden Inn and take tremendous pride in providing superior service to you and every guest that stays with us. Thank you for your Hilton loyalty and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We were treated like royalty from the time we checked in until the moment we left. Thanks for offering a safe, clean and friendly environment for our business trip! The front check in staff were also very professional!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Good Morning Ms. Sharon R!

Thank you for your outstanding review from your most recent stay and conference that you attended at our hotel. We truly appreicate your positive comments and our team is always at your service. We look forward to seeing you back very soon and have a great week!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and thought the downtown area would be livelier in the day time and much more going on, but it seemed to be on the quiet side. Although, it is a great location for downtown nightlife. We also traveled outside of the downtown area seeking food trucks and scenic views. The hotel is right off the highway which is very convenient. The rooms are standard, comfortable, clean, and has a Keurig! Their breakfast buffet was delicious. The parking, valet only, was very expensive, around $26 a night (website now says $30)! Whoa! We opted to park on the street right outside the hotel. There is actually ample parking right outside of the hotel. It made us a little nervous to not know if we would find parking, but we did every time, getting back around 5-7 pm. There are parking meters that are in effect during the day though, so just had to keep in mind to wake up early and pay those meters. This hotel was a great stay overall, really enjoyed Austin!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Schen8,

We appreciate your review and are pleased to hear that you had a great time in Austin. We look forward to being at your service on your next trip to Austin and if there is ever anything we can to to be of assistance, please let us know.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I really liked Austin a lot, very cool, friendly people, in my top three favorite US cities.
This facility has constant noise from the interstate that it overlooks, I was on the side and still got a lot of noise.
On my second night, some kind of ska/reggae club blasted music until almost 3am just below my room.
On the third night there was some kind of accident on the interstate and emergency vehicles swarmed from miles, also at 3am
I barely slept my whole stay.
The sad thing is, I had a rental car, I could and should have commuted in each morning, especially since the mandatory valet parking is $28 per day.
The rooms are a bit stale, the remote control for my TV was nastily sticky
My room was adjoined to another room and there was a large gap at the bottom of the door with light shining in. Not very private.
I remember noticing that the light switches were filthy, especially in the bathroom. Years of grime build up.
I stopped for fuel across the street on my last night, which seemed to bring out the panhandlers, two different people asked me for money.
Will avoid the hotel and the section of town altogether in future.

Room Tip: West facing rooms only
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear MCLimey -

We apologize for the poor level of services and amenities that you were expecting during your stay. We are addressing the issues you mentioned with our staff. The next time you're in the area we hope you would consider staying with us again.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews