We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not choose this location again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
texas
1 review
“Would not choose this location again.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Traveled here for a week long business trip. The location of this hotel is its saving grace. It is very conveniently located to offices/convention center. As this is a "valet only" hotel--getting your vehicle is not a quick process --everyone has to wait for the two valet employees--called ahead from room and still waited 20 minutes once I got down to the drive, (30 total mins). The rooms are very outdated and the mattresses will give you a back ache for days, sheets are thread bare. Air conditioner works great, but is extremely loud (nothing is "wrong" upon inspection--just old & noisy).
Nice to have a microwave, fridge and keurig in the room--one nice perk!
Ive stayed at other Hilton's in the area and this is sub-par to those--choose 4th st. location if available! Considering moving to another hotel mid week!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mross11511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mross11511,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    400
    247
    104
    60
See reviews for
131
237
79
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great hotel in a good location for conference center. Near to 6th Street, but not too near for the noise to be sleep-disturbing. Very nice rooms and a great breakfast with a view of the city. Staff were all pleasant and room was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Malcolm M,

I am happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon…safe travels.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice hotel and location. A majority of the hotel staff is friendly however the breakfast employees weren't so friendly on a few of the mornings we were there. Nice rooms. Fitness center needs better ventilation but is nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry your experience did not offer you the quality of service you deserve. We strive to give exceptional service every day, for every guest; I sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay. At Hilton Garden Inn, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. You Can Count On Us. Guaranteed.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a horrible trip into Austin, I arrived late in the evening at the hotel expecting to check in quickly and flop into bed. Instead, I found my room had been given away and I had no place to stay. I was told (rather rudely), "I don't know what to tell you." After an unpleasant exchange with the night audit front desk employee, I was finally found a room at another Hilton a few miles away. I was made to feel as an imposition for having any expectation of having a room despite having a reservation - and incidentally being a diamond member of the Hilton loyalty program. This is even more galling considering I would have most certainly been charged for a room had I not arrived - even though they sold out and had no rooms left! There are so many other lovely hotel options in Austin, all just as conveniently located to the downtown attractions. Go there. Avoid this place - you may show up to find you do not have a room and the rude staff won't even care.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIFOSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear RIFOSTER,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry you were relocated due to unexpected stay overs that occurred the day of your arrival. We value your loyalty to our brand and truly appreciate your elite status with Hilton and we had no intentions to make your travels more difficult into Austin. At Hilton Garden Inn, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. You Can Count On Us. Guaranteed.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

the front desk personne were terrible, they were not friendly, not accommodating, reported problems and they really could care less, no follow up to ensure prblem was taken care of, beds were horrible...supposed to be some type of sleep number bed but there was no remote, some type of dial on side that did not work...left with my back hurting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sylvia Gant:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Blue HHonors member, you are our most valued guest. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We are receiving all new beds by the end of August and we will not have the air baffle beds that we currently have. We are upgrading to the full service Hilton serta mattresses to ensure you do receive a great night of sleep. At Hilton Garden Inn, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. You Can Count On Us. Guaranteed.


Sincerely,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown
blake.doran2@hilton.com
512-457-7900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbert, WA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I spent four nights during the summer storms of July. Clean, nice facility; very friendly staff always looking to help its guests; very convenient to the Sixth Street action and most of the downtown restaurants. The Sixth Street area always has something going on, even in the morning. From my room window, I did get to watch an arrest of a runner into a construction site followed by four of Austin's finest, the handcuffs and etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColbertGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ColbertGD,

I am happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon…safe travels.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the restaurant and lounge on the 18th floor had a fantastic view of the city. i would stay there any time I am in Austin. Very central to downtown and the action of 6th street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank cfinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear cfinnie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to experience 18 Over Austin with a view! I will be sure to share your comments with our team. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing