We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Lovely and Personal Experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"A Lovely and Personal Experience"”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Liz and Eric are still new to the B&B business, and they are busting their butts to make your stay comfortable. They are bright, well organized and neat as a pin. My ONLY problem was that the Internet wi-fi signal did not consistently reach our bungalow 20 yards from the main house. They know about this problem, however, and are working on it. Other than that, no complaints. Reliable housekeeping, home-made granola and muffins, lots of trees on the property. Convenient to good restaurants - walking distance - and a grocery store. Neighborhood is quiet except for the Great Tailed Krackle birds, but I personally got a kick out of watching them. By all means, stay at Adams House. High fives to Liz and Eric!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
We love our guests from the north!

In response to the internet connection: we upgraded our Wi-Fi router so the internet is readily and easily available in the bungalow as well as the entire property. I spent a few hours walking around with my laptop so it reaches everywhere!

We are so glad you chose to stay with us and we hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Best,
Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
110
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We loved the tree-lined streets of Hyde Park, the friendliness of our hosts at the Adams House and the fact that we were within two blocks of several good restaurants, a grocery store and Antonelli's (a wonderful cheese and charcuterie store). It was a perfect location to rendez-vous with old friends. The Adams Suite was particularly nice because it gave us a large air conditioned and very appealing Sun Room to sit around in while avoiding the 105 degree heat outside. In cooler moments we also enjoyed the outdoor sitting area with its overhead fans.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dond48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We've stayed in several B&B's and never found one that measured up to expectations.
Liz and Eric are gracious hosts. Their house is very clean, decorated with antiques, and located 5 minutes from the heart of downtown Austin. Eric isan excellent cook, serving breakfasts equal to food found in a 4 star + hotel. Eric is very good with directions, local history, and especially familiar with local night life. If ever in Austin do yourself a favor and stay at Adams House.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intruder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Adams House is a warm and comfortable B&B in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to restaurants and public transportation.
The rooms are clean, the breakfasts were great and the staff is friendly and helpful with information about places to go and things to do.
All of the other guests that we met had stayed at Adams House which tell you something.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan_Galvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our hosts were warm and gracious. We picked this place out of the blue because it is near our son's apartment in the Austin Hyde Park neighborhood. Our suite was beautiful, the house was very nice and the breakfasts were great. I'm sure we'll make another visit as long as our son continues to live in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My wife Dyan and I (and two good friends) recently spent 6 nights at the Adams House. The B&B is in a tree-lined, historic residential neighborhood (Hyde Park), but very convenient to the downtown area by bus or car. (The neighborhood itself has many excellent shops and restaurants, and a good sculpture museum.)

Adams House is clean, quiet and comfortable, with the charm of an historic house that has been lovingly restored and maintained. (We live in an historic house also, and can appreciate what the owners of Adams House have done.) But the best part of the stay was meeting Liz and Eric, who operate the B&B. We had never been to Austin (a shameful admission!). They gave us great tips, from how to get places, to where to go for "real" BBQ and Tex Mex, the best places to experience Austin live music (Eric is a mean drummer, and we got to see him play as well!), and the most interesting wineries and day-trips. Who knew the Austin area had great wineries? There is no way we could have had such a fantastic time in Austin relying just on our guidebooks. Liz and Eric are the best, friendliest Austin "guidebooks" you could ever have. They are why people stay at B&Bs. And if you're in Austin for the music, Eric is the man you need to talk to.

Breakfasts were varied and delicious. We met wonderful people at the breakfast table, some of whom we hope to see again. We have stayed at many, many B&Bs over the years (the only way to travel). Adams House is right at the very top of the list. We rely on "Trip Advisor" reviews in selecting where to stay. As favorable as the reviews are
for Adams House, you just can't appreciate how good it is until you stay there. We will most definitely be back -- if they'll take us! Richard Rook, Sheldonville, MA

Room Tip: Elizabet Ney room is good value and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrhoya69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

First Bed & Breakfast we have stayed in and will not be the last one. Excellent service, room and great owners. You will not be disapoited with this B&B.

Thank you Liz and Eric, will see you again.....

Room Tip: Adam Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodri_jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
6.7 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 199 in Austin
288 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 199 in Austin
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 199 in Austin
1,874 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams House Bed And Breakfast Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing