We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Liz and Eric were wonderful hosts and we will definitely stay here on any future trips to Austin. The inn was quiet, comfortable and we wished we could have stayed longer. Eric cooked us a wonderful breakfast in addition to the yummy granola, fruit and yogurt. The location was perfect for us and parking was a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadowfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
112
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My stay at Adams House exceeded all expectations. Eric and Liz made me feel as if they had known me for years. They were extremely accomodating-extending breakfast service so my sleepy daughter had her morning meal, suggesting favorite restaurants, and allowing me to extend my stay at the last minute. The only negative was that I had to return to my reality (and to cooking my own breakfast). The house is immaculate, bedding comfortable and location convenient to the UT campus. I did not find the neighborhood to be noisy, however I live in an urban area and am not particularly sensitive to the sound of traffic. Be aware that there are no TV's in the bedrooms-a plus for me but possibly an issue for others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natal152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit! It might be slightly cooler then.
: -)

~Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We shared one night at the Adams House with our friends from Sweden. They were so impressed with the beauty and comfort of the rooms and the delicious breakfast prepared by Eric in the morning. This is a lovely house and Liz and Eric are most charming hosts. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thanks folks! I enjoyed the breakfast conversation and it's always fun to meet people from other parts of Texas and the world. Please do come and see us again!

~Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Adams House while moving her to UT. The accommodations are lovely and comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious, but, most importantly, Liz and Eric and their staff make you feel as if you are visiting old friends. They helped with restaurant recommendations and shopping advice. The rooms are beautifully furnished with antiques, but have been updated with modern conveniences. The location is perfect for getting downtown, to the Capitol, UT campus or north and west to the lake country. We hope to make this our home away from home in Austin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The only downfall of this B&B is that i was awaken several times by traffic the night of my Saturday stay, was not so of any of the other nights. Great breakfast every morning! Beautiful home. Friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theGtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi folks! Thanks so much for staying with us and sorry for the late reply - we have been super busy with projects, a constant full house, and even a little vacation for us!
I wanted to first apologize for the stairs. We had some folks that had to get to their flight SUPER early that morning and unfortunately they were traipsing up and down the stairs several times. In the wake of this we had our contractor come out and reassess the staircase. Thinking there was not anything that could be done his worker simply screwed down the center of each stair and voila! No more creaky stairs!
Secondly thanks again for telling us about it and we hope that when you come back you would consider staying with us again - we'd love to see you. Thanks again!
~Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here one day while visiting family on short notice. Not only did we have no trouble getting our room with only a day in advance warning, the room was absolutely lovely with all the necessities thought out. I would definitely go back again for a longer stay, the location is perfect and you are close enough to go out but far enough away to have a quiet evening. Service is very personal, and you truly feel like a guest.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hyde Park room, which is a small but very reasonably priced room with charming deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have been coming to Austin and staying at Adams House B&B almost since it opened; probably 12 years. We were just there again, last weekend. It now is run by the owner's daughter and son-in-law and they are continuing to keep it updated and with the same warm, inviting, clean, comfortable atmosphere. The beds are comfortable, the location is Hyde Park, and the best part of all are the weekend breakfasts!

Room Tip: There are both large rooms/suites as well as small, very reasonably priced rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJSSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#3 of 203 in Austin
376 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#37 of 203 in Austin
355 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams House Bed And Breakfast Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing