We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved this beautiful Bed & Breakfast. In a great location to walk for dinner and drinks, and such great personal touches by the staff. The homemade breakfast is divine! Our new yearly vacation spot in Austin!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Howdy folks!
Thanks for the great review! It is always our pleasure to take care of our guests and we agree 100% - being able to walk to restaurants and places to get a cocktail is a beautiful thing. We look forward to your return!

Best,
Liz & Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed one night during the week (in the Hyde Park room) so I could attend a concert at Austin City Limits Live. Coming off of Hwy 71 (which is how one would come from the airport), the place is easy, breezy to find. Located in an older, quiet neighborhood, but one where people go out and walk, walk their pets, etc. A place where people go out and *live*. Just down the road, however, is plenty to see and do. Getting to ACL was so straightforward from Adams House. Guadalupe St is just blocks away, and the parking garage I use for ACL is right off this street (the City Hall parking garage, right next door to ACL (by a block) and $5 to park, at least during the week). After the concert, right there on the way back on Guadalupe, is Kirby Lane Cafe. Their migas is *deeelish* and I also had some lemon-poppy french toast. The perfect spot for a post concert meal. There is a small refrigerator at Adams House, so I was able to bring back leftovers. Back in my room late, I don't recall hearing any guests, and in the morning, the water was hot for my mid-morning shower. The bed is really comfortable (for me), but the mattress might be a bit firm for those who like sleeping on something more forgiving. I slept like a baby, though. The breakfast at Adams House was *really* good - homemade granola, yogurt, fruit, quiche, biscuits, jam, coffee, tea, etc. The other guests were fun to talk with, and just added to the stay. I would *definitely* stay again based on the fabulous hosts, Liz and Eric (who will have the lowdown on the music scene in Austin, just ask), the room, the neighborhood, the breakfasts, and the easy access to the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz_work2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Glad you found us and glad you enjoyed the concert. "The National" was all abuzz on Facebook the next day so you know how to pick great music. Come back and see us anytime, especially if you can stay longer! Thanks for the kind words and for writing a great review!

Best,
Liz & Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Adams House for 5 nights in April. This place is in a GREAT location because it is NOT located in the bustling downtown, but only a short drive to get there. It is located in the Hyde Park neighborhood which is a charming area complete with restaurants, a small grocery store, gas station and bakery with in walking distance. We ate at The Hyde Park Grill, and Quacks Bakery multiple times and ate at the vegan/vegetarian friendly Mother's Cafe once.

The B&B itself is lovely. Decorated nicely, clean rooms and common areas, and ample parking. The breakfasts are delicious and the homemade granola is amazing. My only suggestion would be to offer a choice for breakfast or switch between a sweet and savory dish each morning. I'm from New England, "the land of B&B's" so I have always liked the breakfast option and/ or variety in the B&B's I have stayed at throughout New England. Please don't take that as a negative, the food was fantastic.

Stay here! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Laura and Mike,

We enjoyed having you both stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time in Austin. Hyde Park is such a fun neighborhood and we are so glad you were able to experience some of the restaurants in walking distance. It is always fun to talk with other musicians as well!

Thank you for your additional tips on breakfast. We are always open for new ideas as our breakfasts change daily. We often share our recipes with other guests so if you have anything that you really love please email it to us and we will be happy try it out! Stay tuned for updates on our granola as well.

Take care and hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I finally enjoyed the delights of Adams House. Over the years, UT football games, graduations, Austin City Limits music fest, SxSW, 5K races, Adams House has always been booked. I am glad to report, I finally made it to Adams House! I have stayed in almost all the B & B properties in Austin, and I enjoyed this one the most. The Innkeepers, Eric and Liz are very nice and make you feel like family. Bed and linens were comfortable. Eric cooked breakfast of mushroom quiche, fruit, homemade granola, and a jam filled popover, which was delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness, and melt in your mouth texture. I certainly hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaTravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Linda. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you were able to stay with us and we enjoyed having you here. What an honor to by your favorite Austin B&B! We would love to have you stay with us the next time you are back in Austin. Also- thank you so much for the darling Valentine's bag with delicious heart-shaped cookies. They were so good and you inspired us to make some that week for our guests as well. Take care and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Adams house is located in the Hyde Park area of Austin just to the north of the University of Texas. There are restaurants, a grocery store and cheese shops within easy walking distance. We enjoyed the restaurant Asti just down the street. Although our room and bathroom were small, innkeepers Eric and Liz had put some thoughtful planning into them, and they were,for the most part, comfortable and efficient. But the bed was the highlight of the space...comfortable with lovely sheets...we sleep well. The shower was also nice. But, by far, the best part was the breakfast. One to really set you out on your day with a great start. Homemade granola, with yogurt and fruit, a variety of quiches and frittatas and fabulous biscuits and muffins. Eric was also very helpful with directions and ideas on how to access Austin's rich music scene. Overall, a very great stay!

Room Tip: Spring for the largest room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbschmelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Howdy folks! Thanks for the nice comments! We look forward to seeing you again at the Adams House!
~Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Adam's House right after getting married, and it was the perfect place to unwind and let the joy of the day soak in. We stayed in the bungalow, and we loved everything about our experience. The bungalow was roomy, comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated. Liz and Eric were very sweet and made us a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Elisa,
Thans for the excellent review! We are so happy you chose to spend your wedding night with us. Please come see us for your first anniversary!

Best wishes,
Eric & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Take yourselves out of the hubbub of Downtown Austin and move on up to the Adams House in the Hyde Park neighborhood, where innkeepers Eric and Liz will take good care of you. This historic district B&B offers a quiet uptown location a short walk from several restaurants, bars and coffee shops. The breakfasts at the Adams House are lovingly prepared and delicious, especially their home made baked goods and granola. The room we stayed in, the Monroe Shipe, was clean, quiet (albeit on the small side) and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Howdy Folks!
Thanks for the nice words - we sure enjoyed visiting with you about Austin and the surrounding areas. If you make it back to Austin on a more permanent basis please let us know!

Best,
Liz and Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 201 in Austin
1,277 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairview
#2 of 36 in Austin
164 reviews
East Austin
Heywood Hotel
Heywood Hotel
#5 of 36 in Austin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: £127 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adams House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams House Bed And Breakfast Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing