We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas family gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Ranked #9 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mcallen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Christmas family gathering”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We had two adjoining rooms at the this four seasons right after Christmas for three nights and had a beautiful stay. All of the employees, from the doorman to the housekeepers are so friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Our room was very comfy with a wonderful view of Lady Bird Lake! It was chilly at night so they had the chimineas lit outside. My husband and I went out and enjoyed the lanterns hanging from the trees and the fire from the chimineas to keep us warm in the evenings. The work out room is well equipped and my husband LOVED the wet sauna that was complimentary. The gingerbread village was set up in the lobby and the Texas style Christmas tree made the holiday very festive. I would love to make this visit to the four seasons a holiday tradition for our family.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 385kellyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I’m thrilled to hear you joined us over the holidays with your family and that you received such helpful service during your stay. Your experience on the back lawn - among the lanterns and chimineas - is just the kind of peaceful experience we strive to provide for our guests, so it makes my day to hear that you enjoyed it. Please do join us sometime again; we’d love to be a part of your family’s holiday tradition!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    267
    133
    46
    11
See reviews for
300
379
65
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It ius nice to be so close to the action in downtown Austin plus the view of the lake (river) is beautiful. The drinks were strong and the food delicious. Plus, I always love the luxurious sheets on the beds!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location in the hubbub of Austin as well as our various food outlets. I have to say the hotel bedding is a favorite feature of mine as well! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay - I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The rooms are large and comfortable and dated. The hotel is small but nice in the commom areas. The details and service were excellent. The food was always high quality and well done. The view is nice and the spa was small a bit dated but the services were of high quality. But at $450-$500 a night you would probally get a better room at a courtyard at 20% of the cost. Get a room on the 8th or 9th floor. It was clean and well staffed, just needs a facelift, for those prices, is what it really needs.

Room Tip: 8th or 9th floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear pkmcallen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin- we sincerely appreciate all the thoughts and comments from our guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay most recently, and that the environment, the food and the spa services met your expectations. I understand your feelings on the hotel seeming “dated” which is why I’m excited to report that we are undergoing a room renovation strategy in 2014 that is already in progress. I invite you to visit us again this year and see the new improvements first hand!

Until then,

Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Got to th e room, the check in clerk did not know anything about our accommodation credits...not good. Then there were ants all over the dresser where they had put some dried fruit! I assumed the health dept required treatments for ants. The room was small, dated, and only one sink. Not up to four seasons standards, but they still charged us over $500 a night. I'm sure you can do better downtown

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Walt1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Gregg,
Thank you for taking the time to share your frustration regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. The plate of dried fruit in your room was intended as a welcome amenity, but arriving to ants was certainly not the welcome you expected or we intended, and for that I apologize. We frequently provide welcome amenities in guest rooms upon arrival and I can assure you we have not had an issue with ants in the past so I'm confident this was an isolated incident.

With regard to your other feedback, I am pleased to share that we are currently in the midst of finalizing our 2014 plans for a guest room and bathroom remodel, which should more than address your concerns. We are excited to unveil the new look and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

In the meantime, please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any additional feedback or would like to discuss your comments in more detail.
Sincerely,
Ed Gannon
Hotel Manager
(512) 685-8037
ed.gannon@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
309 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our second visit to this Four Seasons in the past several years. The rooms were okay but not special. We did not upgrade to anything special, which may account for that. I don't recall if we stayed in a larger room or suite the last time. The hotel itself is in a nice location and it is easy to walk to some good shopping and dining spots. Concierge was very helpful in suggesting great restaurants and securing reservations. The lobby has a nice ambiance that seems appropriate for Austin even though it isn't as magnificent as others.

Room Tip: I guess I would suggest that you upgrade to something other than a basic room. And a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Suzy,

Thank you for your review; we truly appreciate every bit of feedback from our guests. I’m pleased to read you found our location prime for shopping and dining in downtown Austin and that our Concierge staff was helpful and accommodating to your needs. As for accommodations, I’m sorry to hear you found your room to be just “okay,” however, I’m happy to report that we are currently undergoing renovations to help secure that “special” touch. I hope you’ll join us again this year and allow us the opportunity to show off our new improvements!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This has become an annual event for my daughter, granddaughter & myself. We visited the day after Christmas and had a wonderful afternoon. Service impeccable w delicious scones and tiny sweets as well as many different choices of
Mighty Leaf tea sachets. What's not to love. Highly recommend .

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingnurse055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Travelingnurse055,

Thank you for taking a moment to share some feedback from your recent tea experience with us at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m delighted to hear Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge has become an annual event for your family and that this past experience did not disappoint. I look forward to passing along your compliments to the staff - the scones served at tea are a personal favorite of mind as well! We hope to welcome you again next year, if not sooner.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you have to spend Christmas in a hotel in Austin, this is the place. It is a beautiful property and has live music and thus a lively bar even on Christmas night.The staff (except for the doorman) is extremely cordial and welcoming. Room service is fast and accurate. Choose a room with a view of the lake and you will love the view, night and day. Location is great as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallas101_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 203 in Austin
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4082
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Seasons Hotel Austin, luxurious accommodations and superb amenities are underlined by gracious Texas hospitality and five-star service. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Austin, perched on the shores of Lady Bird Lake and surrounded by lush gardens, the resort-like Hotel provides a convenient base for those looking to experience all the city has to offer, from upscale shopping on 2nd Street and dining on South Congress to sightseeing and outdoor pursuits on the adjacent Lady Bird Lake Hike & Bike Trail. A combination of comfort and elegance, the Hotel's 291 guest rooms - including 28 suites - offer views of either the lake or Austin's vibrant downtown cityscape. Services such as twice-daily housekeeping, in-room dining, dry cleaning and laundry and a 24-hour Concierge ensure guests enjoy a stress-free and productive stay. Diners savor prime steaks, fresh seafood and a world-class wine list in TRIO, the Hotel's award-winning modern steakhouse, featuring a chic dining room as well as unparalleled al fresco dining on the restaurant's lakeview terrace. Known locally as "Austin's Living Room," the Lobby Lounge offers guests a convenient spot to gather with friends for beer, wine, signature cocktails and light fare, or a post-dinner nightcap complete with live music, which is offered several nights a week. Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation can spend the day in the outdoor saltwater pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center or relaxing with a soothing massage, body treatment or facial in The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing