We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change it to Two Seasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Ranked #8 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Change it to Two Seasons”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Not at all what I expected. We came in for the Austin Marathon thought we would need nothing short of superior service to help us recover from the run. I was immediately turned off when I saw that I needed to pay $9/day for wireless internet access. I fail to understand how I can get free internet at Starbucks but get raped for $9/day at the Four Seasons. It's insulting... add it to the cost of the room because charging extra makes you a Marriott. Secondly, after the race... around 1pm... there is no bar open near the pool??? Really?? I need to go inside and upstairs and sit in the lobby to get a beer? Wow. Finally... I called down for an additional bar of soap in the bathroom (it accidentally slipped out of my hands in into the toilet...) and 3 days went by and the never replaced it. The soap?? Next time I'm in Austin I'm staying at the Driskel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlala7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    270
    133
    46
    12
See reviews for
303
383
65
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Stayed here for three nights with my spouse, who was on a buisness trip. You can't really beat the location (albeit there are a cluster of hotels in the same area) - you are steps away from the lakeside path, close to the "bat bridge," and within easy walking distance of many restaurants and music spots. That being said, I registered immediate surprise that this was a Four Seasons property (having seen several others). The common spaces and hotel restaurant (Trio) are very nice, but nothing exceptional. Our lake-facing room (on the 6th floor) was really nothing above and beyond what you would get in a very nice Hilton or Sheraton. Excepting for the very nice bed linens, the room was quite small, the decor was ho-hum, and there were dust-bunnies hanging from the popcorn ceiling. Also, our view was cluttered by a huge set of electric lines running across the lake-side of the property. We were told by one employee that the hotel was originally built to be a Marriott, that something happened, and that Four Seasons took it over and finished. That would explain the size of the rooms, but perhaps not the way they are finished. We also were told that blocks of rooms were being "updated," but that we were not in one of those. Anyway, in the best of all worlds, they really should do what some hotels trying to justify their high-end status have done - you take a block of three rooms and turn them into two rooms by using the middle room as the space for two new bathrooms and closets.
Ending on a more positive note, this hotel definitely aspires to Four Seasons-level service and generally gets there. The front desk, concierge, and restaurant staff were all very accommodating. The spa/locker room seemed understaffed on the morning I was there - a bunch of robes, slippers, wet towels, etc. were littered around - plus one shower faucet was falling off the wall (really hard-to-use old Kohler shower systems). But again, the spa staff were extremely professional.
All said, I would go back again - just don't expect the full Four Seasons experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxandread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Had a great stay till we checked out. Our flight was later in the day so we left our luggage at the concierge. We came back to get the luggage on our way to the airport and my bag was missing. They had loaded it into another guest's car without checking the name tag. My bag ended up in Ft Worth! I expect far better from a Four Seasons! On top of all that they said it would arrive at my house the next day and it didn't.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dms1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax VA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I hosted a week-long series of meetings for over 200 attendees. The service was beyond impeccable - I heard numerous compliments for both large and small ways the staff made us comfortable. I worked with dozens of staff people, and they were uniformly helpful and cheerful - not once did I hear "no we can't do that". Additionally, the food from banquet services was far better than other hotels I've used.

As an example, on Wednesday afternoon I asked if we could have Thursday lunch on the lawn instead of the dining room, since the daytime temperature was nice. Not only did they make the switch without a complaint, but no additional charge (unlike other hotels), and they even gave me an opportunity an hour before to change my mind back when the wind kicked up.

One member of my group forgot the charger for his laptop. He went to the concierge desk which lent him a replacement (free!) that fit his model - most hotels wouldn't have had a stock, and even if they did would have charged for it. That made a big impression!

Location is very nice, on the lake, with great hiking and biking trails just outside the door. (And the hotel rents bikes, which are in good condition.) It's just a few blocks walk to the music and dining areas.

Yes, it's not quite as luxurious as other Four Seasons hotels. But having the outstanding service was far more important than a huge hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyInFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The Four Seasons over Thanksgiving weekend was just excellent. The hotel was full, and the staff tested to the maximum by football families, reunions and a wedding. They were great. The hotel has been renovated over the years, but things like the modestly sized bathrooms can not be changed. However, everything is of highest quality (they're not using this quality of marble or fixtures in the newer Four Seasons, or anywhere else for example), and the service is head and shoulders above everything else in Austin, if not the entire state.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This property has the excellent service one expects of a "Four Seasons" but the 5 star experience stops there. Very average rooms, tiny pool and the location, well, lets just say it looks a lot better on the website. All in all I can't say I would stay here again, it is not worth the difference in price from one of the chain business hotels in town. Of course, if you get a price.....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

All of the staff went above and beyond to help make the wedding a success. They were always helpful and thoughtful, taking care of everything from cars to steaming the tuxes and wedding dress. Even putting the top of the wedding cake in the freezer after the party.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,345 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4082
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Seasons Hotel Austin, luxurious accommodations and superb amenities are underlined by gracious Texas hospitality and five-star service. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Austin, perched on the shores of Lady Bird Lake and surrounded by lush gardens, the resort-like Hotel provides a convenient base for those looking to experience all the city has to offer, from upscale shopping on 2nd Street and dining on South Congress to sightseeing and outdoor pursuits on the adjacent Lady Bird Lake Hike & Bike Trail. A combination of comfort and elegance, the Hotel's 294 guest rooms - including 34 suites - offer views of either the lake or Austin's vibrant downtown cityscape. Services such as twice-daily housekeeping, in-room dining, dry cleaning and laundry and a 24-hour Concierge ensure guests enjoy a stress-free and productive stay. Diners savor prime steaks, fresh seafood and a world-class wine list in TRIO, the Hotel's award-winning modern steakhouse, featuring a chic dining room as well as unparalleled al fresco dining on the restaurant's lakeview terrace. Known locally as "Austin's Living Room," the Lobby Lounge offers guests a convenient spot to gather with friends for beer, wine, signature cocktails and light fare, or a post-dinner nightcap complete with live music, which is offered several nights a week. Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation can spend the day in the outdoor saltwater pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center or relaxing with a soothing massage, body treatment or facial in The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing