We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary, fun and reasonably priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
aloft Austin at the Domain
Ranked #76 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Contemporary, fun and reasonably priced hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location with tons of high-end shopping and restaurant choices within walking distance. Room was immaculate with unique and contemporary touches. Don't expect a lot of "space" to hang out in your room, but just enough for a few nights...and with a large lobby with a small bar, TVs, cozy places to sit and a pool table, who wants to be stuck in the room?

We happened to be in this hotel on the night of the UT / Texas A&M football game (big rivals), and even on the 6th floor you could hear the excited crowd in the outdoor restaurant below us...but no blaming the hotel, it was a great game...and the next night proved that the location is generally quiet.

Highly recommend this well priced gem in a higher rent area!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromHere2Where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    166
    76
    26
    18
See reviews for
55
86
15
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The clean design, bright colors and upbeat atmosphere are the best things going for the aloft chain. Skimping on construction details however will justify the wallet friendly pricing.
Everything was very clean, simple and straightforward. Free parking, no extra hotel fees and snacks for sale in the lobby were all great. The thin walls, limited TV channels and small beds on the other hand were not.

Personally, we booked a room with two queens however the beds were smaller than a queen for sure. The bathroom area was roomy and had a nice huge shower, but the room overall was quite small. For a one night stay it worked, but I wouldn't want to be there more than just one night.

Our window blinds did not shut all the way due to TV wires so we had to change around the corner, out of site anytime we wanted privacy which was an uncomfortable situation. Would have loved a bag stand as that was missing in the room. Had to place my bag on the desk to keep it up and out of the way - again odd.

The heater was extrememly noisy and kept waking me up whenever it kicked on. You would think at a newer property that you would not experience this issue, but it is something that needs attention for sure.

Location was very convenient to the freeway and was located in a mixed use area (residential/shopping) so it was nice and quiet.

Not too bad for a first stay with aloft, but I think I'll shell out the extra $20 and stay at the Westin down the street next time.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the construction as you'll be awakened to the noise of heavy machinery in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brashsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Positives:Clean, location, free parking, Internet included, price ok for area. However, I am afraid that is about it. Requested high floor away from elevator and room was on lowest floor next to elevator equipment room. Very noisy. asked to be moved, told no other rooms available. Air conditioner is old-style under window type and loud. Guess that was good because at least it covered up some of the elevator noise! Phones not answered sometimes at front desk, no ice on every floor, bed very hard ( not typical of other SPG properties). There are many other better choices in the area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I've now stayed at this Aloft 3 times for a total of about 12 nights. The location is amazing, the hotel is fun, the staff is super friendly, the guests tend to be pretty cool, I love the rooms there. Always my choice when in Austin!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel was clean and looked up-to-date. It had a great location with lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. It was also in a great location.

Disadvantages were that my room was small, the air conditioner sounded like a jet engine and rattled, and the phone in the room didn't work. I was going to mention all these things to the front desk but got in a hurry checking out.

Next time I hope to stay at the Westin next door and compare...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheresTheSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Don't get me wrong...we really enjoyed the Aloft at the Domain and gave it 4 out of 5 stars, but somehow, it felt too basic. As one reviewer here mentioned...too much Ikea. It was quiet, clean, and had a cool, young vibe. We saw young kids, and mine would have loved it. However, I was shocked to find out the Westin up the street a few blocks would have been cheaper for the weekend. I would certainly preferred that and would have never guessed! The Domain is a great, quiet place to stay & shopping is great. Downtown is an easy 10-15 minute drive. The Domain is still under construction behind the hotel but we did not have any problems with noise. The Park Sports Bar on the corner is loud but we did not hear it from our room. The Aloft reminds me of a W without as many amenities and really feels more basic. King bed rooms are small but well-laid out. I would have possibly given it 5 stars until I found out the Westin was less expensive.

Room Tip: King room away from the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsonll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great hotel in a great location! A friend did all the driving but it wasn't far from the airport at all! This location is extremely well located off major roadways and the Domain development great! You can actually walk to restaurants and shopping. The hotel lobby/living room has lots of places to hang out and use the free wi-fi, a pool table, basic snacks and a great bar. The beds were super comfy and great bliss products in the bathroom. Staff were always super friendly and helpful. One downside - and this is an issue at all of the alofts we've stayed at - the air conditioning/heating unit is a bit loud and oddly sensitive. The room was little cool so we raised the temperature one degree. Next thing we knew the AC had turned off (yeah!) and the heat turned on (boo!).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,274 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
371 reviews
Northwest Austin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Austin at the Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Austin at the Domain

Property: aloft Austin at the Domain
Address: 11601 Domain Drive, Austin, TX 78758-3416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Family Hotel in Austin
#60 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — aloft Austin at the Domain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Austin, located at The Domain, which is known as the second downtown in Austin. You'll find some of the best shopping, dining and entertainment at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your aloft Austin at the Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin
Aloft Austin At The Domain Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing