We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Ranked #25 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here because it was close to the museum and we were attending an event there. All was fine to start. However, my wife complained the water was not hot enough in the shower. She likes the water very hot so I thought it would be fine for me. Wrong! It was warm at best. Many of our friends were staying there and had the same problem. Complaints evidently fell on deaf ears though we were assured the problem would be corrected. Stayed 2 days and nothing ever changed. If you want hot water don't stay here. Even Super 8 hotels have hot water. Also refuse bins weren't emptied during maid service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Despite what management says this hotel is very noisy. In fact, I could clearly hear conversations from the room next door--therefore, I'd suggest asking for a non-adjoining room--my guess is even though the door was closed it allowed noise to travel. Further, I'd suggest requesting a room on the backside of the property. Mine was facing the street and for a Sunday night on campus I would never have guessed I would have been awoken several times by sirens and honking horns.

The property has very nice meeting facilities and the staff was helpful. I found the room layout acceptable although not exactly spacious. Room, etc is well maintained.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank JWD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here for a wedding. Being a UT alumni, made this stay even more special. Fantastic location adjacent to campus. Excellent service and friendly staff. I hope I can visit again real soon. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsp8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stay at the ATT several times a year, and in one Austin hotel or another almost every month. The ATT is a mixed bag. Rooms are clean and large, but not particularly comfortable. The work desk is better than usual, but there is no chair other than the desk chair. The beds are nice and firm, but the pillows and linens are OK but not up to four star hotel standards. The bathroom is very basic. towels are mediocre. The internet is blazingly fast. Truly remarkable.

The public areas and restaurants are attractive and pleasant. Nice barrister staffed coffee bar in the lobby. The fancy restaurant, the Carillon, is overpriced and declining in quality. Used to be a notable Austin white tablecloth establishment. Lunch buffet was attractive but mostly tasteless. On the other hand, the sports bar was excellent, with nice service and innovative quality food. Room service is not 24 hour.

So, if you are doing business at UT, this is the best option you have - and a very good one at that. otherwise, you will do better other places.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This place was barely adequate. Although the location is nice, I would not stay here again. The noise from other rooms was too loud. The staff is young and inexperienced. They quickly become bothersome rather than helpful. The Carilon restaurant is way overpriced for the weak food and small portions you get. The front desk would not match a rate I found on line for a second night, so I went to a different hotel which turned out to be less expensive and a better place,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UT_Hotel, Manager at AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear HoustonDavid:

While I'm happy you stayed with us and took the time to submit a review, I'm disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. As I do not know the circumstances surrounding your experience I invite you to reach out directly so we can learn what happened as to avoid it in the future. We are generally regarded as a quiet hotel as compared to other downtown locations and The Carillon was recently ranked 5th best restaurant in the city by Austin American Statesman's food critic Matthew Odam. This doesn't mean we can't slip up from time to time; We just like learning from our mistakes. Hope to hear from you.

Tom Rice
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The conference center is generally well designed with a good hotel and good meeting space. The staff is very pleasant, and the two meals I had at the main restaurant (breakfast and lunch) were good. There is plenty of sitting space to meet with people. The hotel room I had was large, but with a great deal of wasted space. It was clean and well appointed, but some of the design suggested that the designer never stayed in a hotel room before and had no idea how to set up a room. For one, this is a business hotel, and there is a desk and comfortable chair. BUT, there was only one accessible power outlet hidden behind the desk and hard to get at. This attached to several power strips (as far as I could tell) on the floor but both were filled with plugs and very hard to get to even to disconnect some of the things to use the plugs for one's own electronics. There are plenty of other free outlets in the room, but none convenient to the desk.

Then there is the lighting. One has to turn on every lamp in the room to get some level of brightness. The TV is modern flat screen with lots of channels, but it is a smaller model and far from the bed. Perhaps a younger person, with better eyesight, can see and read the screen when lying in bed, but the size of the room (large) deserves a larger TV.

The bathroom is large and good counter space (the closet is in the bathroom) but there are two things that are kind of ridiculous. First, there is a towel bar in front of the sink and this keeps one from getting close enough to the sink so that a short person might actually have trouble reaching the faucets. The second thing is the very large shower (enough for 3 or 4 people). The entrance to the long and rectangular shower is at one end, and the shower itself is at the other end. The only way to turn on the water is to stand under the shower, and get soaked while waiting to get to the proper temperature.

Overall, a decent hotel that has some limits in design.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UT_Hotel, Manager at AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Fishperson:

Thanks for staying with us and taking a moment to review your stay! We will be certain to share your feedback with the previous designer as well as future ones so that we get it right in every room. Many rooms have ample power outlets available at the desk, but the room type you stayed in does not. Knowing the room type by your description of the shower, please know that we only have eight of those rooms. It is our intention to fix the flaws in them during our next renovation. We look forward to having you again and we'll be sure to assign a different room for you when you stay again.

Tom Rice
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We almost always stay at this hotel when in Austin if we can. It's got a great location on campus. The question is what's going on on campus that day. You can easily pay 3 times as much for same room depending on events.

It's clean, safe, convenient and well equipped. Gym could be larger. Food is good. Rooms are starting to show miles in some cases.

Room Tip: Tower views worth paying for...once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMDiazJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Address: 1900 University Ave, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78705-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Austin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £86 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center is located in the heart of Austin, offering hotel rooms, meeting space and fine dining. HOTEL Featuring 276 guest rooms and 21 suites onsite, the hotel offers inspiring views of The University of Texas at Austin's Main Tower, the Texas State Capitol, and our serene central courtyard. Room technologies and guest amenities make your stay for either business or pleasure equally enjoyable. MEETINGS Forty thousand square feet of meeting space offers 37 rooms ranging from a multimedia amphitheatre and divisible 10,000-square-foot ballroom to tiered and traditional classrooms with superior connectivity, plus breakout rooms to support small group work. Wireless access throughout the facility and exceptional presentation and audio/visual features provide answers to your conference planning challenges. CELEBRATIONS The Grand Ballroom is situated in the heart of Austin and Texas Hill County. Our coveted location allows us to exemplify elegance combined with a little Texas flare. Our award winning culinary staff and our AAA Four Diamond service will offer you endless choices for your wedding reception that are both skillfully crafted and sinfully delicious. DINING Delivered with platinum service and a conscience for sustainability, our variety of exceptional dining spaces will have you savoring every moment you're here. Join us at The Carillon, Gabriel's Cafe, or One Twenty 5 Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At And t Executive Education And Conference Center
At&t Executive Education Hotel Austin
AT&T Executive Education And Conference Center Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing