We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above the Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Ranked #25 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at the AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center in Austin Texas for three days/nights in mid-March for a conference. It was one of the best hotels stays I have ever experienced for the following reasons:
- Exceptionally warm and helpful staff.
- Lovely rooms with excellent amenities.
- Great food (at the breakfast buffet and lunch from the cafe).
- Perfect location for a first time visitor in a very walk-able section of the city.
- Gorgeous conference facility that was clean and modern.

Things I would change:
-The bed was big but not very comfortable. But too firm hotel beds are kind of a universal thing, so I'm not docking points.
-The A/C was very loud and kept me awake. If you are a light sleeper, pack earplugs.
- More non-animal based options at breakfast. Lots of eggs but not enough fruit.

Still, I loved my stay here. I highly recommend it if it's in your budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makeminemanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I attend an annual conference at this hotel and it's always a great experience. Conference room rates are reasonable, rooms are clean, wireless Internet is fast, local and national papers delivered to room, delicious breakfast provided free of charge, good customer service, convenient location, beautiful courtyard.

I wish their non-conference rates were cheaper. It would also be nice if they had an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very friendly staff, clean large rooms, convenient location especially for the university of Texas visitors,
Food and drinks at Gabriel's are of good value, I recommend trying their burgers and salads.
R

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gaby-Khoriaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

loved staying here.
It was clean, well located and the restaurant was very good!
I walked to the LBJ Presidential library just across the Texas University campus.
Convenient to route #35 so everything was easily accessible including downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I attended a conference at the AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center and stayed for two nights at the hotel. I have stayed before, so it is impossible to not make comparisons.

Parking is for a fee, but there were plenty of available spaces. The front desk clerks were very pleasant, knowledgeable, and made me feel welcome.

I had a king bed room on the seventh floor with a great view of the tower. My room was spotlessly clean, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The room was spacious, but the lighting was pretty sad. I turned on every light and it was still dim. I think maybe higher wattage energy-efficient light bulbs might have helped. And I could not get my shower water hot. It was only moderately warm even at full hot. I have no idea what that was all about.

I am amazed that today’s hotels don’t have electrical outlets next to the bed since so many travelers use their phones as alarm clocks. There I was… staying in an AT&T hotel and I couldn’t even charge my AT&T service phone while I slept! Seriously, lower priced hotels have bedside lamps with electrical outlets in the base so I can’t figure out why this isn’t standard in all hotels. There is one easily accessible double outlet near the work desk. Speaking of work desks, you will not have a problem with slow internet at this property. It was awesomely fast.

Last time I stayed in the hotel I really enjoyed my meal at Gabriel’s, this time not as much – mainly because it seemed to take forever to get the food out to our group. The server was quite pleasant, though and the bartender was on top of things even when it got busy later in the evening.

The conference center is an excellent facility, and the breakout refreshments provided for our group were certainly abundant. Our banquet meal was very good, too.

Over all, the positives outweigh the negatives. It’s a nice property in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here because of the access to campus and I was at a conference at the hotel. I think it is very lovely with a professional setting. I love the access to downtown Austin, as well.

I agree with much that Jeff3545 says. The Internet IS wickedly fast - I didn't think about it until I read his review after my stay. I had to be on my remote desktop for a good amount of my stay and there were NO issues with the Internet.

The mattress was comfortable but the sheets were very itchy. And Jeff 3545 is correct about the noise from adjoining rooms. It is scary that I could hear so much and it made my very uncomfortable. However, I loved the street noise - I was on the south side of the hotel facing MLK - and I loved the sun light with the southern exposure since I was stuck in my room with client issues for an entire morning.

I loved the robes that were provided. The bathroom was fine. I like the sink outside of the main bath. The room service breakfast was VERY good. My decaf stayed warm all morning and my granola and yogurt was so generous it lasted all morning (dang clients.)

I broke my mobile phone and had to use the land line phone for a number of client calls. I was outraged at what I was charged at the end of my stay but the manager of the hotel fixed the problem to my satisfaction with a few email conversations. He wasn't afraid to discuss the issue and probably managed me in a way to get more commentary, which I appreciated. I have to say I feel very welcome at this hotel and feel that if I needed for anything, I would be taken care of.

And again, as a UT alum, I love staying on campus and being able to wander into downtown. It is a magical location right in the center of Austin. You just can't beat it.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room. If you like sun and street action, ask for a room facing MLK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeenAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed there a couple weeks ago for a business trip and thought it was a very nice property. It is located on campus which was very convenient as I had to attend a event at the university. The staff was very helpful including the bearded gentlemen at the front desk and the coffee bar attendant. I look forward to my next visit and would recommend family and friends to stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Austin
#28 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Address: 1900 University Ave, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78705-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Austin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £87 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center is located in the heart of Austin, offering hotel rooms, meeting space and fine dining. HOTEL Featuring 276 guest rooms and 21 suites onsite, the hotel offers inspiring views of The University of Texas at Austin's Main Tower, the Texas State Capitol, and our serene central courtyard. Room technologies and guest amenities make your stay for either business or pleasure equally enjoyable. MEETINGS Forty thousand square feet of meeting space offers 37 rooms ranging from a multimedia amphitheatre and divisible 10,000-square-foot ballroom to tiered and traditional classrooms with superior connectivity, plus breakout rooms to support small group work. Wireless access throughout the facility and exceptional presentation and audio/visual features provide answers to your conference planning challenges. CELEBRATIONS The Grand Ballroom is situated in the heart of Austin and Texas Hill County. Our coveted location allows us to exemplify elegance combined with a little Texas flare. Our award winning culinary staff and our AAA Four Diamond service will offer you endless choices for your wedding reception that are both skillfully crafted and sinfully delicious. DINING Delivered with platinum service and a conscience for sustainability, our variety of exceptional dining spaces will have you savoring every moment you're here. Join us at The Carillon, Gabriel's Cafe, or One Twenty 5 Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At And t Executive Education And Conference Center
At&t Executive Education Hotel Austin
AT&T Executive Education And Conference Center Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing