We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Ranked #23 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The only thing that this place has going for them is their proximity to the UT campus. Other than that, they are a pretty standard hotel with nice flowers around the lobby. Service is just ok. Nobody goes out of their way to be nice. And they might steal from your room also. At least that's what happened to me when I left a $100 laptop charger behind in my room and they said they couldn't find it. What would someone do with a laptop charger. That's what you get for being nice and generously tip the housekeeping. As someone who worked in hospitality for 10 years I would say that's the biggest "no no" of all. They give housekeeping a bad name.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKNYC4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    238
    70
    23
    21
See reviews for
149
101
29
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

So I am sitting outside the hotel at the valet area in hot and humid Austin last week. I needed water and asked Chase Swafford, the valet, where to get a bottle. He ran off and came back with a cold glass of ice water for me! Tha't service above and beyond the call. Thanks much Chase. Will only stay at the AT&T frome here on out when in Austin. Great place, great people. Stay and prepare to be treated like a valued guest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita C, Public Relations Manager at AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi David,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We shared your story with Chase and our staff. It's team members like Chase that make our hotel run so well and we're proud to have the solid, customer-focused team that we do. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We look forward to having you here again!

Best,
Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
302 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel's location on the southwest edge of the UT Austin campus is it's best feature. If you're going to be attending anything at the university, this place can't be beat!

Arrived at 2:15pm and room wasn't ready, but they stored luggage and delivered to the room with a convenient text message when room was ready. Underground parking, $18/night self park. Attractive grounds & facilities. Friendly and attentive staff.

Spacious room with AT&T U Verse TV (excellent selection), in-room coffee, closet safe & iron. Nice bathroom with average shower. Comfortable beds and good HVAC. Unfortunately, room had a slightly bad odor that seemed like an accident wasn't completely cleaned, noticed by all three of us.

Great fitness room with plenty of cardio machines and everything I needed for workout on the road. Dining options were quite good, but a little pricey, including a sports pub which was showing World Cup soccer and baseball games when we visited. The gift shop didn't have any drugstore items, but there's a CVS pharmacy a few blocks away. Additional dining options on the drag (Guadalupe St) were a quick walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great choice if you must be close to UT for convenience purposes. It is a nice facility, but the rooms are pretty standard. I was not impressed with the bed and bedding as it was not very comfortable. For the price, I would say it is worth it if you need the location, but there are other options if you have more flexibility in that regard.

Helpful?
2 Thank ag05dc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've now stayed at the conference center four times and it was above expectations each time. It's about the same quality as a Hyatt, and well-maintained. The conference center is another building separated by a courtyard, so it doesn't affect the hotel. It's in a pleasant area off University Avenue, surrounded by various university buildings, and near other Austin attractions. Maybe 30 minutes from the airport. My spacious room faced the (infamous) Texas clock tower and was dead quiet. Gabriel's on the ground floor was a great place for good quality pub food and happy hour.

And, courtesy of AT&T I suppose, Wi-fi is free and very high speed (I speed-tested it as about 25 meg upload and download). I wish all hotels had such powerful and free Wi-fi.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent 3 nights for a TK20 conference here in June. Booked my room online without any problems. About two weeks before my stay received an email from concierge which prompted me to request a room close to the elevators and conference center. Valets who handled my bags were friendly; check in and out went smoothly, room exactly what I needed and wanted. Bed was very comfortable, extra pillows requested were there, and the TV and work area excellent. Room service pleasant, but the food preparation could have been a bit better. Internet access awesome (as it should be:). There are covered seating areas in a lovely patio area that were very nice in the mornings. Loved the "cowhide" bolster pillow on the bed (after all, it used to be a cowtown)...got a chuckle when I saw the usual "do not disturb" tag actually said "studying"...very appropriate for a hotel on the U of Austin campus. Would definitely stay again if I could negotiate a good rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripReady001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last few years and I must say the maintenance of the facility seems to be falling off.

Nothing was truly terrible, it just wasn't good either. The room looked as though some rowdy college kids had stayed there and had scraped up the walls and other items in the room and the damage was never fixed. The bathroom wasn't truly dirty, but didn't seem particularly clean either. Just had a bit of a feeling of dingy.

Also, at breakfast, my wife and I both got the buffet. After eating my first plate of food, I returned for a bit more and noticed a large roach on the ground. Granted, the roach was not in the food, but ick.... I expect a better experience. The service was terrible at breakfast as well. We had to remind the server about our drinks twice.

The price point for this hotel is pretty good for the area, but it used to have a much nicer feeling than it does now...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#42 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Property: AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Address: 1900 University Ave, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78705-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Austin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center is located in the heart of Austin, offering hotel rooms, meeting space and fine dining. HOTEL Featuring 276 guest rooms and 21 suites onsite, the hotel offers inspiring views of The University of Texas at Austin's Main Tower, the Texas State Capitol, and our serene central courtyard. Room technologies and guest amenities make your stay for either business or pleasure equally enjoyable. MEETINGS Forty thousand square feet of meeting space offers 37 rooms ranging from a multimedia amphitheatre and divisible 10,000-square-foot ballroom to tiered and traditional classrooms with superior connectivity, plus breakout rooms to support small group work. Wireless access throughout the facility and exceptional presentation and audio/visual features provide answers to your conference planning challenges. CELEBRATIONS The Grand Ballroom is situated in the heart of Austin and Texas Hill County. Our coveted location allows us to exemplify elegance combined with a little Texas flare. Our award winning culinary staff and our AAA Four Diamond service will offer you endless choices for your wedding reception that are both skillfully crafted and sinfully delicious. DINING Delivered with platinum service and a conscience for sustainability, our variety of exceptional dining spaces will have you savoring every moment you're here. Join us at The Carillon, Gabriel's Cafe, or One Twenty 5 Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At And t Executive Education And Conference Center
At&t Executive Education Hotel Austin
AT&T Executive Education And Conference Center Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing