We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place but worth the price?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Place but worth the price?”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Worth the price? >600 for 2 nights! Kimber Modern location is superb, right near the South Congress bubble hidden just 1 street back in the hip Travis Heights neighborhood. It's great how hands-off the management is, we just used our code to get in and use all the facilities, no one around really during our stay but we really didn't need anything so the independence was nice. the Common Room is nice, the happy hour just sits out there for anyone to nibble. The patio is shaded and perfect with hammocks. However, expect extreme quietness and come here for a private and relaxing time. The balcony rooms are nice ,but a bit small. No tub, which for the price I hoped to have at least a tub. For the price to be honest I would choose the 'other' trendy place on South Congress San Jose where some rooms are larger and cheaper, and there's a bar and 'scene', but it's just my preference, nothing against the Kimber. Well done on architecture, but the target customer is a rich and older crowd that wants a quiet stay, not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exAustinite43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
190
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is what every other "modern design" inn is trying to be. Well thought-out project, exquisite design, built to high standard. Clean, comfortable, peaceful, quiet, friendly. Wouldn't think about staying anywhere else in Austin.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_real_fatbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here one night while in town for a wedding. Didn't realize how great the location would be, but we were so close to everything. The come-and-go atmosphere is such a bonus in giving you your privacy, as well as the yummy snacks and access to coffee, water, tea at anytime. We were blessed with amazing weather which was wonderful be able to enjoy the courtyard. I would suggest this for anyone wanting to have a quiet and cozy hideaway while seeing the best of Austin.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkirk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

KimberModern - I miss you already! I spent 6 wonderful days within your beautiful walls and I would go back in heartbeat.

The hotel is a modern structure that manages to be sleek, seductive, relaxing, and cozy at the same time. Sara was beyond fabulous. The owners at this hotel have a treasure in her. She answered all of our questions, was always at hand if we needed anything and became like a friend in Austin. She made our stay extremely enjoyable.

The location is perfect, being in South Congress was so much fun! We went for long runs in the surrounding neighborhood (Travis Heights) and were able to extend those runs to Downtown, around Ladybird Lake, and even the greenbelt. Everything seemed to be less than a 10-15 minute drive away (you don't know how good you have it compared to L.A> traffic!). We enjoyed the hosted breakfast (light and yet filling) and the hosted evening refreshments (loved the cheeses, dried apricots, and marcona almonds, and the wine and beer too! ;)).

I would recommend this hotel to a couple seeking a break from their hectic schedule, looking for a respite from parenting duties, and looking forward to a place that makes you feel you have gone to your honeymoon. Oh that's me! :) I would recommend it to anyone who is willing to spend a little more to enjoy this wonderful haven. I LOVE this place and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful (we stayed in two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanabenavidez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

My favorite way to describe the Kimber Modern is as a "treehouse for adults". Everything about this place is fantastic. The ample but stylized outdoor space, the cozy but sleek bedrooms, the awesome kitchen (always stocked with goodies, and the coffee machine I fell in love with)!

And lets not forget the staff - gracious, fun, and helpful.

I intend to return with even more friends - ideally, we'll be renting the entire place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexknowshtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The Kimber Modern is even nicer than the photos show. We loved it! Great design and the outdoor area with the water feature makes you feel miles away from the city though It is only steps away from a fun strip of So Congress.

On the down side, noisy neighbors did bother us some at night -- but that can't be helped given the location. Try it -- you'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft worth, tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I just got back from our lovely stay at Kimber Modern. It's a beautifully crafted, serene space. The hotel seems to be its own entity that operates silently and efficiently. The staff is very friendly and pick up on the first ring to answer any questions you have.

I would say this is more of a boutique hotel, they do provide light fare for breakfast, beverages and snacks for happy hour. Within walking distance, there are so many restaurants, diners and the row of trailer food dining is a unique experience in itself, make sure to stop at Hey Cupcake! for some yummy goodness.

Keep in mind the location is right off South Congress. It's a bustling, active area and understandably there will be some noise especially in the evening.
The "balcony" rooms are off the street and the "courtyard" rooms are set in the back.
We did not have any trouble with noise in our courtyard room (which was upgraded to the Red suite for free since we happened to be hanging out in the commons area).

We had a wonderful stay and recommend it to anyone wanting a unique hotel experience in a great location! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 202 in Austin
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 202 in Austin
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#79 of 202 in Austin
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 202 in Austin
1,197 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Property: Kimber Modern Hotel
Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimber Modern Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing