We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern urban oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A modern urban oasis”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We love modern boutique hotels. Kimber Modern fits the bill. We went for my honey's birthday and we stayed there with all his family. It felt like had the place to ourselves. The rooms (6 in total) are beautiful - Scandinavian design, light, bright colors, smart and playful. The best part about this place is the outdoor living space. We had this elegant backyard to hang out in. Very relaxing and peaceful. Yet you're in the middle of the best street in Austin (IMO). Tranquility in the city. The only thing that would make this place even more surreal would be a pool.

We made use of the kitchen too and fixed ourselves fun breakfasts, yummy pre-dinner snacks, etc. The whole place was something out of "Dwell" or the NYT Style edition. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Come in the Spring or the Fall - you won't want to hang outside in the Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
186
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

What a great place to stay. There are so many great things about this hotel that I don't know where to start. Overall, you feel like you are staying a very nice house and that you are a special guest that is being well taken care of. The rooms are clean and modern. The beds were super comfortable. Staying at Kimber Modern really made my trip special - I look forward to my next visit. Plus a great location never hurts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I went for a quick vacation and stayed in the White Suite July 20 - 23. Loved the room and our deck out back. Great location, close to restaurants, Town Lake Hike & Bike trail, and heart of downtown. Would definitely go back. Hotel was quiet, even being so close to South Congress. Only thing we did not like was the rain shower, simply because we prefer stronger water pressure. Also, we would have liked a microwave in the Common Room. But that's minor in comparison to the whole. Fresh fruit in the morning, nifty coffee machine, and daily happy hour added to our enjoyment. Staff were great as well. We really don't care to stay anywhere else from now on when we visit Austin!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was our second stay at the Kimber and once again it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is located right off of Congress which makes it a perfect location. You can walk to restaurants, bars, shops, food trailers even close to Town Lake for exercising, but it is far enough off Congress to be very quiet while sleeping. The hotel is very modern and intimate with a large interior covered patio that is quiet and serene.. The patio is a lovely spot to enjoy their yummy breakfast offerings or a cocktail during their evening HH, even in the July heat it did not feel too hot.

The rooms are furnished modestly, with a modern flair. Decor is simple yet refreshing. We've stayed in two separate rooms and have been pleased with each, both comfortable and functional over a three days stay. They are very clean and the maid service is fantastic. I'm major OCD and each visit our rooms have been spotless. I love the extra touches such as distilled water in your room, excellent hair, bath and body products. They even offer toothpaste, toothbrush, razor, facial cleanser, etc in each room. There is also a the quietest fridge I've ever NOT heard in the room. This is a big plus for us as we like to travel and keep Monster drinks in our room.

The staff is friendly, professional and genuine. I told them I was Vegan and the next day they left Vegan food items in the shared common area where you can also go in at any time for water, coffee, fruit and candy left out by the staff. They have a computer with a printer, books, Austin info, games to use also. The hotel does offer free internet, another big plus as there was about four of us at one time out on the patio with our tablets. On the day of check out we were taking our daughter to brunch and some shopping. We had purchased some cases of wine the following day and although it was check out time, they allowed us to store it in the common are while we went to brunch. Since the hotel works off a keyless entry system they probably had to extend our code.

Bottom line, no where else in Austin or the surrounding area that I'll ever stay at again. Perfect for a solo trip or couples get-away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a one night stay as a gift from a friend. The entire hotel is beautifully appointed with modern furniture and shaded by large oaks. The keyless entry is very convenient. The common room has a kitchen with complimentary snacks, espresso machine, and breakfast. A peaceful and luxurious oasis indeed !

Room Tip: the white suite is the most private; regular suites have windows facing the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galaxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Kimber Modern, while quite hidden behind South Congress, is the most amazing hotel/bed and breakfast in Austin. Beautiful, lush bamboo and trees shade the outdoor seating area complete with a contemporary glass fountain. Not a single detail of this place has been overlooked! The happy hour from 3-6 was a delight to enjoy with local beers and wines and a myriad of delicious cheese and fruit to eat. Upon discovering my boyfriend and I were going to be the only ones staying at the hotel one of the nights, Susan (the owner), graciously offered us the option to stay in one of the two suites! If you are searching for a very zen-like retreat for yourself or a romantic getaway, the Kimber Modern is PERFECT!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogakate28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our upcoming move to Austin and to celebrate a special occasion. While this is about twice of what we would normally pay for accommodations, the Kimber Modern was well worth the relaxation, general feel-goodness, and affirmation for our interest in design. Apart from the really cool building, each space in the hotel is populated with stuff that seems just right and is perfectly at hand–lux bath products, towels, robe, water, delicious happy hour snacks and drinks, the exact right number of pillows, blankets and cushy comforts. The coffee is amazing. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
553 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#23 of 203 in Austin
255 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Archer Hotel Austin
#3 of 203 in Austin
375 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,276 reviews
Hotel San Jose
#68 of 203 in Austin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Property: Kimber Modern Hotel
Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimber Modern Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing