We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimber Modern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Austin Motel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
austinmotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Driskill(Austin)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Star Court(Austin)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
368
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomwhite suitesouth congresskeyless entrycontinental clubbeautiful treeoutdoor common areacommunity roomaccess codemalin and goetzsoco districthard boiled eggscomplimentary beerespresso machineprivate patioyogurtnever stay anywhere else
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent our anniversary at the Kimber Modern when we discovered The Driskill was sold out (where we traditionally stay) and we were pleasantly surprised! A complete opposite of The Driskill, the KM is like staying in a huge contemporary multi level 7 bedroom home with a big beautiful tree in the middle of the courtyard. The courtyard is one of the two common areas for guests to enjoy (hammock...oversized fun cobalt blue chair...relaxing water feature...plenty of seating) along with the totally hip kitchen/dining/computer/lounge area. Community fridge is inviting with beautiful wines, beer, juices, soft drinks, and yogurt. Very welcoming! A fresh, healthy breakfast was included and ready when we woke up...self service but kitchen was even well stocked to make fun coffee and tea favorites. Wasn't sure at a glance about the platform bed but it was super comfy. Nice high ceilings in the room and a clever tall thin screen door built into the wall to enjoy the night air. The bathroom is completely constructed with frosted glass...no real walls and I'm only mentioning this in case you are expecting complete privacy from the bedroom. Really nice bath products in the shower and great water pressure. Keyless entry (book online) and no front desk...kind of like someone with a fabulous modern home says "stay at my place...here's the code...enjoy yourself and the kitchen is all yours!" Just a block behind SoCo (like a surprising little gem)...it was amazingly quiet and yet so easy to walk over to the fabulous restaurants and diverse shopping offered in one of Austin's coolest areas. Trailer food with incredible flavors, creative menu restaurants & imaginative funky shops are the vibe and just waaaay to many places to mention...but this trip we hit Perla's for dinner, Home Slice Pizza for lunch, Heritage Boots, Uncommon Objects, Parts & Labour and the list goes on! Love Austin!

Room Tip: The 7 rooms are named by color and are keyless/code entry...by the layout it seems that every room is quiet...like staying in a huge modern home!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artsy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thanks for a wonderful review and we are so Happy you found us. We hope you will come back again for another anniversary with us. Remeber we are in construction on another property on Eva and our big 30 room on Rainey st. will be available in 2016!
See you soon
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My sister and I took a trip to Austin and researched which area of Austin was the best and also which hotel had more unique qualities than the chains. South Congress Avenue is definitely THE place to stay. We didn't want the college scene on 6th street. The vibe on South Congress is relaxed and fun with great restaurants, stores and clubs. Kimber Modern was steps away from all the action. They have a great deck area between suites and rooms with a giant live oak tree, water feature and lots of comfy seating. The manager that greeted us was the ultimate in hospitality and gave great recommendations for restaurants and fun things to do. The free wine and beer and snacks were a welcome touch after a day of traveling. And the breakfast was fantastic the next morning also. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Red Suite is the only suite across the courtyard area and is completely separate from other rooms. More privacy here
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rzbk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

It was wonderful having you stay with us and we are Happy that you have found your 'home' for future stays!
Thanks
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hate to use the old saying "look no further" but have to,
This small (7 room) property is nothing more than amazing,
Awesome room, free breakfast, the coolest public area,
Next to some great bars and restaurants, if you want a pool
not the place for you but rumor has it they are in the process
of building a new property that will have a pool, if you like
privacy and cool hip rooms this place is for you,
The bed, bedding, pillows were to die for, (Mailin & Goetz) toiletries
which are also to die for, breakfast was wonderful, snacks and beer, and wine
6 Stars for this place

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Red Suite and White Suite White Suite has it's own private deck, large bathroom Red Suite is right next to breakfast room and has a great patio area and is right next to waterfall feature
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbtgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We really enjoyed having you stay and look forward to your return.

Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed two nights and we love this place! Will be returning for certain. It's like a luxury bed and breakfast - and their service approach of being "minimally invasive" is wonderful. We stayed in the White Suite - with a wonderful private deck, huge room and very comfy bed and expansive shower and bathtub - all for what a nondescript room in one of the chains on the north side of the river would have cost. Able to walk down to the common room to get coffee or drinks anytime; a choice of chilled beverages COMPLIMENTARY in the room - and in the kitchen in the common area should you run out. And being in the SoCo part of town was great - far better than being up in the big hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denis601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you Denis. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return. Keep a lookout for the Kimber Modern Rainey updates on our website, opening in 2016!
Best,
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kimber Modern after our wedding. It was wonderful. We had had so much going on with the wedding and just wanted a few nights with just the two of us. We arranged for a bottle of champagne to be waiting for us at check in and there was a really kind note from the hotel congratulating us. The location was amazing. We didn't do much research on where it was before booking it and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our room was very cool and the shower was amazing! We would wake up and make ourselves a coffee in the common room and then venture out for the day. We hardly saw any other guests or staff so it felt like the entire place was just to us. We don't like a lot of fuss and we prefer to do our own thing so this trip was perfect! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you! We are so happy you found us and enjoyed our Quietude. Keep us in mind for your next getaway and remember we have 2 wonderful offsite properties to enjoy. The Art Barn and Blue House.
Thanks
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews