We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil urban stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“tranquil urban stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I travel a lot. This place is unique...i love the checkin process...pick your room online and get a code for the door. You just arrive and go to your room. The rooms are so clean and well appointed. The exterior area in the center of the 'house' is a lovely place to hang out and read, drink coffee, drink wine. For the two days we were there it felt like our home. Very easy place to be.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
186
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

If bloated lobbies, fawning hoteliers and pillow chocolate ring hollow for you, check out the assured design, comfort, and amenities for the urban traveller at Kimber Modern. From the deeply quiet, sleekly appointed rooms with dreamy bedding and original art to the excitement of great design, welcoming amenities, and a cool neighbourhood, this is city travel at its best: confident, generous, and chic.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larocque53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Kinder Modern I would rate as one of the best places I have even stayed! Not only was it hip in aesthetics and clean lines.....but the entire experience was unique. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Austin who would appreciate a unique experience. It was special and my daughter and I had a remarkably good time. Thanks to the Kinder Modern owners....great experience...thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkleihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Excited to stay at this well-reviewed hotel, we made online reservations in December for an October stay. In February, the owner called to unilaterally announce a significant increase in the reserved rate. Wanting to maintain relations, I generously offered to meet them halfway (despite the fact that it was they, not I, who had published the rate in the first place). They claimed to have offered that kind of meet-halfway accommodation in an e-mail, but had never done so (failed to "re-"send the offer when asked). That's bad enough, but when in March I tried to shorten our stay from four nights to three, at first they said "no problem" but called back to refuse, citing a fictional "four night minimum" that appears nowhere on their website or terms of reservation. They then unilaterally cancelled our reservation ("if you don't email us back by 5 this afternoon we will understand that to be a cancellation"). Unbelievable. I am so tired of them and sick of arguing with clearly unreliable people. At root, it's the story of a greedy, mendacious hotel with no regard for its obligations to uphold its end of contractual obligations. If I had the time and energy I would go to the Austin Better Business Bureau but this review (and those like it I plan to add to similar sites) will have to do. Good luck with the Kimber Modern -- you've been warned.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
16 Thank WantsMoreTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2010

my husband and i (on our honeymoon in austin) stayed at kimber modern in october 2009 for two nights. our flights in from canada were delayed & we arrived tired & a little grumpy but as soon as our cab pulled up to kimber modern all of that disappeared. our room was absolutely spotless & impeccably decorated. we really liked the relaxed atmosphere of this special little place. the products in the bathroom were a favorite of mine. also, the common kitchen area was really cool, the breakfasts had array of different foods & we really liked the happy hour too (happy hour isn't very prominent in toronto, canada). the people at kimber modern take the time to pay attention to details, which makes anybody's stay there truly unique.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browniepoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I was headed to Austin in my car without a hotel reservation. A couple hours outside Austin, I called my usual destination, Hotel San Jose. I was upset to learn that they were completely booked. I pulled out the BlackBerry, pulled over to the side of the road, and searched for hotels on/near South Congress. The name "Kimber Modern" caught my attention and the pictures looked interesting so I called and they had one room available, the Suite. I decided to go for it as I love modern architecture. The person on the other end of the phone offered the Suite at a regular room rate (it was after 5PM)......so I was already impressed before ever seeing the property.

I arrived....very impressed. It is obvious that every detail on this property was carefully planned. Extremely clean, peaceful, visually beautiful. Everything was perfect. This is my new "regular". I'm sorry Hotel San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golftroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhamlin42
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I literally travel around the world and this is my new favorite place to stay. It's small, homey, friendly, beautiful rooms, great location, a wonderful oasis in the middle of chaotic city fun.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhamlin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
554 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#21 of 203 in Austin
255 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Archer Hotel Austin
#3 of 203 in Austin
376 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,276 reviews
Hotel San Jose
#67 of 203 in Austin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Property: Kimber Modern Hotel
Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimber Modern Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing