We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cute free museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Memorial Museum

Texas Memorial Museum
Ranked #85 of 314 things to do in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Texas Memorial Museum is the exhibit hall for Texas Natural Science Center and is located on The University of Texas at Austin campus in Austin, Texas. Exhibits focus on dinosaurs and fossils, Texas wildlife, gems and minerals, and a working Paleontology Lab where visitors can interact with scientists as they prepare fossil finds.Spotlighted in the exhibits are spectacular specimens found in Texas, including the largest flying creature ever found—the Texas Pterosaur, with a wingspan of nearly 40 feet–and the 30-foot Mosasaur that swam the shallow sea that once covered most of the state.
Demarest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very cute free museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very nice museum, free entrance. Parking is a bit of a problem. You have to park in the garage near by. But in my case, the ticket machine did not like the ticket, so I potentially it could have been very hard to get out of that garage, considering, that there are no attendants and no one answers the Help button.
But I digress. The museum is definitely worth the visit. Great collection of rocks and minerals. And good place to escape during the heat wave (Jan -Dec).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Benguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Way more than you expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This museum focuses on animals from Pre-historic to present. There are scientific exhibits about evolution and a paleontologist cleaning up fossils. You need a couple of hours to see it all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Workout247p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Free natural history museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Texas Memorial Museum is located on the University of Texas Campus and features several floors with displays of fossils, wildlife, and minerals. The museum is free of charge, and not that big, making it a good option for kids who might lose interest in larger museums. My family visited recently with my niece & nephew (age 8 & 11), and though they were occasionally a little scared of the fossils and the snake displays, they enjoyed the exhibits. I enjoyed the mineral displays, which feature agates, precious gems, and other rare but beautiful rock formations from all over the world.

The museum is located not far from the football stadium, on the east side of the main UT campus. Relatively inexpensive parking is available in the garage next door.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting for kids and adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We went during Spring Break, but it was not crowded and easy to see everything. My 8 year old and 3 year old grandsons were intrigued from the moment we saw the bronze saber tooth tiger outside the main entrance! The architecture is lovely. There are 4 floors, each with a different feel. There is an elevator, but take the stairs for a good workout. The lower level has the dinosaurs and displays the fossils well. The exhibits showing native Texas animals was nicely done. I liked the displays of different quartz. We were there for a couple of hours, without the 3 year old it might have been longer. Nice little gift shop with a good selection at reasonable prices.

The museum is free. See the website for details.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sueschus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs and Fossils and WIldlife, Oh My!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Loved it! The dinosaurs and fossils were amazing. The gems and minerals werer
brilliant and the wildlife interesting. The museum was free and about a 10 minute walking distance from Lyndon B. Johnson's Museum and Library. It was free and well worth the visit. Very informative and interesting. (right on University of Austin's campus.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flintstones50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Texas Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing