We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact Great Diverse Displays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Memorial Museum

Texas Memorial Museum
Ranked #84 of 314 things to do in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Texas Memorial Museum is the exhibit hall for Texas Natural Science Center and is located on The University of Texas at Austin campus in Austin, Texas. Exhibits focus on dinosaurs and fossils, Texas wildlife, gems and minerals, and a working Paleontology Lab where visitors can interact with scientists as they prepare fossil finds.Spotlighted in the exhibits are spectacular specimens found in Texas, including the largest flying creature ever found—the Texas Pterosaur, with a wingspan of nearly 40 feet–and the 30-foot Mosasaur that swam the shallow sea that once covered most of the state.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
344 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Compact Great Diverse Displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Four floors on very interesting and well displayed natural history items. We're both museum buffs, especially natural history and we saw and learned things we've never seen before. The four floors are relatively compact, but they're chocked full of fun things. Add it to your list, you might learn something new !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for a "free" museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We took our teens during spring break. They were a little bored with the museum even though it has 4 floors. The exhibits on the 3rd floor were a little old and dusty looking. They needed a refresh. The most interesting floor was the first which was all about Geology and Paleontology. For free entrance, this museum was pretty good. What i didn't realize before I got here was that it was inside the University of Texas campus. If you come here, make sure you see the bell tower where Charles Whitman hid and shot 17 people and injured dozens more in 1966. Also, the museum is walking distance to the stadium and a university store. Park in the adjacent garage as you will probably not find anywhere else to park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Jaybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grandkids in heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

On the UT Campus. My 3 and 5 year old grandboys loved the exhibits, especially the dinosaur stuff and the shiny rocks. Be sure to see all the floors. Free, just pay for the parking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank green4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sabertooth Tiger adventures await!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We love going to the Texas Memorial Museum because it's FREE, and it's fairly kid-friendly. I say fairly, because there is a LOT to see and learn there, but not enough to touch (and once we got scolded for being too noisy, but we were having a birthday party for a 7-yr-old and the cookies might have kicked in by that point).

That being said, they do have a Sabertooth Tiger (Smilodon) statue out front that is fun to climb on when it's not 110 degrees outside. There is a dinosaur femur bone that has a sign that says "please touch" and a metorite that is out for touching. There are snakes, frogs, and lizards in jars to look at along with taxidermied Texas native animals (peccary, puma, and buffalo, to name a few). There is also a huge set of drawers that you can pull out and see what's inside and there is usually someone on the 1st floor (basement) who can help you identify fossils, etc. if you bring them in. They have special fossil ID days that they post on their web site. There are also dinosaur tracks outside that are in a case, but the case is currently (Jan 2013) boarded up, so you can't see them.

There is parking right next to the museum if you want to pay $3 an hour for parking and it's close to a few bus routes if you want to use Capitol Metro. Behind the museum is the mustang statue, so be sure to visit that, even though it's not technically a part of the museum. It's a great adventure on the UT campus!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klanicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Free Natural History Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

It's not bad as a free natural history museum, and even quite attractive to kids. I love the exhibit of various stones with their chemical names - beautiful and amazing! There are lots of skeletons and fossil, and we can learn a lot in paleobiology.
The facility is not very modern. The museum opened before 1930s, and it seems that it has not been renovated for many years. Yet it's still a good destination in the trip to UT Austin.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FanMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Texas Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing