We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Place EVER!!! NIGHTMARE!”
Review of Econo Lodge Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Austin
Ranked #140 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Worst Place EVER!!! NIGHTMARE!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I stayed there only because it was near his friend's birthday bash and we wanted to be safe from driving while drinking. We arrived at 8pm, the "manager" was a nightmare!! I asked him if it was family owned and he went off the deep end. I went from being annoyed regarding the lack of customer service to being truly scared for my safety. The manager called someone on the phone saying I had attacked him and his family. Telling whom ever was on the other line a bunch of untruths. It was terrifying the way he behaved. Not only were we over 45 minutes late to our destination but I was totally shaken up. He almost ruined our trip all together! Plus our room's heat didn't work and when I took a shower before bed, the soap holder fell off the wall and hit my head. This place is a NIGHTMARE! , HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel where you are valued as a customer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 777Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
9
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My Mom, Sisters and I went to Austin for a one night stay..The details said 1 king and 2 person fold out sofa. When I checked the manager on duty was very rude- I had made a request for extra towels and when I asked if he had seen my note his reply was " Well we usually only put 2 towels in the room but we put 3" Keep in mind I booket it for 4 people- Then he gave me just 1 key, and did not tell me where my room or what time breakfast was or were the ice was. We get to our room to find that the, that the 2 person fold out sofa was no bigger then a twin size bed. The carpet was sticky, the comforter was very then and had holes in it. We went to breakfast the next morning and it was HORRIBLE- from the coffee to the waffles. The location is great and it's not a bad area of town... If they put some money into the hotel and got a new Manager, it wouldn't be a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meagan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Hallettsville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I had a room booked at this hotel but I did not stay the night because the area felt unsafe.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KRLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Obviously the place is on the cheap side, so you can't expect the Four Seasons. But even for the price, this Econolodge is a little rough around the edges. The breakfast area is tiny -- two tables, eight chairs. But there aren't that many rooms, so getting a table wasn't a problem the Sunday morning I was there. There was little water pressure in the shower, and no cold water in the sink (although that may be attributable to 100+ degree weather in Austin lately). But we didn't find any bedbugs, and it was quiet enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gregweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

POSITIVES: Rooms were huge we were in a king size non smoking up stairs the room was very clean it came with a fridge and couch the bath tub had jets and there was a desk and free WiFi! Breakfast was decent your typical cereal and waffles... Our bath tub didn't drain so well so when we asked to get it fixed it was fixed the same day and working great housekeeping came each and everyday and we didn't even ask they made our bed and stocked our towels and vacuumed or floors great house keeping staff!!!!

NEGATIVE: Front desk staff not so helpful.... while he was helping me front desk staff was talking on his cell phone and upon check out no one was at the front desk I rang the bell serial times and no one came to the front desk so no recite :(

But for the most part very good hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goofynunn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2011

No frills. Not a problem. The only real prob I had here was that the location, being right along the highway, was a little noisy. It was a perfect place to crash overnight before running the 3M Half Marathon, held each January about a mile from the hotel. I'm a single female and felt safe and sound here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christi415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Don't be put offf by looks alone. This motel is a little dated, but the rooms are large and clean. There is free WIFI with a desk and free breakfast. There is a fridge, an iron and a coffee maker. The propieter Mr. Patel sorted out a booking problem for us that saved us US$200.
It is only 300ft from US183 and within 10 minutes of the Capitol building and maybe 15 minutes from down town Austin

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Econo Lodge North Austin
#150 of 203 in Austin
323 reviews
Budget Inn Capitol
#132 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
WoodSpring Suites Austin Aquarium
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#129 of 203 in Austin
158 reviews
Northwest Austin
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Austin

Property: Econo Lodge Austin
Address: 9102 Burnet Rd, Austin, TX 78758-5204 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located with easy access to U.S. Highway 183, Interstate 35, and Loops 1 and 360, the Econo Lodge® hotel in Austin is near the area's most popular Texas attractions, including: University of Texas at Austin Austin-Bergstrom International Airport Frank Center Erwin multipurpose venue Austin Convention Center Circuit of the Americas The Texas Capitol building, J. J. Pickle Research Campus, Zilker Metropolitan Park, Arboretum shopping center and Northcross Mall are in the Austin area near the hotel. Capital MetroRail, with a station less than two blocks from the Econo Lodge, offers convenient access to downtown Austin. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy visiting Town Lake, Lake Travis and Mount Bonnell. Additional nearby points of interest include: 6th Street entertainment and shopping district Travis County Exposition Center Norris Conference Centers Austin's Moonlight Towers Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum Austin, The Live Music Capital of the World, hosts many events, including South by Southwest (SXSW) and Austin City Limits. Austin also hosts the Formula One United States Grand Prix, MotoGP and Summer X Games. Enjoy our many amenities: Free deluxe continental breakfast Free high-speed Internet access Free coffee Newsstand Copy and fax services All rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. This pet-friendly hotel welcomes pets with a stay fee. This Econo Lodge supports green hotel practices. Whether traveling to the Austin area for business or pleasure, enjoy the great service and amenities at the Econo Lodge hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Austin
Austin Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing