We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun 20 min train ride”

Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train
Ranked #72 of 317 things to do in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free ride for children on a miniature train that encircles Zilker Park.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a fun 20 min train ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Remember to bring cash. Everything here in the park is cash only. There is an ATM where you would purchase your train tickets but you will likely cough up a $5 fee to get your money. The train isn't spectacular but the ride is. The ride lasts about 20 minutes and goes through all this amazing park in the middle of the city. My kids loved it and would do it all day. They charge $3 per adult or $2 per child (ages 1-11). Bring a hat in the summer as it gets hot but there are also many shaded spots along the ride and in the park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What's all the hype?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Would love to have given this a higher rating but we just didn't see the fun in this... And It was 105 degrees. The train ride at Austin zoo is much better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4girlsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

You need $5 for parking, $7 for train covers two small people and one big person, then $5.50 for two snow cones after the ride. My 5 yr old son said the train ride was awesome and 2 yr old daughter loved it! There were cool tunnels and friendly Austin folks waving along the way. The ride starts at the playground and runs through the park along Barton Creek and trails. It loops around to take you back the same way but with a fun tunnel to hoot and hollar in. Will definately do it again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for kiddos, a great deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

For $1-$3 this little 20 minute train ride can't be beat. I'm proud my city has this traditional park train for families and that it has remained so cheap for so long.
Opens 10am week days. Usually you can get on the next train with no problem but during the weekends the line starts to form up pretty early to buy tickets for the next train. Plan ahead a bit and get in line 30 minutes before you want to depart. There is a great park for kids ages 18mo and up right next door so you'll have plenty to do to pass the time.
Bring your bathing suit as it's also across the way from Barton Springs Pool.
And ideal Summer day. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WHERE IS THIS TRAIN?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a great time on the train. It's definitely a couples thing or a bring your kid thing. There's a nice breeze when the train gets moving, but we did wait a bit since there's about a 10-15 wait for the train to fill up.
BUT WHERE IS THE TRAIN?? we probably spent an hour trying to find this little attraction. It is INSIDE a park, so there is NO WAY you can drive to it. Drive like you are going to the "Barton Springs." If you're going on a holiday or weekend, prepare to PAY TO PARK even if you're going just for the train (and not the springs.) As of March 2013, they CHARGE you $5 to park in one of the parking lots near the springs. Then follow the flock of people going to the Springs. Across from the long line into the springs is the train. There was no wait for us to buy a ticket. We got our ticket immediately, and aside from sitting on the train for about 10 minutes (BRING AN UMBRELLA FOR SHADE) we began our ride. It was great fun... once you finally got there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TGW711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train also viewed

 

Been to Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing