We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically Beautiful! Love it!”
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Austin Historic Downtown 5K
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Bat City Bridge Segway Tour in Austin
Ranked #64 of 325 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luxurious theater dating back to 1915 now hosts Broadway shows.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Historically Beautiful! Love it!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited Paramount Theatre for the first time on 12/31/13, New Year's Eve, to see Bob Schneider. The Paramount is absolutely beautiful. The sound was amazing inside. It was a great experience. If you have a chance to go to a show at Paramount Theatre, go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank graydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Theater”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We rang in 2014 at Bob Schneider's concert at the Paramount Theater. The theater was a little hard for my husband to navigate due to his difficulty walking (uses a cane); and, we were in the balcony (ushers very attentive though). But, the theater is historic and beautiful. And, it is on the most festive street in Austin during the holidays, Congress Avenue. This theater is hard to beat for atmosphere, location and entertainers it attracts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grand Theatre”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I attended two screenings for the film festival here and loved the architecture. Balcony seating was superb, no bobbing over heads, and it has a sense of history, the indoor carpeting is red and the concession stand is polished wood. Lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this old venue”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went to see Aimee Mann at the Paramount.. Being raised in Austin, I'd only been there once before. I love the venue.. it's smaller, cozy, and there's really not a bad seat in the house. I will say however, the AC wasn't working so well. .all those people and it was Quite hot. Nice bar, and folks were very accomodating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic Film in a Classic Theater”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I happened to have some time to kill in Austin on the day that they were showing Mr. Smith Goes to Washington in the classic film series. Im so glad for that, because I can't imagine a better place to watch a classic piece of cinema. The tickets and concessions were super inexpensive, and the ushers greeting you at the door with programs were refreshing. The seats were old, and not as comfortable as our modern day cineplex lounge chairs. But it added to the ambiance and I forgot all about it once the film started. A great experience all around

PS The screening of Mr. Smith goes to Washington was sponsored by the Texas Tribune, and in the comments before the show the spokesperson reminded us that Texas State Wendy Davis was about to start her filibuster in the Texas Senate. If you saw the news coverage of that filibuster, you know how apropos that was!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sugarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paramount Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing