We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it!”

Lone Star River Boat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic tour of the city by boat, passing million dollar homes and breathtaking natural scenery.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We went on the Lone Star bat tour last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Make sure you make reservations (we did) as the boat fills up early. They leave on time so don't be late. The commentary from our guide was the perfect mix of factual and funny. When it came time for the bats, he knew when to go under the bridge and when to back up. My kids loved it as did all the adults. I highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    28
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Something To Go Batty About”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Took the bat cruise last night. Captain Katie did really good job driving the boat and answering questions. When we first walked up to dock, we were surprised at line. Luckily, it was't our line. It was for another party cruise to see the bats.the staff was overly punctual for leaving at 7:00. The bats came out at 7:32. Even got to see a bird go after a bat. There were a lot of families on board the two open aired boats. The weather was super fantastic. I would highly recommend this company's bat cruise. Good time had by all.

Helpful?
Thank QSKSHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not miss the bat cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

At the top of my list of things to do in Austin was the bat cruise. My husband wasn't so sure. In fact, he pretty much went to the location kicking and screaming! Now he has told everyone who will listen not to miss this experience when in Austin. It was definitely a highlight of our visit.
The fact that under the bridge is home to 1.5 million bats who come out every night at dusk (from about March through October) to find food is one of the most fascinating things we have ever seen. The guide (Danielle) on the Lone Star Bat Cruise was just great, with a wealth of information about bats. People also line up on the bridge every night but the cruise (also very reasonably priced) offers not only a great view of the bats, but of the entire city of Austin. Do not miss this!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“You should not miss this one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

A bit skeptical at first and really glad to have done it at the end. This short cruise to see the famous bat colony it is definitely worth it. Our captain has been very entertaining, with a lot of trivial about Austin and bats. The bats themselves are an amazing show! There are thousands of them flying out at sunset to go hunt for the night. Their exit from under the bridge is really spectacular, thanks also to the strange atmosphere around the bridge, with people waiting for them everywhere and in any kind of floating device :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evening party cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Sitting on the top deck, with a light breeze, surrounded by Lady Bird Lake was perfect, even in July. Got to see the bats as the evening progressed and overall had a wonderful time with family and firends aboard their large boat. Smaller boats do nightly bat cruises, the larger boat goes down towards the dam at the south end and back. Right next to the Hyatt Hotel, which has good pay parking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebag2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star River Boat also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star River Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing