We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky relaxing get-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Ranked #14 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
“funky relaxing get-away”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Loved our time in Austin. Great location for walks, beautiful streets, houses, right near south congress for some cupcake love.
The shower, beds, windows, kitchenette, outdoor area and quirky decor were all perfect for our family. I'll be letting all our friends know about this great find
oh......and little Gemma was a wonderful extra :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is a late review, I stayed here in the the summer of 2012. My room was Casita Roja and it had a view over the magnificent back garden. Ver clean and cozy, with friendly owners. My dogs loved romping through the grounds and all the shade from the surrounding trees made it a nice, cool pace to sit and relax outdoors, even in the hot Texas summer.
I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Austin who isn't looking for another boring room at the Sheraton or whatever. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottydesi214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

What a contrast, the noise and hussle of the F1 race to a wooded yard with bird chirps and incense. Everything a home away should be without the bore of chain hotels and the foil-wrapped coffee packets. I'd go back for the shower in the Studio Azul alone.

Room Tip: Plenty of free parking right 30 feet from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Staying at Casa Kenwood is like visiting friends. Andrew and Christina Shapter are so welcoming and gracious. We rented Studio Azul and it was the perfect place for our family and their friends to gather for social time and musical jam sessions. We loved the colorful, quirky details, the overall ambience, and the fantastic lower yard. The location is great, within walking distance of South Congress. Be prepared for daily greetings from any or all of the sweet dogs who live there. This might not be the place for everyone, but for us it couldn't have been better!

Room Tip: Studio Azul has a king bed and some cool neon lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celesteAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

WONDERMOUS and relaxing!
We stayed in Casita Roja and just loved it! Plenty of room and just the right amount of funky! ;)
Many thanks to Christina @ Casa Kenwood for making accommodations for our traveling scheduling and working us in. We spent the weekend getting our son moved into school and what a GREAT way to end each day coming back to the Casita to put our feet up and relax!
We will definitely be back sooooon and often.
True Austin hospitality <3

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is truly a home away from home, except better, unless you already have a koi pond and small woodland in your backyard. The artsy Casa Azul was roomy enough for my family of 6. The location was absolutely perfect for us. I so enjoyed being to just pull up and go through our front door- no lobby, elevators, or long hallways to deal with. Another thing you got here that you can't get at hotels? A gazillion movie channels! Folks, this is crucial with 4 kidlets. (The only thing I wished for was a newer flat screen TV.) It was such a pleasure to stay here, and another reason I fell in love with Austin, that I literally hated to leave! Unequivocally, we would stay here again, and would go out of our way to.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixiekiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Casa Kenwood is a pair of photo studios converted to guest cottages. We stayed in Studio Azul, which had a full kitchen and bath, with a king-sized bed and a futon big enough for our 8 year old son. Eclectic decor and an outdoor sitting area with koi pond enhanced the tranquil experience. We were adjacent to the South Congress area, near downtown and UT, and paid about as much as we would for a hotel. But we had peace and quiet, privacy, and a much larger living area. We will be staying here every time we come to Austin!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessHornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Congress Hotel
#21 of 203 in Austin
255 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kenwood Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kenwood Guesthouses

Property: Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Address: 1401 Kenwood Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses are one treehouse cabin (Casita Roja) and one cool "artist's" loft (Studio Azul) in the neighborhood of Travis Heights in Austin, Texas. We're not a hotel, not a bed and breakfast, and not a traditional vacation rental... We live on-site and we have two cool guesthouses and a great outdoor property that we are excited to share with travelers to Austin who are longing to discover a hint of that something special that makes Austin "weird." Visit Austin and still feel like you're home, not in a run-of-the-mill vanilla box! We're colorfully laid-back, we're artsy, we're pet friendly. There's a link to our website on this listing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing