We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but PRICEY”
Review of Casulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casulo Hotel
Ranked #150 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I used to love coming here. It was off the "beaten Hotel track" in Austin. The prices were reasonable, the beds were comfortable and see-through showers (which you can see into even from the bed) were pretty awesome. But then they hiked their prices up by like…. 100 dollars a night. The hotel is nice, and it's cool. But it never looks totally "professional" and so I had enjoyed it as a privately owned-indie hotel. Now that it's attempting to up it's prices to compete with the higher priced luxury hotels in Austin, it should probably remember that it is NOT downtown and it is NOT luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrianolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

When we first arrived, our room reeked of cigarettes. The staff was happy to move us. I've stayed here several times and the cab fare is cheaper than trying to stay on 4th or 6th. The location is not walking distance of anything, but that usually isn't a problem for us. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VronicaGn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we had a very bad experience room 314 we could hear people snoring like if we were sleeping next to me. we could hear conversations and the TV. Manager Paula didnt care whene we complaint at the reception at the moment of the check out, she said "I think there is nothing we can do about people snoring"

Don't stay Here

I left my cell charger, I called 30min later after check out and they told they will look for it, when I went to pick it up...they told me that the housekeeper took it home for mistake...Two days later I don't have my charger.

TERRIBLE SERVICE **BREACKFAST BAD*** NO FRUIT*** FAT THINGS TO EAT

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJABGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasuloHotel, Manager at Casulo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello JJABGS,
We are very sorry for this incident. We have issued a $30 refund to compensate your loss upon our agreement. Once again, we thank you for your understanding and hope to see you again in the future.
Casulo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Not Awful. Just very isolated. Adjacent to a highway. 10 Minute Drives to anywhere.
Clean enough. Comfortable enough. No amenities whatsoever except lobby coffee from pump thermoses. Bottled Water Available by Vending Machine Only. Water Trickles out of the shower heads. Otherwise functional Air Conditioning turned off by the maids so you walk into a hot room. room Service Trays left outside the room till brought to attention of the desk. Understaffed but friendly. No staffed bar. Have to leave the hotel to do anything but sleep or watch TV,

Room Tip: Rooms that face highway have a little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel, just south of Austin, is charming. Small and compact, it offers privacy and convenience. With multiple room options and one of the best bathroom designs I've come across, this is a great place to stay.

My wife and I will be back!

Room Tip: Be aware that the Jacuzzi suites are all on the first floor, and some are extremely close to the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTexBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed there and had a pleasant experience. Its close enough to take a cab to downtown and there's always a place to park your car. The view of downtown is gorgeous and the pool is great for watching the sunset. All of the staff, which includes the bartenders, kitchen, hosts, and janitorial were extremely helpful and hospitable. The rooms were relaxing and the bathroom was large and open, just be careful that the shower head is not pointing to the glass door. Otherwise water may spill out onto the floor. The breakfast was delicious and every dish was fresh, it was one of the best meals I've eaten for free at a hotel. I definitely plan to stay there again and recommend this place if you want a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Request a room facing downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed in the Casulo last week for a business trip, and it was definitely unique. Themed after Asia, it is a very clean hotel with urban, chic decor.

The entire building seemed to be newly updated with new fixtures, granite counters in the bathroom, hip lighting.

The only odd thing was there is a window between the bathroom and the actual room. So you just need to pull the shade down to make sure you have privacy! I've never seen a hotel room with a window in the bathroom before.

Their pool was nice...although we didn't use it. Also has a hot tub. Complimentary breakfast wasn't that good however.

The location is close to downtown Austin...but if you are traveling on 35 to downtown in morning rush hour, expect to be in gridlock traffic.

All in all great place with no problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinashorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hotel San Jose
#72 of 203 in Austin
378 reviews
Wyndham Garden Austin
#49 of 203 in Austin
1,602 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#48 of 203 in Austin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,548 reviews
The Driskill
#26 of 203 in Austin
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casulo Hotel

Address: 3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £74 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casulo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casulo Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing