We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Casulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casulo Hotel
Ranked #143 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Casulo Hotel is a nice spot if you are looking for reasonably-priced hotel that is conveniently located near the freeway and has better amenities than the typical roadside spot. Unfortunately, I was looking for a boutique hotel (as described in a Guardian article and as portrayed on the hotel website). Look, the hotel is fine for what it is, and might actually be "best in class" for its genre, but boutique it is not. Given my expectations, it was a disappointment. However, the room was clean, the staff was very friendly, the breakfast was good, and the overall experience (with lowered expectations) was very good. The only item you can't get around? The pool. It was tiny.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    99
    43
    43
    50
See reviews for
42
145
29
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Casulo Hotel is a real hidden gem in Austin, Texas. Located right off of IH-35 and in a great area for a short commute into downtown Austin. The hotel rooms are unique, tastefully done and the staff is friendly. Very decent meals that are real meals and not some continental breakfast. They do provided certain discounts for military, government and returning guest. This hotel would make a great get-a-way for a weekend in Austin or while visiting the surrounding area and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great decor and client service best hotel in the atx for fun relaxing time excellent client service and awesome pool, the location is so convenient and easy access to 35 as well as close dowtown love this place! Reccomed to all friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokey817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Amazing hotel with five star client service and fabulous decor and ambiance, I love it here , the rooms are clean and classy with awesome decor and the staff and client service is the best , thank you casulo for an amazing experience

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaPaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I beleive this hotel is being remade into a boutique motel with an Asian theme. Our room was very large with two upholstered lounges infront of the flat screen, combo deep soak tub and walk in shower. Balcony overlooking pool. Right on Interstate 35 but little to no road noise. Easy 10 minute drive to South Congress area. Pool was ok, water clean, bottom sandy, you could smell the chlorine (that is a good thing). I was happy, it wasn't cheap, but nice and... uh different. Not your Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: I can recommend a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Pretty beat up rooms. Very cool shower/tub/room design that is very fun. I had an unusual experience of hearing a domestic violence situation in the room next to me at 4 am. There was only one gal at the front desk who was already on the phone with the cops, but when I asked if anyone else was there she had said no. I didn't feel safe there the second night. I realize that this is a very unique situation. The room had the feeling of more like a unique hostel. Bring a friend, and get a good rate, then might be worth checking out. It was a very fun Asian flare atmosphere and the decorations were very mod and fun. I took pictures of almost all of the light fixtures and unique drift wood benches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

so much to review, where to start.
the lady at the front desk who checked us in, was also the bartender.

ok so the decor in this hotel makes no sense.
i know, not that it really matters. but this makes no sense at all.
the art as you walk down the hall is asian inspired, but then turn into what looks like all the old paintings they could find at goodwill. huge chandeliers in the dining area.
gym is small.
continental breakfast, ends at 1030am, but when we sat down at 10am, they had put away 80% of the breakfast foods.

the beds are very comfortable.
the showers/ bath was very interesting trying to figure it out.

we stayed in two different rooms. the deluxe and a standard. they had directions in the standard room bathroom on how to use the shower, but it was more like directions for the deluxe room.

there is also a huge curtain on the showers which can be seen into the bedroom, so it may be awkawrd if you have a guest or friend you haven't seen undressed before, so dont drop the soap. none of the curtains actually pulled all the way down, in either of the rooms we stayed in.

good location though. rigth off the freeway. 5 min to downtown austin.
this was our only option because all hotels were booked for the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#54 of 203 in Austin
1,515 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#23 of 203 in Austin
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,282 reviews
Hotel San Jose
#68 of 203 in Austin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casulo Hotel

Property: Casulo Hotel
Address: 3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casulo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casulo Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing