We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marooned” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casulo Hotel
Ranked #146 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Marooned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

The hotel is located off a major highway, about 15 minutes from downtown Austin. Unless you have a car, you are screwed: it is impossible to walk anywhere, and there is no public transportation. Taxis in Austin appear to be a rarity - maybe this was just due to SXSW, but I had a 90 minute wait the first day I was there, and a 2 hour wait the second day: kind of kills plans. The hotel is a curious mixture of luxe and cheap, with cheap winning out ultimately. Breakfast is self-serve on polystyrene. The rooms themselves are decent size, but the finish is rushed and cheap - botched paintwork and finishing, loose wires, actual footprints and wheel-tracks in the concrete floor in the lobby. Peculiar. I disagree with the other reviewers who found the hotel romantic: granted, I was traveling alone, and as I mentioned, felt very isolated: but even so, romance would not be what I'd associate with this place, more like amateurishness

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pincut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    97
    40
    43
    49
See reviews for
41
139
28
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Great hotel, clean, giant rooms, very trendy.....customer service is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkellyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

I booked my room and received a discounted rate which actually cost less than the Hilton where I usually stay while in Austin (I have been a Hilton Honors member for many years). The hotel was immaculate, all of the personnel were very friendly and helpful and Mr. Chen was a very accommodating host. My room was fabulous-the bathroom was awesome, my balcony allowed me to enjoy the sunrise while laying in bed and the breakfast was delicious. I will certainly return and will recommend this hotel to everyone I know that travels to Austin.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCarter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Tx
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

My husband and I recently visited Casulo Hotel in Austin, Texas. We chose this hotel even though it cost more per night than the Hilton under the assumption that the extraordinary experience of your new hotel would be worth the extra money. We thought it would be “safe” to try out a new hotel. We were wrong.
We reserved the Superior Suite at the enhanced price over the other rooms in the hotel as well as the price of other hotels in Austin. The curb appeal and pictures of your hotel were exciting to us. We were impressed with the lobby. Upon entering our room, we walked down a small hallway into an empty room. It was baffling to us that half of our “suite” was actually empty and unfinished: there were no pictures on the walls; nails stuck out of the wood trim; trim was missing from the drop ceiling in the entrance. It was also obvious that the bathroom vanity was simply made of plywood. The valances of the windows were also obviously made by novice hands. There was insufficient lighting in the room. The window frame had smears of caulk. The light above the bed flickered.
The layout of the “suite” was puzzling. Again, it was extremely upsetting that we paid extra for the extra space, and it was empty and unusable space.
The placement of the TV made it impossible for both people to view it from the bed. The visible cable and power outlets were undesirable.
It appears that this hotel was rushed to open due to the number of unfinished “projects” throughout the hotel. We had to go from the 3rd floor to the second floor for ice. The Vending Room was empty, except for a hole in the wall. Lights in the hallways were not working. The carpet in the elevator was unfinished.
We expected a completely different experience than we received at your establishment. Based on our experience to date, we definitely will not recommend your hotel to anyone. In the future, we will choose to be downtown at a comparable, more established hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txwiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Me and my friend booked one night at this hotel via sheaptickets at a special advertised rate. When we got to the hotel late and tired we found out that the hotel was overbooked. After discussing the situation with the owner (very nice older gentleman) he decided to cancel someone else's reservation and give a room to us. The room was clean, stylish and had all that was needed, including very comfortable beds, high speed internet and a very unique bathroom with see-through glass wall. I suppose this is very romantic if you travel with your special someone. We simply decided to roll the blinds down:))) The next morning, after getting plenty of rest, we enjoyed nice continental breakfast downstairs in the main lobby of the hotel. However, for some reason we never received our complimentary 8 am wake-up call which we requested earlier (no big deal for us but could be for someone else). Overall this is a very nice trendy hotel in a great location (just 10 min from fowntown) but it could use a little improvement in the quality of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We wanted our wedding guests to stay here so we could support a local company & keep our guests together. Unfortunately, we should have heeded the initial warning signs that the hotel does not have its act together. The couple of times we stopped by to talk in person, there were lines of people waiting to be checked in and rumbles of discontent from the guests who couldn't get service at the bar (bartender didn't show up for work) or didn't get their wake up call that morning. When our guests started talking to each other, they soon realized they were all getting different rates (some were told they would have to pay more for a Saturday, for example, had nothing to do with different room choices). Final straw was when the mother of the bride was treated rudely on the phone & told that there were no more rooms available for the group. No, the hotel was not booked, they just wanted to "save some" rooms in case someone else wanted them. After a couple more phone calls & offers to leave a deposit or do something else to fix the situation resulted in more frustration. We've now had to ask the 25 guests already booked in the hotel to cancel their reservations while we try to find a place that wants our business and will deal with us fairly and honestly & consistently.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasuloHotel, Manager at Casulo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
Once again we do apologize for the misunderstanding. There is couple of issues with this posting: 1) There was never a contract sent, signed, or returned. 2) There was no method of payment to hold or guarantee anything. 3) Our supply could not meet the demand. We only have 15 regular rooms for groups. The demand was 40 plus. Other types of rooms cost much more than the standard rooms. This would have been specified in the contract. There was no contract so therefore we can only apologize for any confusion this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

I agree with all of the other reviews both good and bad here. So I'll keep this review brief and post my pictures of the rooms.

Pros: Rooms are beautiful. Super Romantic. We had the European jacuzzi suite, jacuzzi was deep and large in front of a floor to ceiling window overlooking the pool.
Glass window shower was super sexy, this is a great hotel for a romantic weekend, not some place to take your mother-in-law.
Room was Awesome, PERIOD.

Cons: This is an independent hotel so staff training was weak, facilities were weak, continental breakfast was poor, our room was missing toilet paper, soap, shampoo, and toiletries.
I hope that by my next visit that they will have figured things out and hit their stride because I plan to be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#57 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
South Austin
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casulo Hotel

Property: Casulo Hotel
Address: 3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casulo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casulo Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing