We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a family reunion at this hotel. The price was below...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn Austin North
Ranked #175 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 7 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked a smoking room only to find out the entire property is non-smoking. They wouldn't admit their mistake (saying I booked a smoking preference room) & still charged my credit card for the room. When I asked for them to take the $174.00 hold off of my card so we could go somewhere else, (which I was extremely calm under the circumstance) I was asked to leave and threatened with having security being called on me. They obviously have been through this situation before as it seemed too routine and the person at the front desk didn't seem to surprised about the fact I had a printout of the reservation that clearly stated 'SMOKING' room. If they are this way about this situation, what other things are they being devious about?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonAP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Jason AP73,
I'm so sorry for the mix up with your reservation in regard to our property offering any
smoking guest rooms. We were happy to work with the third party that you booked your
stay with us through and pleased that they did indeed assist you in connecting you with a
smoking property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

the hotel does need updating but there is work going on and the new rooms are very nice!
the staff was pleasant and the price was good. the mattress and pillows were super comfortable!
the location is a little difficult to get to, but once you do, you have easy access to the freeways and lots of restaurants not too far away.

Room Tip: Please sure to ask for a renovated room which are on the left side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear erenne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you found our mattresses and pillows super comfortable. They are brand new and really do make for a very restful night.

Many thanks for your kind comments about our staff. We are fortunate in that we do have a great group of people who enjoy the hospitality business very much and do provide wonderful customer care. I am very proud of our crew!

While we have completed the bulk of our renovation there is still some fine tuning to do yet. We hope to have our project completed soon.

Please come back and see us the next time you are in Austin. We look forward to the opportunity to host one of our New Mexican friends once again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Belinda Zweifel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cwy D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Old location, needs major renovations. Staff very nice, good towels, bed blanket felt like it was made out of paper.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Rebecca,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review of your stay. Thank you so much for your compliment concerning our staff. We do have a great group of folks working with us who enjoy providing welcoming service to our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed the new fluffy towels, but I was disappointed to learn that your blanket was not comfy. I have asked housekeeping to check the quality of the blankets and remove from rotation, any that may be less than soft. I sincerely appreciate your input on this and letting us know.

Please come back and see us during the next Kickball Tournament in Austin. We would love to welcome you back anytime.

Kindest Regards!
Belinda Zweifel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Was looking for a decent hotel and traveling with a family of five on a budget is difficult enough. I too was worried reading the reviews and seeing the outside of the hotel. The receptionist was very nice and seeing the inside of the lobby erased my doubt.The location is not the best but the rooms were clean and looked newly renovated, exactly as pictured. Pool was clean, safe and the kids enjoyed it. It was also located near all the areas we needed to go. The downside was it looked like people lived there and let their kids and pets roam around unattended. Also, the apartment complex located behind the hotel was questionable along with the women standing outside in the evening hours. Overall, very good place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced I35 and the pool...no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shae1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Shae1217,
Thank you so much for your very lovely review. I am so glad that you found us and found our staff welcoming, our rooms to be clean and comfortable and that your kids enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool. That's awesome!

We did a huge renovation of our rooms and we have more still left to do. The exterior of the hotel will come in the final phase of our upgrade.

Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the apartment complex behind the hotel
but we do have plans to build a much higher wall to create a barrier so our guests will feel more secure.

Thank you so much for giving us a chance. We took over this property less than a year ago and have been working diligently to get it to where it needs to be. Thank you for staying with us and for your comments.

Please come back anytime and let us show you our constant hotel improvements!

Warm Regards,
Belinda Zweifel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
The Driskill
#26 of 205 in Austin
2,125 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#12 of 205 in Austin
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Austin
#45 of 205 in Austin
1,622 reviews
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Austin North

Address: 7800 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753-6522 (Formerly Howard Johnson Austin North)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin North Hotel Austin
University Inn Austin North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing