We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean place with friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn Austin North
Ranked #166 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    24
    43
    27
    45
See reviews for
36
23
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was going to see about a room here until I got a look at the people behind the front desk. A woman named Arcelia was wearing slip-on shoes and jeans, and the woman whose name tag said General Manager was wearing flip-flops, kulat pants and a. unpressed blouse. I was so put off by the unprofessional appearance of the staff that I immediately took my business to the Hyatt Place just down the street. Front desk staff were dressed MUCH more professionally.
Also, the huge number of limousines out front is distracting. Makes it look like a used limousine sales lot. Especially since there is no signage regarding limousines anywhere out front. Not a good look, and very unappealing. Unless the limousines are owned by the hotel, they should be parked elsewhere. NOT a welcoming sight for what is supposed to be a hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bishopd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Bishop D,
I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed upon your arrival. It appears that you arrived here during our recent hotel convention. The entire staff was participating in the convention theme when you arrived. The group that was hosting their convention here at the hotel had indeed chartered multiple days with the limousine service for their trips around town. I would love the opportunity to show you our professional and courteous staff when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Phone in room was not working. Service reps at desk were very helpful. I would give them 4 and a half stars and that is why the rating for 3.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Ms. H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was so sorry to hear that the phone
in your room was not working properly. We are currently working to get all of our new
rooms complete with working phones in every room. Thank you so much for your kind
words in regard to our staff. We all hope that you will return soon and see the improvements
we have been working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The bath tub didnt have a stopper, the tolit moved every time you sat on it, the sink its self moved, the ceiling had leaks, not enough towels, the maids were terrible at assistance when you needed help (they were on the phone and smoking in the building and flirtting on the job) , the tv and other furniture moved and was sitting on top of cardboard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Traveler,
I was so sorry to hear that you were displeased with your stay. I wanted to let you know that we are currently renovating our guest rooms but that the project is still underway. It sounds
like you were not in one of our newly remodeled guest rooms and I would love the opportunity to show you one of our new rooms. We are upgrading our guest rooms as quickly as possible at this time. We do not allow any smoking in the hotel at this time. I hope you will return and give us an opportunity to show you the progress we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#165 of 201 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget Inn Capitol
#133 of 201 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Clarion Inn Austin North
#151 of 201 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin-North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Austin North

Property: University Inn Austin North
Address: 7800 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753-6522 (Formerly Howard Johnson Austin North)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin North Hotel Austin
University Inn Austin North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing