We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Inn Austin North
Ranked #169 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Austin
1 review
“Yuck!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel could really use an overall makeover. The carpet was nasty, the walls needed fresh paint, the bathroom had black smudge marks all over the floor and don't get me started on the smell. When we first got there, there was no air circulating in the room, so it smelled like old bus seats. The waffle maker was broke, they ran out of cereal and was serving warm yogurt. This hotel experience left a very sour taste in my mouth, literally. Staff could not answer any questions about the hotel. Upon check in, they asked how many people, I told them three, I get to my room and there were only towels for two people, when I called the front desk and asked them for another set, the response was we always stock the room with two towels, so why in the heck ask me how many people? Geesh!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Brandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    24
    43
    27
    45
See reviews for
36
23
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The room was smaller than I am used to, but the furniture, appliances, and fixtures were fairly new. The only thing keeping my review from being higher was the fact that I had to go through about 7 or 8 room keys because they kept getting demagnetized. Other than that, I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mr. Stan W,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I am so happy that you were pleased with your guest room accomodations. We are sorry you had problems with your guest room key and are happy that we were able to assist you in remedying the situation. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your stay with the Howard Johnson Austin North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

When searching for a hotel room for one night before my conference started, two Ho Jo's were on the radar in the discount category. This one was $20 more per night and had decent reviews, what I didn't look at was the age of the reviews. When traveling to Austin and looking for a cheap room, when it comes to this property I will give three words of advice... Run Forest, run!

Room Tip: The room that is in a different hotel is the best room to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of days while attending the Lone Star Round Up. I wish I had checked TA first, we would have gone elsewhere based on everyones reviews. Booking.com showed this to be a nice place, ha!

The property although said the be remodeled is still outdated, the hallways smell and the back doors are messed up. One you can leave but not get back in, the other with a card reader remains unlocked all night!

Looking for ice...prepare for a long walk, we estimated it to be about 1/8 mile each way and slightly longer to the front desk. Ice machine and vendings are near the front, too bad if you in the back. The Hot Tub advertised was, you guessed it...closed.

The door to our room was jacked, still closed and locked but the jam was loose and the striker plate was way loose, locked and baracaded it at night.

Loud teenagers in the lot at night and party in the halls.

The TV is nice but really no selection on channels and the picture is dim. The in room mini fridge was nice and clean, great for our needs. The bed was very nice, clean and passed the 'black light test' (yes I have one of those). The bathroom floor was nasty and failed really bad, urine splattered all over found with the back light and obviously mop water was reused with no bleach. Requested extra towels, didn't get them.

WiFi was ok, not really fast and you had to keep signing in every few minutes.

Price was great, 2 nights for $130.

Wouldn't stay again, we'll plan better next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Clarion Inn Austin North
#153 of 203 in Austin
186 reviews
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#168 of 203 in Austin
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#63 of 203 in Austin
460 reviews
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#131 of 203 in Austin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Austin North

Property: University Inn Austin North
Address: 7800 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753-6522 (Formerly Howard Johnson Austin North)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin North Hotel Austin
University Inn Austin North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing