We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing for a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #34 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disapointing for a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a fantastic location for restaurants and shopping - we have stayed before. It has a snooty vibe but don't let that put you off. We were given a room on the 2nd floor - where all the dogs are so beware!! Our sun blind was missing and the room was red hot and we found it difficult to let the AC keep up to the heat
Yes we complained - did they try and compensate - yes - did it make it better yes and no - we were disapointed and felt second rate- was it because we were on the birthday promo and we given a poor room - who knows??
Pool is packed with the glam set so avoid

Room Tip: High floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sockscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and your feedback will be used to help us improve.

We are a pet friendly hotel, as the majority of Westin hotels are, but we keep all pets on the second floor. If you return to give us another chance, please contact me directly and I will ensure that you are placed on a higher floor. I would be delighted to discuss your stay in further detail, if you like. I may be reached at both the phone number and email address below.

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
512.687.6634
sean.haughey@westinaustinatthedomain.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    295
    65
    19
    16
See reviews for
167
177
40
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
407 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect during our stay and up until check out.

On the day of check out it was raining and wanted the valet service personnel to use the courtesy golf cart to take us to our car. But we waited and waited because the two people working the valet were busy with one car. One loading the car and the other is just simply watching and wouldn't take us to our car. Finally, one of the guys asked if I needed a ride. I answered in the affirmative. Once we were at the golf cart I noticed that all seats were covered with rain water and no towel on hand to dry up the seats. It was best to walk to my car as I would not get as wet as if I had sat down in the cart. I walked back in and complained to management on duty and made the suggestion that a towel be given to the valet service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that your departure experience soured an otherwise excellent stay. Guest service is our top priority and we very much appreciate your constructive input. If you would like to discuss your visit in further detail, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
512.687.6634
sean.haughey@westinaustinatthedomain.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms with great amenities. Location makes it very easy to shop. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! It appears that our staff took great care of you. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seguin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, great location, fantastic food and great room service! Definately the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Westin Austin at the Domain. I am extremely glad that we took great care of you! It sounds like you took advantage of all that the Domain has to offer - great shopping, dining and entertainment. I am pleased that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant, urban an american grill. They are open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I hope you come back soon!

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowlett
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I was very excited about returning to the Westin Austin at the Domain. My previous trips were exceptional and I was looking for another which is exactly what i got. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are well equiped with comfortable beds and the food in the restaurant is delicious - you've got to try the crab cakes. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure and the location is ideal. When traveling to Austin this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to the Westin Austin at the Domain. We very much appreciated your wonderful review! We hope you come back and see us again soon!

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

What was originally intended to be an in-town night away for a sleep-deprived mama (me!) turned south when by sad coincidence our electricity (among other things) got knocked out by a tree at our home. So without any notice to the hotel about a change of plans, I showed up with two children under 2 and my husband in tow. We were greeted with warm smiles by the front desk personnel and they quickly called maintenance to get two cribs put in our room. Before I could blink, they had given my daughter a Westin Kids Club bag that kept her occupied while we dealt with phone calls to insurance and the city power company. My daughter loved the hat so much she wanted to sleep in it (!) and walked proudly out of the hotel with her Westin 'backpack' on the next morning. And after being in a house without air conditioning on a 100+ degree day, I was thrilled to enter our room and find two complimentary bottles of water. All small things but on this day made a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am sorry that the circumstances of your visit were not good but very glad that our team was able to help you make the best of the situation. We strive to provide a restful and rejuvenating haven for our guests, and it seems we really did so for you. I hope your daughter still wears her Westin Kid's Club hat and backpack proudly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had made a last minute plan for Austin and chose the Westin based on the reviews. Peaceful area, heavenly beds, clean and modern baths made this trip very relaxing. Buffet breakfast was great; the staff at the restaurant is very family friendly. One complaint we had and made to the front desk was with regard to parking. We came back around 9:30pm and every single compact car parking spot was taken by big SUV's and some cars were parked badly in 2 spaces. It took us a while to find parking (and when we did it was kind of far). Other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxsahiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us! It appears that our team took excellent care of you. I would like to apologize for the difficulty you had in finding parking. In the future, if you are having trouble finding a suitable parking spot, please bring your car to the front entrance and one of our valets will be delighted to assist you. We hope to see you again soon!

Sean Haughey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 200 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#59 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin
The Westin Austin At The Domain Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing